We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its okbut i would not stay again.”
Review of Rhino Tourist Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhino Tourist Camp
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its okbut i would not stay again.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile


I come to know that the electricty is only availbe 6 hours a day only when i checked in. The hot water also only 6 hours. The price was ok. The food is less than normal. But i wad lioking for something little bet luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaled m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
15
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is a good place to stay. The people working there were nice, and it was awesome to wake up in the early morning to the sounds of lions roaring and hyenas laughing. I know nothing about the food because we had our own chef with us on our safari.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tonje S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsvinger, Norway, Europe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I camped here with two of my girlfriends, and we were habing a blast! Great food, hospitality and location! I absolutely recommend this camp for the ultimate camp feeling. There are of course cabins wich are buldings of cement and most of the other 'rooms' are tents under solid roofs. We went to bed and woke up hearing the roar of the lions. Priceless!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleineberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My bf and I stayed at Rhino Tourist Camp for a 2-night/3-day safari and was assigned Room 1983 - one of the covered structures (not the tent). Upon stepping inside, you notice that the structure hadn't been built properly. The corners of the ceilings were open, leaving room for critters to crawl in (had a nasty lizard surprise in the bed in the morning). The mattresses were fine, but the linens had weird black/brown specs on it that could've been dirt or bedbugs. It was the bathroom that shocked us the most. It was unfinished, dirty, full of bugs (spiders among others). I said to my bf that it was the type of bathroom you'd see in horror movies where people get killed. Some sort of worm-slug crawled into the shower area from the cracks in the ceiling while my bf showered. It stayed in the shower and left in the morning. They provide mosquito nets but they have large, gaping holes in them, which negates the purpose of a net. When I woke up after the first morning, I found a large bug bite on my lower back, despite having slept under the net and wearing layers. I don't even want to think about how the bug got under my shirt.

Service was also poor. We were having problems with getting hot water, so we went to get an attending person to help. She said she would come right away. 20 mins later of literally sitting and waiting for her, she doesn't show up, so we go find her again. She's sitting in the dining area chatting with her friend over tea!! Um hello? We asked for your help 20 mins ago. She acted as though we were bothering her, and said she would come after she finished her tea. Expect this type of service at this establishment.

Food was buffet-style and decent but not a lot of variety. Just 1 veggie dish, 1 meat dish, some rice, some noodles. Breakfast was toast, eggs, fruit, pancakes. We didn't get food poisoning, which is a plus. Kenyan tea available all day.

Like other camps, electricity and hot water are only available during certain hours.

All in all, I would NOT stay here again, and would NOT recommend others to stay here either unless you like "roughing it" and waking up with strange bites and lizards. I felt nasty after 2 nights here.

Room Tip: Avoid Hut 1983. The bathroom will give you nightmares.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Rhino Tourist Camp for a two-night, three-day safari, and I was pleasantly surprised . I was not expecting much from a budget camp, but the place was clean, and the staff was friendly. We stayed in a tent, and towels, soap and flip-flops were provided. The food was simple, but good.

Unfortunately, we were sleeping in the first tent next to the kitchen, and the noise from the generator at night and in the early morning was annoying. We also had to watch out for the monkeys. The camp is located near the Masai villages, which we found a sobering introduction to Kenya's poverty. Rhino Tourist Camp is not the place for a luxurious game-watching experience, but it does the trick for budget-conscious travelers. I'd recommend it for people who want to see the Mara, but not spend 800$ for a short stay.

Room Tip: Tents away from the kitchen are quieter; the generator is terribly noisy, and the monkeys like to ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariedixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

When I booked a tented safari in the Maasi Mara with a safari broker out of Nairobi, I expected the same type of tented camp we experienced in the Serengeti or Ngorongoro crater; a tent with attached bucket shower tent and portable potty out in the wild in or near the park. Real camping but with a comfortable cot bed. I was dissapointed to find this to be more like a hotel with many tents each pitched on a cement slab under a roof with an adjacent tiled bathroom. It was a comfortable bed, the bathroom was clean but in need of a lot of repairs. Hot water and power were only available at specific times of day which was fine becausae I did not expect to even have power. There was a dining room with a bar that served only water and beer. The food was edible, not fantastic but not too bad. The staff was very friendly and very helpful - the staff is the best part of the hotel. The "camp" is located outside a small village where we bought water and snacks and sadly the village and surrounding area was littered with trash everywhere. If you want a tent but require power and a flush toilet this might be for you. If you want a traditional tented safari this is not the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I highly recommend this place if you are visiting the Mara. Rhino has many things going for it - great location (if you want to visit the Masai villages after a game drive, staying here would make that easy), great food, great staff. Few places in the Mara to also have a 'massage' centre.

Food: Everything is freshly prepared, wholesome and suited to all taste buds. Ask for a young chap named Peter - he will share his secret recipes with you. The green lentils, the soups, the pancakes and a variety of jams and butter will ensure you add extra calories!

Rooms: Electricity is generator-driven, so, as on all properties in the Mara, there are specific times when this is shut off. However it has never mattered - since you are out on the game drive anyway. Rooms are clean, the tents are safe, mosquito nets provided.
Hot water is available in the morning and evenings (its really HOT). Soap and bath towels provided. Rooms are clean, beds are large and soft, and blankets are fresh and smell good!

Plenty of places to walk around the camp - beer is served cold.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Its also a great place to hang out with the Masai - a few can be seen around the camp as well.

Room Tip: Actually, every room you choose is great. It is very quiet everywhere. The camp is rather big, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnjalyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
Masai Mara Manyatta Camp
#128 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#90 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#87 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Tourist Camp

Property: Rhino Tourist Camp
Address: Ololaimutia Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive tented camp for those who want a true wild experience. The camp is situated within the Masai Mara Eco-system and near Ololaimutia Gate near sopa lodge and 230kms from Nairobi. Approximately 5 hours on tarmac and all weather Murram Road, situated outside the park. Flying is one hour to the nearest airstrip which is 30 minutes drive to the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rhino Tourist Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino Tourist Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing