We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
La Crescenta, California
1 review
“Wonderful property”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The welcome and send-off we received was unlike any we had received anywhere. Maasai warriors performed for us on arrival and our departure.


The staff was delightful, accommodating, always cheerful. John (maître d') memorized everyone's name in our group of 11 within minutes. He recalled whether we wanted soup, our wine choices and if we had special dietary requirements. Food was excellent and in good quantity. Other management staff, Fairman and Desmond, were always available to answer questions.

Oh, and did I mention the rooms? Beautifully appointed, every amenity thought of. Some rooms had outdoor showers overlooking the Mara - completely sheltered and private. All rooms had the most delightful bathtubs and hot water was never an issue to wash the dust of the day. The only complaint is the room lighting at night - it is a little dark, but certainly doable. Mostly we were abed by 10 because we were up sooo early. Huge beds - larger than king-size were in the standard rooms. In single rooms - two doubles and very comfortable.

At night, one could hear the animals passing through - hippos especially and some lions nearby. What a treat.

Overall, I would recommend the Olare Mara to anyone who wished to stay at this location and avoid the hordes of people at the Mara River crossing.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are a wee bit farther from the main lodge area. But if you don't mind walking, they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review on your stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara. We are delighted to hear that you had the most memorable check in and check out experience, both being very unique to Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
I am also extremely pleased to read that the service at the resort was perfect. I will pass on your compliments to all my colleagues.
Glad to also note that you enjoyed the food and the facilities of the tents, which are indeed perfectly suited to luxury living in the midst of the wilderness.
The sounds of the residents animals at night are indeed the most perfect bush treat.
Thank you so much for selecting Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara as your accommodation of choice in the Mara, and we look forward to having you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
74
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A hotel with beautiful "tents". Of course the tents are mostly structure,with some canvas.
They are up off the ground with a porch and optional outdoor shower.
They food, service, and drinks were all high quality. We liked the telephone in the room,(as opposed to be given a walkie-talkie and a whisltle),in case of danger?????
The staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: If you choose tent#5 you will be "entertained" by the hippos
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammark60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the tents, they are definitely a highlight at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
We are also delighted to note that you were happy with the food and beverage options, overall service and facilities such as the telephone in the tents.
We will pass on your compliments to all our colleagues in the Masai Mara and look forward to having you stay with us once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My Own opinion is that Olare Mara Kempinski is in truly beautiful ,stylish and magnificent natural surroundings, complimented by very efficient camp Manager Geoffery Mulla and his attentive staff who all went out of their way to cater and please our group of 16 guests.
Game Drives, Mara river migration, Balloon Safari were all memorable and so was the Stay at the Camp perfect in every way.
Rajni & Kiran

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajnikiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara. We are extremely pleased to hear that your group of 16 guests enjoyed the magic of the Mara and the beautiful Kempinski property, Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, located in the Olare Orok Conservancy.

Gald to also note that you enjoyed the overall safari experience of game drives, Mara River migration, Ballon Safari. These memories can be compared to no other.

Look forward to having you stay with us once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah,WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

They call it a tent. I call it a house with some canvas. The 'standard' rooms are huge, with living room, a bed big enough for multiple families (I am 6 feet tall and with my toes hanging over one side, I couldn't reach the other side with outstretched arms), desk, other sitting chairs, an inside and outside shower, bath, double vanities, a large deck with outside loungers to view game grazing across the creek, or watch the hippoes wandering through your yard at night. The main buildings have a very comfortable lounge, restaurant, library, pool, bar, outside lawn dining by the creek. The food was superb, the staff extremely efficient. The welcoming tree tomato drink was delicious. Absolutely could not fault the facilities or staff. We had David as our driver and guide. He showed us the migration animals, river crossing, fantastic close up encounters with the local lion prides and resident leopard. I especially enjoyed the walking safari, although the wildebeest, zebra and gazelles kept a wary distance. The highlight was the ballon safari, despite the 4.15 am wakeup. We stayed at up-market lodges, hotels and tent camps throughout and this was the best. I'm not sure of the value rating as we paid for the trip as a whole so cannot say what the cost was. The non-included 'premium' drinks are expensive by anyone's standard, but their standard drinks are prefectly palatable.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was the furthest from the main building. Advantage was the hippos nearby, plus t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review on your stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
My team and I are happy to note that you had an extremely adventurous holiday, with the walking safari, balloon safari and game drives. These will be memories forever. We are also pleased to note that you were happy wih your stay in our spacious tents, which are 80 sqm and the honeymoon suite - 120 sqm.
Glad to also hear that you enjoyed the various outdoor dining options at the resort and were pleased with the food and beverage options.
We will pass on your compliments to our colleagues in the Mara regarding the overall service experience and hope to have you back with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was totally different experience in this hotel. The hotel is in middle of conservatory and very close to nature and animals. The tent was trully amazing. Most of all, the entire staff of this hotel was excellent. Manager Geoffrey was extremly helpful. Food and drinks were very high qulity. Every one in the hotel took care of our entire group very well. We highly recommand this hotel to every one. It is once in life time experience.
Vina and Ramesh

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara and selecting the resort for your stay in the Masai Mara. Olare Orok Conservancy is a very precious location.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the luxury of the tent, and were happy with the food and beverage options and service.

We will pass on your compliments to the team in the Mara.

At Kempinski it's about bringing a story to life. Look forward to having the opportunity to host you at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just returned from Africa. Stayed at four upscale camps including Olare Mara Kempinski. Location excellent for game viewing including cats. Clean large permanent tents. People warm and friendly. Service without parallel. Food tasty and beautifully presented. Driver guide knowledgeable and excellent spotter. Well managed. Don't miss it if you are going to the Mara.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hand39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara. We are pleased to read about all your positive comments regarding your experience. Look forward to having you stay with us once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was fortunately privileged to stay at the Olare Mara Kempinski due to overbooking at another hotel/camp in the Masai mara ( thank god). My experience was par excellence. Right from the pick up at the air strip, pre completed check in, delightful Masai dance welcome to an all inclusive 7 star experience.
Camp manager Geoffrey Mulwa was very helpful in our safari experience and always around to assist in all aspects. Esther , the assistant manager was on top of everything and together this team made our already great experience, a once in a life time memory.
The entire team from the cooks, the attendants, the watch men, the bartenders were all very attentive to our needs and made us feel very pampered. Kudos to Olare Mara Kempinski!

Room Tip: The resort is a tent resort in the Mara, so pick a room closer to the reception and dining/bar area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the feedback on your experience at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara and we are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us.
The fact that you still remember the names of our colleagues really does indicate how much you valued your experience, we will most definitely transmit your positive feedback to them.

We look forward to having you back with us in the near future, if we can be of any support with your reservation, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
982 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
504 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
992 reviews
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
885 reviews
9.9 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara

Property: Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Olare Ntiakitiak)
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara is located in Olare Orok Conservancy. The resort comprises of 12 deluxe suites tents of which 1 is a honeymoon suite. The deluxe suites cover an area of 80 sq m and are furnished in the classic style of the grand African safaris, with large four poster beds and reproduction furniture, offset by modern amenities. The honeymoon suite has its very own plunge pool, ideal for watching the sun set over the Mara and toasting to life together with champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing