We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Eden Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I along with some friends spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Mara Eden Safari Camp. This experience was amazing and I highly recommend to anyone who is traveling to Masai Mara for safari. From the minute we arrived until the minute we departed, all of our needs were met and then some. The staff was extremely accommodating and the food was amazing. Our tent was facing the stream and across the way we were able to see many different animals. At night we could hear the sounds of the animals while we sat on our deck. The final night we were there, as we sat by the fire pit, we witnessed a hippo eating in the grass nearby. The staff ensured we had an opportunity to see this as well as escorted us to our tent ensuring safety. The accommodations were beyond my expectations, as I am not one to sleep in a tent! The tents were very modern with running water and inside plumbing as well as a beautifully constructed shower. The game drives were amazing and we were fortunate enough to see the "Big 5" within the first 4 hours of our safari. The chef packed us lunch for our day trip and it was beyond expectation. I normally do NOT write reviews, however this place is a "must" and I cannot say enough good things about it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
40
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went to spend a long weekend holiday of 20th Oct 2013 with the family. Had the most relaxing and amazing time. Unbelievable environment, delicious food, super game drives and we were thoroughly spoilt by the owners/managers Munir and Jay. Looking forward to going back there soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the river front so all are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nargis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent 2 great days here. It was exactly what we wanted in a safari camp. The staff was excellent, most of them were from the local community. The tents were on a wooden platform with a small deck in the front that over looked the river. There was a big tree in front of our tent that had birds and monkeys in it. You could hear animals throughout the night.

This is not a camp with a swimming pool or fancy dining area, but we had enough comforts to meet our needs and still make you feel you were actually in Kenya and not some high end resort that could be in North America. The dinners set up around the fire were a special touch. Food was very good.

The tent camp borders the park, but it is a 20 minute drive on poor roads to get to the entrance. However, they have a built a swinging bridge across the river, so our guide could take us there after our morning drive and leave the vehicle on the other side, which saved us some driving time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biwiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We recently visited Mara Eden with friends and our family. We had a wonderful time. I normally ignore reviews with all five stars but really cannot think of a reason to only give 4 stars. The accommodations were perfect. Everything was clean and so many nice little touches. There is no fence so getting up close with the animals is not something that is limited just to the game drive. We loved sitting on the porch and seeing a hippo and baboons just across the river. There is a very personal, intimate feeling about the camp that was wonderful. The food was delicious. All of the staff was so attentive and helpful. Jay and Boots make the camp such a fun place! They made quite an impression on our family and just meeting them will always be one the highlights of a once in a lifetime trip. If the joy of another visit to Kenya were to ever repeat itself there is no doubt that we would be visiting Mara Eden again. I cannot imagine any safari camp experience being any better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernfam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Outstanding accommodations, a whole new meaning to sleeping in a tent as these units are raised on wood floors, have very nice showers/bathroom facilities and solar lighting. Game drives started right from the lodge. Very quiet, peaceful. Food was very good.

Wifi only avail from lodge, not from tents, and was only on at certain times.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

You are probably wondering why I say giorgio couldn't do better, a week ago we stayed with a couple boots and jay at their rather boutique camp , mara eden camp. Great food like seriously great food and with those 2 at the camp you never stop laughing and eating.

On our first day on safari I dropped my sunglasses and broke the side, I have very sensitive eyes, when we got back to camp munir noticed my eyes were red and asked what was wrong, he asked for my sunglasses and 10 minutes later brought them back, no tape, no wire but they were repaired, you could never tell they had broken (they were Giorgio armanis)

If ever I had to grade service in a place I would say this tops it off never has anyone in any hotel in the world done something like this for me! Thanks munir and you have a beautiful place I will make sure that everyone and anyone I know will hear about your little slice of heaven and your mr fix it knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

When you want to find a great place...look to the locals. As residents of the Mara, we have a host of lodges in which to recommend and take our visiting guests. But, out of all the possibilities, we really only have one choice...Mara Eden Safari Camp. Munir and Jay make it their personal business to make sure that our friends are satisfied and have had a perfect stay in the Mara. Couldn't recommend it any more. When you can't afford to make a mistake, this is where you want to book.

Room Tip: We've stayed in different tents on both sides of the camp and both accommodations were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#35 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#22 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
21.3 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#10 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
9.0 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#24 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Eden Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Eden Safari Camp

Property: Mara Eden Safari Camp
Address: Masai Mara, Masai Mara National Reserve 00504, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mara Eden Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and serene tented camp with 10 en suite tents on the banks of the Mara River, stunning views, great meals and superb game drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Mara Eden Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Eden Safari Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing