We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visit”

Governor's Camp Day Tours
Attraction details
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Repeat visit”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our 3rd visit to this great camp, managed by Kate and her husband. All the drivers and staff are so helpful. We did 3 days /2 nights booked through JT Safaris (near Diani Sea Resort) who gave excellent service.
Our tent overlooked the Masai Mara and it was interesting to watch the Hippos and eagles.
Our trips out to sea the game were wonderful and we arranged to have bush breakfasts which saved coming back to the lodge in mid morning. I would recommend this and the food and atmosphere were great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
“Amazing guided”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We were staying at little govenors camp (please see separate review) and Joseph was our driver. Our first game drive was 3:30pm. On our way to the heart of the mara we passed elephants, giraffes, hippos,mongoose, warthogs, baboons, zebras to name a few!! Joseph's first find was a leopard in a tree guarding a thomson Giselle he had earlier hunted. Joseph then spotted 6 lions, 4 of which were drinking together which made the most amazing picture!! We then got very up close and personal with another big cat, this time a leopard!! What an amazing first game drive!!

The following morning we were booked in on govenors balloon safari (please see separate review) hot air balloon. What an amazing experience!! We seen a rhino from the balloon followed by 3 rhinos on the game drive back!! Was the best morning we could have asked for!! A big thank you to James our driver back.

We met up with Joseph at 3:30pm for our afternoon game drive. This was quieter than the previous day, the highlight seeing baby elephants and all the animals seen on the previous day. Joseph suggested we have a picnic breakfast for the following morning to save going back to camp to give us more time to look for the animals we wanted to see such as cheetahs, male lions and lion cubs.

We left at 6:30am the following morning with Joseph and 3 other passenger. Joseph knew what we wanted to see and set out to help us achieve this. He didn't let us down!! After all the usual animals he found baby hyenas that looked stunning!! Followed by lion cubs!! He then found a male lion and got as close as possible to enable us to take amazing photos!! He was then alerted to not 1 but 3 cheetahs who he quickly got us to for more amazing pics!!

We then headed off to a swamp of hippos where Joseph our driver set up breakfast on the bonnet of our vehicle. We had sausage, bacon, Quiche, bread rolls, muffins and fresh fruit all served with tea, coffee, water and juice. It was a lovely experience.

Thank you so much Joseph for making our honeymoon special and memorable. We hope to see you again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ongar
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our second trip to Governors' Cam, the first being in 2006 and this one in October, 2013. What a wonderful experience. If you never do another thing in your life go on a safari at this place. We flew out from Nairobi on a small plane and that is where the adventure begins. At the camp you sleep in a tent but a tent with a difference: it is en suite with a tiled bathroom. The food is excellent, the service terrific but the highlights are the trips out to see the game. You are in a land-rover, four passengers and a driver, and he just drives off into the Masai Mara looking for animals, birds, crocodiles or whatever take your fancy. We stayed on site for three nights with three drives a day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jumpingjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond words!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was our first trip to Kenya and we stayed at the Private Governor's Camp. It was beyond our expectations. The tents were clean and comfortable. We were only a few feet from the river so could enjoy the hippos every night as we fell asleep. The attention to detail was very impressive - hot water bottles in our beds to keep us warm at night, bottled water magically appeared when needed, hot tea, coffee and biscuits to wake us up each morning. The food was outstanding and catered to our tastes.
Our guide, Leonard, was extremely knowledgeable and flexible based on our interests each day. With his expertise we saw the migration two separate days, numerous lions, cheetahs, hyenas and many different antelopes.
We would definitely recommend this camp to everyone and can't wait to return ourselves!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joniz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome doesn't begin to describe this experience”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

If you are considering a safari whilst in Kenya then this has to be top of the list. Initially my husband and I didn't know what to expect having booked via a local trip advisor but after the "Daktari" flight from Okundi on a Douglas DC3 Dakota taking in amazing views of Mount Kilimanjara on route to the Masai Mara, then the short drive from the air strip to the "Camp" it is a real "Out of Africa" experience and you are playing the part. The camp is first class. All your needs are taken care of. The rangers and staff are all amazing, their knowledge of the Mara is better than the BBC. They are able to answer everything asked re the Mara and animals. The tents are fully equiped to a very high standard and if I say more it would spoil it for prospective campers. We had 2 nights, slept extremely well even though there were animals free to wander during the night (rangers are on 24 hour watch). Food and dining room has to be experienced to be believed. I would be very surprised if anyone was disappointed with this camp or safari. We didn't see " The Big Five" only three but what we did see was incredible and so we have to go back to see the other two, I can't wait!!! If you do decide to go try to get tent 37........wow! the view is wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Governor's Camp Day Tours also viewed

Masai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Masai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 
Masai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Masai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Governor's Camp Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing