We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favor.....visit Naboisho.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor.....visit Naboisho.”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Naboisho Camp. Exciting stay at a beautiful location. The managers know how to put on a class act out there. The tents were clean, roomy and and all the comforts of home in a camping environ. We stayed three nights and wished we could have stayed longer as there was sooo much to see. Our 'animals to see list', with the exception of an alligator was completed. One night I was awakened to the sound of water buffalo having his midnight snack. The food was excellent and the new compound tent was wonderful. Lunch under the trees could not have been better.

Do yourself a favor. Visit Naboisho. You will make a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovecatstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
199
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in Naboisho camp for 4 nights this July. It was our first trip to Africa and Naboisho Camp was fantastic setting for our safari experience! The tents were luxurious and welcoming. We were right in the bush. One day, I was woken by Zebras grazing outside the tent, another day, we had an elephant walk by our tent.. The service in the camp was simply outstanding, I have travelled to over 40 countries and stayed in some very good hotels but Naboisho's service was the best. They have a personal hosting concept where the two managers Dudu and Mariana hosted us and made us feel like we were visiting friends. The game viewing was incredible in the Naboisho Conservancey, we had two fantastic guides Benjamin and Daniel who took care of us really well.Overall, we had an amazing experience here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Asilia Camps are in a class by themselves, Naboisho is the newest and certainly no exception. The food, tents and overall service is first rate. We also loved the outdoor showers referenced in other reviews - so nice to have the sky overhead! Our tent looked out on to a grassy plain and it was wonderful to sit at the front of the tent.

Beyond the great details that this camp provides (hot water bottles in between the sheets at night and cool eucalyptus towels following a game drive are two examples that come to mind), the Naboisho Camp is really committed to conservation and education.

We were lucky that Mara Naboisho Lion Project researcher Niels Mogensen visited the camp and we got to hear about the project from him.

Also, it was clear that the Naboisho Camp guides and spotters take conservation seriously and really respect the animals. While we were viewing a lion and her cubs a group from another camp (who shall remain nameless!) came up and were very loud. Their guides did nothing to stop this and the mother took her cubs further away into the bush as a result. I was very happy to be with a group that is professional and puts the wildlife first.

Also since Naboisho is a private conservancy, the number of cars is limited. This is a real advantage and you are not competing with many other groups for space. Despite the one experience listed above, we were essentially on our own most of the time, which makes you feel like you are the only ones there.

Other reviews have referenced the game walks with Roelof, which are a must do. You may not get up close to the big animals, but it's a great experience to get out in the bush firsthand. Roelof is a real expert and we learned a ton from him. Plus after sitting in a Land Cruiser for game drives, it was so nice to have this option to get out and stretch our legs.

More details of our stay at Naboisho are on our blog:
http://slaterslive.tumblr.com/post/27445743287/naboisho-camp-recap

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our daughter lives in Nairobi so we have been very fortunate to have experienced a number of game drive holidays in Kenya, staying at different camps. Our 3 night stay at Naboisho Camp has to have been one of the best with excellent tent accommodation and food! The staff couldn't have made our stay more enjoyable, in particular Mariana, Dudu and Ben, Dickson and Daniel were great guides. It was great getting to know them all. It was a little early to see the migration but to see 6 lion feasting on a hippo, a leopard stalking antelope, a cheetah and her cubs as well as lunch by the hippo pool was certainly an experience. Thank you all so very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Undoubtedly one of the best vacation of our lives. We love the Naboisho Camp and all its staff. All are very nice and polite. Our guides, Ben and Wilson, and the managers, Roelof and Helen, were extremely attentive and made ​​our stay even more enjoyable. The structure could not be better and the food was excellent. We were delighted and recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiago S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had the pleasure of 3 nights/4 days with the team at Rekero Naboisho Camp. From the moment we were met at the airport by our guide Dickson- we were impressed with the strong customer focus, passion for wildlife and sharing the best of this region with guests. Our guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and he ensured we had an enjoyable time. We had the unexpected pleasure of seeing a Cheetah on our way in from the airport and a diverse collection of other wildlife. The fun had just begun. When we arrived at the camp we were met by the onsite managers and other staff and immediately felt welcomed. We enjoyed a delicious lunch outdoors before being taken to our room/luxury tent. We were delighted with our accommodation - comfortable, clean, attention to detail, and indoor and outdoor shower, day bed and arm chairs to relax and take in the views. We enjoyed morning and night time safaris over a number of days. Other highlights included the evening meals - delicious 3 courses served in a dinning room with quality wines, candlelight and great conversations and sharing of stories with fellow guests and the camp managers. At the end of our meal each night we were escorted back to our room by one of the male Masai staff - offering an escorted passage through the darkness to our room. Staff were always available to attend to any questions or requests we had and nothing was too much trouble. We were even able to arrange sundowner drinks with friends who were staying at another camp. The vehicles used for the safari were well maintained, comfortable and each day we were provided with cold drinks and a Masai blanket to keep warm during the early morning and later night chill.

There were many highlights including seeing a pride of lions (3 male and 3 female) and 4 lion cubs, two black rhinos, hippos. giraffes and baby giraffes. We also really enjoyed our visit to a local Masai village where we had the pleasure of meeting with women, children and some of the men from the village. This was at a small additional cost ($20 USD each) and proceeds went to the village.

On our last morning we awoke to the sound of the lions roaring close to the camp. Thankfully we were tucked up safely in bed and once again our Masai attendant was there to walk us safely from accommodation to our vehicle for our early morning safari.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMTravelsBurleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Naboisho Camp in May 2012. The camp itself is close to perfection, with great food and service. The tents make you feel like you are out there with animals and the views (even lying on your bed watching the sun go down!) are stunning.

We had some drives with Roeloff who is very enthousiastic and has great knowledge. Tip: try the nightdrives or the walk in the bush, it is amazing. There is plenty of wildlife around, so each and every drive out there was worth it.

Room Tip: Room 1-3 have very nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
2.2 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#8 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
213 reviews
22.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing