We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tented accommodation with its own charm”
Review of Mara Sidai Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Sidai Camp
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The camp is set very close to the Masai Mara gate entrance. We chose to stay here rather than the lodges inside the park to get back to nature a bit and also as the lodges are a lot more expensive.
The tents though basic had a very comfortable bed and a 'bathroom' which was adequate for a 3 day stay though in tent no. 6 we only had hot, even warm water, once so it was a quick shower and hair wash every night after a dusty tiring day in the game reserve.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and were happy to provide veggie sandwiches for the packed lunch. Breakfast and dinner were slightly repetitive but the food was good, hot and tasty.

The restricted hours for the power to be on meant a frantic time to charge the camera batteries every evening but it was done successfully!

I really enjoyed staying here for its originality and lovely setting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colchester98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

The camp was more than we expected for budget travelers, It is near the gate to Maasai Mara, quite clean, hot water shower, has electricity for limited hours, friendly staff, comfortable beds and good food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JThaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

If you're on a budget, Mara Sidai Camp has got everything you need. There is hot water for showers, a working toilet and even an outlet for you to charge your cameras and phones. The only complaint I have regarding the place is the food. Don't get me wrong. The food was delicious. However, there were two times when the food was served late. For example, on the first night, we were told that dinner would be served at 730 pm. It was served at 7:52 pm instead. Before checking-out, someone from the kitchen took it upon himself to ask us for a tip if we enjoyed the meal. We did not leave a tip because although the food was delicious, it was not served on time.

Room Tip: You can charge all your electronic gadgets in the dining area. The "rooms" have only 1 out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojojojotang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The camp is close to the enterance of the Masai Mara. The tents are basic, but clean, rather small but with hot water and a self service restaurant. The tents could use some shelfs or more space to put your belongings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrosAnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Camp is very close to main gate of Masai Mara National reserve... It was off-season so we were only family in entire camp on day one... We stayed for 2 nights... Tents are right size, clean and beds are comfortable...staff was very co-operative and friendly... we got good vegetarian food... electricity is available only from 06:00 to 07:00 and 18:00 to 22:00... over all good budget acco and great hospitality

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aniruddha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at mara sidai camp for 4 nights .The staffs at the camp are friendly ,food was nice ,tents are clean and beds are comfortable accodding to our budget as volunteers .The location is good and close to the oloolaimutiek gate we were helping the Maasai children in oloolaimutia primary school .we enjoyed our stay at Mara Sidai camp and hope to be back next year for our mission in helping the children in Masai Mara.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graceofkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Mara Sidai camp for 2 nights. The tents are a good choice for the budget traveler. The camp is very close to the entry gate to the Mara. The tents are the right size to accommodate a couple, and a kid can probably squeeze in. The food is not very lavish but it does satisfy basic needs. The camp area is well paid out and one can definitely get a taste of the local way of life. Well... the only reason one visits the MARA is to see the fabulous expanse of wild life so the facilities at the camp may not be so critically evaluated.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nrvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.7 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 10 in Masai Mara National Reserve
256 reviews
9.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 10 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,110 reviews
9.1 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 10 in Masai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
101.1 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#103 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
154 reviews
28.8 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#49 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
190 reviews
7.8 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#67 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sidai Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sidai Camp

Address: 1 Oloolaimutiek Gate | Room 275 Uniafric house Koinange Street, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £79 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp comprises 23 luxurious en-suite tents. Each tent has a private bathroom and water is heated by charcoal boiler . Camp facilities include a restaurant , a bar and a lounge. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the restaurant but one can also choose to enjoy a romantic bush dinner served beneath the starlit African night. Bush breakfast is the perfect surprise after an exciting morning game drive with astonishing view over the Mara plains. We at Mara Sidai are passionate about cooking and our chefs have put together a tantalizing assortment of their own original recipes that capture the taste of long gone colonial days from French, English, Italian and Danish classical cooking. Our menu also includes food from the international cuisines or best of all, exotic traditional Kenyan meals are also served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Mara Sidai Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sidai Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing