We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Start to our Safari Adventure!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Entumoto Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Entumoto Safari Camp
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Start to our Safari Adventure!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Entumoto was our first stop on our 2 week East African safari. The camp is beautiful as well as the luxury tents. It is hidden away in the mountain side of the Maasai Mara. We stayed here for 3 nights and each night it seemed to get better. The food was amazing! We are foodies here in Chicago and have been to the top restaurants including Alinea and Charlie Trotter's. I would say the food is right up there with those top restaurants. They use all fresh ingredients from the garden they have in back of the property. As for the service, it was top notch. The staff was very welcoming and always there to make our stay comfortable and relaxing as possible. We would be welcomed each morning with a nice wake up call and warm tea. I felt safe the entire time I was there. As for the game drives...EXCELLENT!! Our guide Isaac was terrific and really knew where to find the top animals to see. We saw the big 5 in the first 2 days! I wish I could have had him for our entire safari adventure. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Entumoto and will definitely be returning on our next East African Safari.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeshie831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

When we first arrived it seemed very remote to us, but we fast realized the beauty and peacefulness of this site. The staff are amazing, very friendly and eager to assist. The tents are beautiful, we used the pool twice which was very nice, and the staff came to check on us and offer drinks several times. The food was terriffic, the wake up calls came with coffee and muffins and right on time, and our guide Isaac, with his very keen sense of where to locate the animals, was the best! All in all, anything that you had any issue with, they were all very eager to adjust if needed, to your satisfaction.Also, Alfonse the manager was very kind and helpful. We had a great time and were sad to leave. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The tents are all up a hill, so if you dont want to hike, ask for one near the main tent. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Celle Saint Cloud
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Entumoto was suggested by our agent based on our request of quiet place with great service. It delivered everything we have asked for. On the first look it seems slightly remote for every morning safari rides in the MM, but in fact its just 15 minutes fantastic ride to great planes close to Ottars...in other words you dont have to use overcrowded Ololamutiek gate. The camp is on the hillside with great views. Atmosphere and service is great and trackers are first class. Overall, highly recommended if you are looking for something less crowded than camps within MM and with high class service and food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arturstankiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

It was hard to have to come back to Nairobi, and leave the peacefulness of Entumoto. Wonderful accommodation, good food, and the picnic lunch was truly amazing! MOST effective shower too....! The staff are all very friendly and accommodating, and obviously try very hard to make it a wonderful experience for the travellers. If I had any criticism it would be the permanent presence of Masai cattle all over the place - no game is going to come near the camp as long as they are around, this however is not Entumoto's fault.

Room Tip: The first two tents, then you don't have such a hill to climb! Views are spectacular from wherev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Camp is absolutely divine - serene and peaceful, excellent food, wonderful staff, beautiful tents, terrific guides, wonderful ambience, great leisurely off-the-beaten-track drives! You can't get any better! If you are looking for a calm relaxing holiday, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

There are many other lodges at Masai Mara but this is one is truely special. The surrounding is beautifull to start with and staff were amazing. They oay attention to the tiniest detail. The food was lovely at Entumoto. We did an eight day safari in Kenya and travelled to other places and found the food to be best at Entumoto. We just stayed two nights there and regret we didn't stay more. If you are looking for a unique experience in the wilderness this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debonaire1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed at Entumoto in August with a group of friends. It was my first safari experience which was made all the more memorable by Entumoto and the fantastic staff. This camp is truely out of this world. From the moment we arrived the staff looked after us so well, the food was excellent (so tasty), the standard of the accommodation was luxurious and the scenery and setting was quite simply stunning. From the early morning (middle of the night!) wake up calls with coffee and juice, to the late night hot water bottles warming our beds, the service was fantastic. I would recommend this safari camp to anyone, it really is paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
3.2 mi away
Spirit of the Masai Mara
Spirit of the Masai Mara
#50 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#72 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
17.8 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#18 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Leleshwa Camp
Leleshwa Camp
#77 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kicheche Valley Camp
Kicheche Valley Camp
#56 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
15.5 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#94 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entumoto Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entumoto Safari Camp

Property: Entumoto Safari Camp
Address: Masai Mara, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new camp with a history going back to the 1920's. This family owned, small luxury safari camp is run by Swedish and Maasai families. The camp is situated in a beautifully secluded valley overlooking Masai Mara. The camp has a prime position in a conservancy with direct access to the park. The area is abundant with game.The camp is beautifully decorated and offers very comfortable accommodation and haute cuisine. Family friendly, also for children, with 4 big family units with up to 6 beds. We have a large private conservancy neighboring the park with all big 5 present and many many more. We engage in several community projects such as a school and a Rescue center for young girls. Our guests are encouraged to take part of our community work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Entumoto Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Entumoto Safari Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing