We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Entumoto !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Entumoto Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

There are many other lodges at Masai Mara but this is one is truely special. The surrounding is beautifull to start with and staff were amazing. They oay attention to the tiniest detail. The food was lovely at Entumoto. We did an eight day safari in Kenya and travelled to other places and found the food to be best at Entumoto. We just stayed two nights there and regret we didn't stay more. If you are looking for a unique experience in the wilderness this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debonaire1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Entumoto Safari Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed at Entumoto in August with a group of friends. It was my first safari experience which was made all the more memorable by Entumoto and the fantastic staff. This camp is truely out of this world. From the moment we arrived the staff looked after us so well, the food was excellent (so tasty), the standard of the accommodation was luxurious and the scenery and setting was quite simply stunning. From the early morning (middle of the night!) wake up calls with coffee and juice, to the late night hot water bottles warming our beds, the service was fantastic. I would recommend this safari camp to anyone, it really is paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed in this camp earlier this month. It was my third time visiting Mara and all the lodges I have stayed in have been incredible. However, this surpassed my expectations. The camp is cleverly hidden in the hillside. Our group were the only guests at the camp and were given exceptional service. I am not sure how they acheive such high standards in such a remote location. The food was better than any restaurant I have eaten in and it was healthy, all being grown on site. The 'tents' are clean, spacious and luxurious, with spectacular views from the veranda. The lodge has a tranquil feel, added to by the vast array of birds singing in the nearby trees. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

What a place! Don't know where to start. Not much really to say, except we had a wonderful time. All our wishes catered for. The staff were truly amazing - right from the Manager to Elijah (the Chef - excellent food and he does a wonderful curry! And a Man Utd fan - a added bonus!), Raffel (maitre d extraordinair) to all the security staff who looked after us soo well. The family tent was wonderful and very comfortable. One thing to warn you about - there is a window in the bathroom that has no curtains - so anyone from the outside could look in when you were about your business! Not that there was anyone...but a little uncomfortable in any case.

The game drives were great fun - our guide Issac was a top man. Very knowledgeable, full of insight and was just fun to be around. He made the stay that extra bit special.

If you're heading to the Mara - I doubt you'll find a better place than this!
Give it a try!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodnwinentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Tents are very, very nice! Did have some issues with getting a hot shower as the water had to be heated by fire and the bathroom windows looked right out to the fire builders so wear a towel! Food was very good but sometimes portions were small. The best part of This camp was by far the driver and our guide. Rony (driver and Yenko our guide) went out if their way to make sure we saw eventing on our list. Again they where the great!

We did request two tents and wound up with us sharing a very large tent with our son. We still had two bathrooms and a living room with a fireplace. Not bad for tented camping!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Wow! Entumoto rocks. We were the only guests and the service, the food, the accomodation was outstanding.
Big thanks to the brilliant Isaac who was our guide, he taught us a lot about the people, the game and life!
We loved Raffael - such a lovely maitre d and he looked after us at every meal making sure we had everything we needed.
Chef was super too and made sure my daughter's egg allergy was catered for. The food was super.

Our family had such a wonderful time. We would love to go back. Its a super place!
And we saw a cheetah kill! and 2 leopards!!

Thanks everyone...we hope to return one day soon.


ps: you may think staying outside of the park is a problem but actually its a benefit...we did night time game drives in the conservation area which you can't do in the mara itself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I just returned from a four-day stay at Entumoto and I miss it already! First and foremost, the staff from top to bottom is excellent, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. One of the owners joined us for meals everyday which was a nice personal touch. The tents are spaced far apart - we couldn't even see another tent from ours. The game driver, Isaac, is phenomenal (he's Bronze level and very informed). Every single hour in the vehicle with him is catered completely to what the client wants. He was so patient and made sure we were happy and comfortable. You see plenty of game drivers out in the Mara who look miserable, serious, and are driving subpar cars that get stuck in the mud. Not Isaac! And Entumoto uses completely open air land cruisers that allow you to go wherever you want and you feel right there with the animals.
We had a picnic "bush" lunch or breakfast each day out in the savanna in the mara and a sun downer out on the lions rock overlooking the camp. One unique thing about Entumoto is they have their own fruit and vegetable garden and weave their homegrown produce into their meals. I highly recommend this place! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yank55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
31.7 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
196 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#66 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
191 reviews
24.4 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#38 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
506 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spirit of the Masai Mara
Spirit of the Masai Mara
#50 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
61 reviews
10.5 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entumoto Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entumoto Safari Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £472 - £798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Entumoto Safari Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new camp with a history going back to the 1920's. This family owned, small luxury safari camp is run by Swedish and Maasai families. The camp is situated in a beautifully secluded valley overlooking Masai Mara. The camp has a prime position in a conservancy with direct access to the park. The area is abundant with game.The camp is beautifully decorated and offers very comfortable accommodation and haute cuisine. Family friendly, also for children, with 4 big family units with up to 6 beds. We have a large private conservancy neighboring the park with all big 5 present and many many more. We engage in several community projects such as a school and a Rescue center for young girls. Our guests are encouraged to take part of our community work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Entumoto Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Entumoto Safari Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing