We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful camp and excellent safari” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful camp and excellent safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I had a fantastic three-night stay at Naboisho Camp with my girlfriend. The camp is secluded, unobtrusive and in perfect harmony with the surrounding nature; simply beautiful. The tents have an elegant and simple luxuriousness about them, including the king-sized bed and large bathroom with both indoor and outdoor shower. We particularly enjoyed watching the sunrise from our own private patio with fresh-brewed tea and coffee prior to the morning safari and also the late-night outdoor showers under the moon after the evening safari.

The food, which is served in the main lodge, is excellent quality. We even had breakfast in the bush during one morning safari and it was excellent. The friendly and helpful staff will cater to your individual needs and you can plan your daily game drives according to your wishes. Full-day game drives, shorter morning, afternoon, and evening game drives, and even a walking safari were options for us. Every game drive we took was with a knowledgable and friendly guide.

All in all, it was the perfect safari experience. Authentic nature, lots of animals, and only six tents, allowing the staff to concentrate on helping each individual guest.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
140
192
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was my first visit to Kenya and my first ever safari but it will definitely not be my last! The Naboisho Camp was a truly experience. The camp is secluded and only consists of 6 tents with a good distance to each other. This makes you feel that you are 'alone' in the area which in my opinion adds great value. The tents are luxurious and exceeded my expectations by far. The food and overall dining experience was also one of the best I have ever had. Finally, the game drives and walking safari offer you a close and very personal encounter with the beautiful nature that surrounds you and here you also feel 'alone' as you don't see many other tour cars.
I would love to return to this camp and this amazing scenery and together with the hospitality of the staff and not least the camp managers this was one of the best holidays I have been on!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was my first trip to Africa and my first stop on a 12 day safari. My stay at the Naboisho Camp was for three days. I ended up staying at three Asilia Tented Camps and wished I would have been at Naboisho longer. In my opinion was the cream of the crop. Primarily due to Helen and Roelof, a couple from South Africa who manage this camp. They are running a first rate ship. The tents are absolutely gorgeous and luxurious with outside and inside showers, and a running toilet inside the tent. This is certainly not roughing it, though, you are in the bush, and definitely hear lions roaring at night and animals browsing and grazing by your tent at night. The food is first rate and I encountered that at all the Asilia camps.

They provided both morning and afternoon game drives as well as a night drive. But the highlight for me was a walking safari with Roelof. After staying at 4 different camps with different game drive guides, it was very clear, the most important part of a safari is your guide. A good guide is friendly, good communicator, is educated on all the animals you will come accross and can spot animals that you pass right by. Well I can state with complete confidence that Benjamin and Daniel Massai guides are the best I had and absolutely made the trip wonderful.

Another highlight is Daniel took us to a Massai village to meet the massai, learn about their lifestyles and see where they live. It was amazing!

Lastly, what I loved about Naboisho Camp is where it is situated which is in Naboisho Conservancy outside the Massai Mara. It provides a wealth of animals yet not as crowded with tourist and vehicles as the Mara.

I would highly recommend you adding this camp as part of your safari.

Room Tip: All the tents were far enough apart to give you privacy and all had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Naboisho Camp is an astounding gem tucked into the heart and soul of the spectacular Naboisho Conservancy, and where the big cats captivated us. From Dec. 3 – 7, 2012, our family of six (including four 20/30’s somethings) spent an amazing 5 days/4 nights in three beautiful and spacious 5-star tents at this extraordinary camp. Our welcoming hosts Mariana and Debra and their superb staff along with our excellent Maasai guide and driver, Wilson, provided a safari experience second to none.

The eco-friendly nature of this camp helped us stay grounded in the fact that we were the guests of the surrounding wildlife. The tents were extremely comfortable in every respect, and each morning there was a gentle “Hello!” from a staff member bearing a tray with tasty biscuits and piping hot coffee. Upon returning from our drives, the evening lantern-lit outdoor bucket shower was magical in drawing us closer to the stars, while the hot water bottles slipped under the duvet helped ward off any chill.

The relaxing main camp gathering area provided a spectacular view of a watering hole whose animal visitors literally changed by the hour. The nightly sundowner bonfires allowed us to share stories with other guests prior to heading up to the dining area for exceptionally scrumptious and unique meals.

Our days were filled with deftly driven game drives -in a fabulous open landcruiser– offering stunning vistas and breathtakingly abundant wildlife encounters where the animals – lions, elephants, zebras, gazelles, antelopes, giraffes, wildebeest, etc.- and birds seemed to personally know Wilson and crossed our paths on cue! Babies of everything were spotted everywhere. Our drive to the Mara Reserve offered breathtaking views of the Serengeti and its wildlife. The night drive on the conservancy had our hearts racing with excitement as we keenly watched the movements of the lions, and back at camp we could hear the their sounds resonate throughout the night.

By taking advantage of the optional activities of the Maasai village cultural visit and the bush drive with Niels Mogensen, Project Manager of the Mara-Naboisho Lion Project, we greatly enhanced our knowledge of the Maasai people and the “coming together “ mission of the conservancy and its efforts to protect the lions. Wilson was also kind enough to invite us to visit his village where my daughter enjoyed taking polaroids for everyone to keep. Over the years, we have been very lucky to have traveled extensively, but we all agreed that this was truly an adventure of a lifetime. My husband and I hope to return for a migration visit in 2013 and to be captivated by the big cats once again!
The Smith family thanks you, Naboisho, and thanks, also, to Brian at Africa Travel Resource.com for suggesting your amazing camp!

Room Tip: All of the tents are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Naboisho Camp is situated in the heart of Naboisho Conservancy and is currently surrounded by a 17 strong group of lions. The camp has superb luxury tents with beautiful outside showers (and inside). The food is always fresh and delicious and you are served amazing coffee as well. The cherry on the cake is the most welcoming hospitality from the staff, especially the managing couple. A very different experience than any of the lodges inside the Masai Mara National Reserve.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Having visited the Maasai Mara frequently over the last 12 years it is delightful to see the development of conservancies bordering the reserve. The experience of staying in one of these conservancies is a far cry from the 40+ cars you often see around animals inside the reserve. Having stayed in several of the camps in these conservancies, Naboisho Camp is #1 in my opinion. The tents are luxurious and spacious, the food is always fresh and delicious and the staff are excellent. One of the managers, Roelof, also leads optional walking safaris from the camp. I had never done one of these before and it was amazing how different it is to travelling around in a vehicle, you see a whole other perspective to the savannah, especially in the presence of such a knowledgeable guide. This is a truely amazing camp in a breath-taking area - any visitors will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed at Naboisho Camp in December 2012 and had the most fantastic time. The camp is in the newly formed Naboisho Conservancy bordering the Maasai Mara National Reserve. Judging by the earlier reviews all of which are excellent I had high expectations and was also interested by the most recent review which was the only average rating. Having stayed at the camp I am happy to also confirm the experience here as excellent. I agree you simply cannot compare this camp to the Serena Hotel Chain, which is exactly that a big hotel chain lacking ambience and character and providing an experience that you could get anywhere in the world be it big city or beach resort. Naboisho Camp is a small private tented camp offering a bush experience with all the luxuries and comfort you could possibly ask for. The previous reviewers comment regarding a pool and running water are rather ridiculous considering the camp is in a conservancy whose main aim is to preserve the wildlife and the area, NOT drain the ecosystem of its precious water supply.

The tents are beautiful! With stunning furnishings and first class amenities including luxury toiletries (all made from natural oils etc - once again a testament to the camps concern for its surroundings), and beautiful views. They are also huge with beautiful outdoor showers where you can enjoy your lovely hot shower under the most magnificent starry sky! The showers are bucket showers but in my opinion this is all part of the safari experience and is not a drawback at all. The food is first class all made with fresh ingredients, not your typical large hotel buffet, but carefully prepared delicious selections with a good emphasis on salads and fresh veggies, perfectly alternated red and white meat options with delicious vegetarian choices. In fact we had to try and fill up on the fabulous healthy options to try and avoid the temptation of the delicious cakes at tea time and gorgeous deserts!
The game drives are in the four wheel landcruisers with rooftop hatches affording you great game viewing but also warmth and comfort in the early mornings and late evenings when it can get quite chilly. Our guide was absolutely fantastic - a graduate of the now legendary Koyaki guiding school - his knowledge of the local area, its wildlife and the maasai people was so indepth and really enhanced our overall experience. The managers Helen and Roelof and fantastic hosts and they together with their team of amazing staff made us feel like we were staying with friends. We were also impressed by how many of the staff were employed locally and wore their traditional maasai dress, another thumbs up to the camps social responsibility.
All in all this is a first class and very luxurious camp. I have stayed in many five star hotels around the world and you simply cannot compare the experience. If you cannot do without amenities such as a swimming pool or your hair straighteners then this is probably not the experience for you, however, if you want to experience the african wild in all is glory, to hear lions roaring meters from your tent, watch the elephants wander past the table at breakfast, have a piping hot shower under the stars or simply spend the afternoon lying on your daybed watching the impala and zebra wander past your tent then come to Naboisho Camp. It is the height of luxury whilst leaving as little imprint as possible on the natural environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DedB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.2 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#5 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#8 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing