We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lion paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lion paradise”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

A fantasic place to end a safari. Lions galore, great guides and drivers and Helen and Roelof can't do enough for you. Really comfortable accomodation and delicious food and a very different habitat to their sister Rekero camp which made it even more special. It was our 4th trip to Kenya and we would go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
144
196
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband and I spent our last 3 nights of a 10 day Kenyan safari here in Naboisho Camp.
Out of the 3 camps we stayed at this one truly felt like we were integrated into nature. The tents we slept in were very clean, well equipped, super comfortable and completely safe. At night we could hear lions and other wildlife outside our tents which was fantastic!
The food served was high quality and our guides were professional, easy to understand and great at their jobs.
A highlight was our walking tour with Roelof who is obviously very passionate about the wildlife.
I highly recommend the Naboisho 'glamping' experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

There are no words to truely express the experience that we encountered during our stay at the Naboisho camp. For me, I felt as if I were Teddy Roosevelt himself on a luxury game safai in the heart of the African savannah. The accomodations were first class, the staff was attentive to all our needs and they were like family as we had lively conversation at the dining room table and later enjoying an aperitif by the fireplace. We could here and see the wildlife of Africa from our tent but never felt in any danger. This camp brought out the best in all of the other guests which we were so foutunate to meet. Everyone was busy doing game drives, having a beautiful meal or better yet, doing a walking safari. We travelled for 25 days in Kenya and Tanzania, we did many game drives but we only had one oppurtunity to do a walking safari. Roelof, (manager of the camp) is a professional hunter who treks you out to the wild. Your senses are hightened with all the adrenalen. We learned so much about the animals and even more, extreme respect for them. This camp is truely a gem in the heart of Kenya. Thank you Roelof, Helen, Dudu and staff for sharing Africa in style.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StancinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Naboisho camp in September 2011 (not an option on the Trip Advisor reviewing system, so ticked February 2012). I often think back to our wonderful five nights there, and one and a half years later, I’m finally writing a review.

We visited two camps in Kenya - Kicheche Laikipia and then Naboisho Asilia. It still makes me very happy to know that such places exist. I’ve reviewed Kicheche Laikipia separately.

Naboisho Asilia was superb. Unsurprisingly the animals starred. We saw lions, a leopard, cheetah, hippos, hyenas, giraffe, elephants, zebra, wildebeest and much else. What we didn’t see we heard at night, somewhere in the darkness outside our tent. Thanks to our excellent guide, Ben, we found all these animals in the Naboisho conservancy. This included seeing the big herbivores from the comfort of our tent’s verandah, and seeing the cheetah on our bush walk.

The view from our tent still sits in my mind’s eye. You can spend sublime moments of peace looking out across the valley towards the hills beyond. The terrain is different from what you find inside the Mara reserve. Naboisho seemed to be more rugged and had more trees, and as this didn’t fit the Mara stereotype I was at first a little concerned. I needn’t have been, as the animals and the scenery proved to be spectacular, and the Naboisho experience more peaceful. The one day that we did visit the Mara there were frequently many vehicles viewing an animal at the same time.

If the animals and the scenery were the leading acts, the supporting cast of camp managers, staff and guides, were also exceptional. Back then the camp was run by Dudu and Joe. For three nights of our stay we were the only couple in the camp and spent some memorable evenings enjoying drinks and dinner with Dudu and Joe. Both are wonderful people, let alone first class camp managers. I know that the management has now changed, but both deserve a mention, especially as Dudu set the camp up in the first place.

Our guide Ben was an excellent spotter, seeing things long before we could, and was friendly and kind (which helps when you’re out with the guides for much of the day). I also have fond memories of the other camp staff, all great people.

Finally, the food and camp facilities were exceptional, and the bucket showers only add to the experience.

One day we hope to return, to Kenya and to Naboisho.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We spent 4 nights at Naboisho Camp which was the most amazing experience of our month long adventure. I was a first timer for the safari and my partner who had done several safari's in Sth Africa before but when we booked through True Africa I was assured that we wouldn't be disappointed.... I can certainly say it was the most amazing camp, accommodation, service, food and the animals are in a league of their own.

Helen and Roelof were so welcoming and enriched our experience with their attention to detail, knowledge and laughs . We spent 1 morning on a walking safari with Roelof which was exhilarating but we felt very safe at all times. It was a very liberating experience not being inside a vehicle and being amongst the wild!

The accommodation was superb, very private, clean, comfortable and with all the luxuries…… the best bit was our warm showers under the stars.

One night we walked to a fly camp which had been specially arranged for just the two of us where we camped out under the stars. It still felt like we had all the luxuries of the main camp but a very personalised, romantic camping experience. Nothing beats sitting by the camp fire watching the most spectacular sunset with a wine in hand; not to mention hearing the sounds of lions and hyenas as we enjoyed the view.

The food on both the main camp and our fly camp was delicious and we were both very impressed. It was 5 star dining in the middle of the wilderness.

Our safari guide's Wilson and Riketa we both very knowledgeable, friendly and offered a very keen eye as we drove across the savannah. There was more wildlife than we could imagine even though we weren't there for migration season and our guides got us closer then we expected.

Our 4 nights were like a private camp just for us as there was minimal tourists in the conservancy in January. It was definitely worth every penny and we could not fault our stay at Naboisho Camp.

We will go back!! You should definitely go to Naboisho!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleFaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We had Christmas Eve dinner and Christmas lunch at Naibosho and Helen and Roelof are superb hosts, able to handle an 81 year old grandmother with the same aplomb as rowdy nine and eleven year old boys. They made a tremendous effort to make sure we had a wonderful time. Roelof took us on an eye opening walking safari and the rest of the staff were wonderful. The food was top notch as well. But the most important aspect to any camp is the game driver/guide. We had a Silver Guide, Benjamin, who was in incredible driver, knew everything about the animals, and went over and beyond the call of duty for our family of five to make sure we saw a Cheetah kill, two different prides of lions, and all kinds of game. If you are planning a trip to the Mara, stay here instead. Practically no one else in the conservancy, you practically have it all to yourself. The camp is NEW so the furnishings and tents are in tip top shape. Here's hoping we can stay there again soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Naibosho is a sister camp to The most amazing camp in the Mara -- Rekero

The camp is well thought out with tents very spacious and luxurious. Lots of space between tents therefore lots of privacy. Food is superb --we have been coming to African Camps for over 13 years and are still amazed how they manage to prepare amazing food with such limited facilities. It's can be as good as you'll get in a 4 or 5 rosette establishment

The main difference in game viewing is that between July and late October you don't have the migration of Wilderbeest and Zebra in or around camp. Good thing is less noise and flies Bad thing is No River Crossings. Although they are only about two hours game drive away

We actually enjoyed the peace and quiet of seeing just resident wilderbeest etc and the joy of being the only vehicle in our area.

When you are outside of the Main reserve you benefit from

Low density vehicles -- often it's only you on the viewing
Night drives Can't do this in Mara Park but lets you see bush babies etc
Walks You can actually go for a game walk and get close up and personal
animals -- very small and may be large


Naibosho is fantastic and offers a different, but complimentary experience to Rekero's

We had a fantastic time guided by the Senior Guide Dickson -- who we have known for many years, He is superb and well worth asking for to personally guide you at either Naibosho, Rekero or both.

Helen and Roelof were supremely professsional in the way they ran the camp but are really lovely people.

I've walked with many guides into many potentially challenging situations over the years and have come to respect and trust a limited number of guides who are first class-- you just get to suss out who they are. Roelof is in this catagory and a walk with him -- if you have never walked in the wild before is potentaily a life changing experience

We had a superb time at Naibosho and cannot than Helen , Roelof and particularly Dickson too much for all that they did for us

Absolutely Amazing

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,016 reviews
2.2 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#13 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#8 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
208 reviews
22.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
509 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing