We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise and Passion!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned to our home from an amazing, educational and beautiful adventure in Kenya. Our experience was largely due to Helen, Roelof, Moses, and our fantastic guide, Lucas. The entire staff of the camp were warm, friendly, helpful, kind, magnificent people that we were lucky enough to meet. The great enthusiasm of the staff is evident from the moment you are picked up at the airport. The first game drive begins there, and you are transported into the magic of the Naboisho experience. We hope to continue our relationship,as our intention is to work together and establish communication between my students and the local children from the area. Life is an adventure, and we are grateful and so happy that we were able to learn and grow thanks to the staff of this beautiful camp.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lgu322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was the most luxurious camp of the three Asilia Camps we stayed at, in July 2014. We had tent number 9 (formally tent number 8), it was the furthest from the main camp which made it very private and had a lovely outlook over the plains. The normal camp managers were on leave during our stay and we were in the capable hands of Kim and Conway. Kim hosted the lunches and dinners; and hearing about my taste for Amarula encouraged further exploration.
The accommodation is very spacious including an indoor and a private dual outdoor shower. We had an airline restriction of 15 kilos each including hand luggage! This made for interesting packing as our Camera equipment was fairly heavy, however it was easy to see that Naboisho Camp staff had considered this and provided us with many of the little necessities and luxuries we might need. You could have as many showers as you wished and same day laundry service. Hot water bottles were supplied in your bed at night and also in your open vehicle during the cold and windy early morning game drives. Staff here had a can do attitude which was very welcoming and reassuring.
Charging of equipment was carried out at the main camp lounge. Meals were excellent and staff went out of their way to cater to individual dietary preferences if needed.
The guides were excellent- Ben and spotter Rakita (from BBC claim to fame), made every effort to find us the elusive leopard we didn’t see at our previous camp. We spent time looking at animal behaviours such as watching lions feeding on a kill. In addition to game viewing, we learnt more about Bens’ culture and upbringing which opened our eyes more to the Kenyan people. Our previous camp was in the Mara and was full of animals in the midst of the migration, wildlife here did not appear to be as prolific. However there was a very healthy lion population and many newborn animals were seen. We were able to experience night game viewing but unfortunately Roelof was on leave, and we missed out on his walking safari. Overall our stay at Naboisho Camp was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peta32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent 2 nights in the Naboisho Camp and it was fabulous. The Camp, accommodation, staff, and general hospitality were exactly what we hoped for. Roelof and Helen, the hosts, run the Camp so that you feel very welcome and spoilt, and Roelof's knowledge of the bush and the game, with his guides, made the vehicle trips and walking trips really interesting. Will I go again? - absolutely. A real pleasure to be there.

Room Tip: Go there and simply enjoy opening your tent flap and looking at the game around you. All tents were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Naboisho camp, and it was absolutely amazing!
Location: The camp is located in Naboisho conservancy which is next to the Masai Mara. There's plenty of wildlife in the area, but you see very few tourists because the area is restricted to only the guests of the camps situated in the conservancy, which is a huge advantage because the Masai Mara itself can get pretty crowded with people. We saw lions on every single drive, elephants, giraffes, Cape Buffalo, and a lot more.
Tents: The tent was perfectly sealed so we never had any unwanted visitors. It was very clean and the tent itself seemed very new. We had hot bucket showers in the tent which was refilled if needed.
Service: Flawless. The service was very friendly and efficient. The managers Helen and Roelof were great hosts and made sure everything was perfect during our stay. Everyone from Johnson, the head waiter, to the askaris who escorted us to and from our tent, deserve a lot of credit for doing such a great job.
Food and drinks: Excellent.
Guide: Lucas, our guide, was absolutely amazing. He was so knowledgable about all the wildlife, and always explained everything really well. I need to remember what we learned, because when we go back in the future, he will test us.
Thank you for the amazing experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OsamaAlawadhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We are safari addicts and believe we have found an absolute gem in Naboisho. The camp is luxurious with lots of added extras e.g. bathroom freshner, conditioner, constant hot water available, superb beds and bedding, etc. The mess area is stylishly but comfortably furnished with a wonderful open fire that was used during a wet evening when we couldn't sit around the campfire. The food was exceptional. However, the element that elevates this camp is the conservancy landscape and the variety of activities that are on offer. It is teeming with wildlife and sightings are more special as there are so few cars compared to the more popular Mara reserve. We were also very impressed with the courtesy of other guides: whilst watching a cheetah kill, two vehicles stayed at a distance until 2 of the 4 watching moved off. This type of respect for the animals and for other vehicles is sadly lacking in the more popular areas and made all our experiences very special.
Most guests tend to go on a whole day drive to the Mara reserve but we chose to go in the conservancy - it was absolutely amazing! We saw only one other car all day but saw every animal we can think of apart from leopard (but we did see a leopard tortoise!) Walking was another highlight, quite magical being within sight of lions, bull elephants and within 5 metres of a male giraffe!
The camp is superbly managed by Roelof and Helen who are supported by a wonderful team including Moses, Steve, Steven, Johnson, Albert, etc. Their passion for the environment and their eagerness to ensure guests have a wonderful experience was palpable . Wilson, our guide, could not have done any more to make our time special. He was always eager to share his knowledge and although we have been on lots of safaris, we found we learnt something new on every outing. He was also a brilliant teacher of Kiswahili and we had lots of fun during our breakfasts and sundowners as we tried to practice our pronunciation - very badly!!!
If you are considering visiting the Mara area I would most highly recommend this camp. You could spend a day to go into the reserve (if you felt the need) for the experience but I can absolutely assure you that anything that is in the reserve is in equal abundance in the conservancy minus the hundreds of other vehicles who often spoil sightings (e.g. whilst watching a crossing one vehicle was actually playing Beyoncé very loudly!!!!)
Huge thanks to all the team at Naboisho, we left Africa with some fantastic memories and the pull to return even stronger than usual.

Room Tip: The family room was excellent, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank klynnstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have been lucky enough to experience a number of safaris throughout Africa and all I can do is repeat the positive comments and sentiments of previous reviews about Naboisho. It is an incredibly special camp and team.

The camp itself is beautiful and the layout is very well thought through and planned. There is huge attention to detail and all the 'things you know are missing when they aren't there' have been carefully thought of and provided in lavish, luxurious abundance. The service, food, styling and ambience are exceptional. This is bush living at its best and very few camps can match the overall quality of Naboisho.

The real magic however comes from the bush experience. The conservancy is stunningly beautiful and there is no need to venture into the main Mara reserve as there is a huge amount of healthy and diverse game on the door step - a female leopard killed a mature male impala in front of the mess tent whilst we had afternoon tea! The wildlife and landscape is truly brought to life by the phenomenal knowledge of the Masai guides and Roelof. The privacy of the reserve means that for the majority of sightings we were the only vehicle at a sighting.

This is a very special camp located in an unrivalled section of the Mara serviced by a top quality team. Whilst there are many options in the Mara, I could not recommend Naboisho enough.

Room Tip: We were in Room 12, the furthest from the mess tent and it was fantastic with expansive views over a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MattLondon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was my family's second stop on safari ( children ages 17,14 and 11). We were blown away!!!

This camp is absolute perfection. They are able to provide an atmosphere of comfort like your own home while also providing luxuries you would never think of on safari or frankly on any vacation- and we have stayed in some very exclusive places!
The tents are beautiful and have all the luxuries- nice linens, soap- wonderful beds with the addition of being able to watch zebra ( and plenty of other animals) walking by your room all night.

The game driving is exceptional- the animals that are there are in tremendous quantity and watching them interact was amazing!! We got to see a lioness and her 2 week old cubs on their first ever outing! It is not at all surprising that the Mara is known as the original safari destination- it is beyond description.
The food at Naboisho also bears discussion- not only were we awed at every meal- but the communal dining made us feel like we were at an intimate dinner party with close fiends every night!
I have left the discussion of the staff for last- mostly because I do not know how to convey in words the level of not just service but true care they shower on each family! Helen, Roelof, Moses and our tracker Daniel to name a few!! When we pulled away it was with tears in our eyes- knowing that this will be back as soon as possible!!
Run do not walk to book a trip to Naboisho!!

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,108 reviews
16.9 mi away
Enkewa Camp
Enkewa Camp
#1 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
378 reviews
9.9 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
887 reviews
22.9 mi away
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Ca...
#10 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £433 - £610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing