We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed at numerous resorts in the African Bush but this resort gave us one of the most memorable experiences. The service was the best we have ever encountered with extremely dedicated and friendly staff. The camp was luxurious and amidst all the luxury you forget that the resort is in the the heart of the wilderness. The camp is in the conservancy with plenty of wildlife and there is no overcrowding of vehicles due to restrictions imposed in the area - this makes the game rides much more enjoyable as opposed to being in the mara triangle where there is an uncontrollable number of vehicles. This was the best hotel we have stayed at in the mara with no close comparison.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Ali K,
Thank you so much for your review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
My team and I are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the resort, which surely does mean that we lived up to our brand promise to our guests of providing memorable travel journeys.
I will definitely pass on your compliments to the entire team at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
Olare Mara is indeed located in one of the most beautiful conservancies in the Mara, it is teeming with wildlife and yes the rules of the conservancies including number of game drive vehicles that can drive through an area (one game drive vehicle per 2100 acres), make the viewing that more authentic in terms of an original safari experience.
We do hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us in the Mara once again in the near future. If we can be of any assistance with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
74
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were in Olare Mara Kempinski as part of an artist's retreat from India.

I must say it was an absolutely fantastic and memorable experience. We had a great time scouting in Land Cruisers in the wild taking pictures and videos of lions and other animals while listening to local lore about the animals from our guides.

The restaurant staff was top notch in the sense they went all the way to make us all feel part of the family, taking care of each one of us with genuine interest.

There is a relatively OK wifi connection in the main hotel area that is good enough for emails and surfing. Unfortunately WIFi coverage does not extend to your rooms/tents.

I would certainly recommend Olare Mara Kempinski to anyone visiting Masai Mara on a holiday...

B.Parthan

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpa2013bpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear B.Parthan,

Thank you so much for your recent review on your stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
My team and I are pleased to read that you had an absolutely fantastic experience at the resort.
The magic of the Mara definitely does comprise of memorable game drive experiences (interesting animal sights and sounds), accommodation under luxury canvas, great service and scrumptious food.
I have noted your concern regarding the internet connectivity and we will look into how we can extend the coverage; however Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara does definitely pride itself as being one of the few resorts in the park that does have very good internet connectivity.
We look forward to having you back with us in the near future. In case we can support with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was a safari hotel to remember! While the rooms and main lodge were substantial and beautiful, they still had canvas walls and roofs. This gave us a wonderful setting and home base for tremendous safari experiences. The bathroom facilities in the rooms were great with, beautiful tubs, showers and double vanity sinks.The staff were as good as you could ever expect - Julius, Lydia, Joel, John and others made everyone feel very special. David, our driver, and guide was so skilled and knowledgeable. Beautiful food sometimes provided in outdoor locations made dining even more special. The grandchildren were so well treated by the staff it was delightful. And the animals - so so many, and so much variety - the Leopard was so special!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review on your stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
My team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed luxury life under canvas during Safari. This will definitely prove to be a memorable travel experience.
Thank you for the lovely comments on the food, service and game drives.
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara does take pride in serving the freshest most delicious food, using produce from our very own organic garden and our colleagues in the Mara remain the soul of the property.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you in the Mara once again in the near future. If we can be of any support with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Awesome experience. The staff were amazing, from the moment we were picked up by David our incredible guide/tracker it was just sheer pleasure. We were very lucky and got upgraded to the honeymoon sweet with plunge pool and a constant view of our local hippo. Who would come up outside our luxurious tent every night. The camp is open so in the evening you would have a Masai take you back to your tent after having a an excellent meal and a few wines. David our man who looked after our room was also fantastic and you have a lovely suprise when you get into the bed in the evening. We saw so many animals everything except for the Rhino. However we would of been happy to just travel around and not see any because the Mara is so beautiful. I would recomend this camp any day the location, the staff, the animals, the food. Thank you Kempinski for a beautiful experience.

Room Tip: Honey moon suite, but as we were not leaving until the last flight at 16.00 they booked us into anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on our stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
My team and I are delighted to read that you had a fabulous stay at the property and received the opportunity to stay in tent number 12, our honeymoon suite, which is definitely very special in terms of space, almost 120 sqm, and facilities of course, with its very own plunge pool that has views of the hippo pool.
Glad to note that you were happy with all aspects of your stay including game drives, accommodation, service and food.
The location of the camp, Olare Orok Conservancy is definitely also a plus for us.
We look forward to having you back with us in the near future, and in case we can support with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Olare Mara Kempinski is a place where you can have all that Maasai Mara can offer. I spent 3 nights in the camp. There are only 12 luxury tents, all very spacious and beautifully decorated. You have even telephone in your tent which you cannot find in many five star safari lodges. The food is really amazing, the best I had in Africa so far. The staff is very friendly and treat you like a king! They have many surprises for you, like a wonderful breakfast in the bush or an unforgettable champagne party in the savannah at the sunset. And game drives are perfect! The Olare Orok Conservancy is famous for its abundant wildlife so you can see all the animals day and night, especially the big cats. I have seen maybe hundreds of lions and watched a cheetah hunting an impala live which is a rare experience for safari lovers. I am sure I will come back again in near future.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sebnem d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on your stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
My team and I are extremely pleased to read about your perfect experience at the camp.
The essence of Safari at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara is about adventurous game drives with viewing of beautiful cats and other animals, luxury accommodation, gourmet dining and impeccable service.
We do hope that you will be back to stay with us in the near future and if we can assist with future reservations please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Amazing. The entire experience is just out of this world.
Service
The best that one can ever expect. Every single staff made me feel welcome and they are eager to attend to guest and their request. To John and Felix, thank you so much for attending to us during meal times. John has an amazing memory, always getting our orders right and yes he makes the most delicious masala tea.
Not forgetting Domanic, a lovely guy who go all out of the way to attend to us. Showing us around the lodge & the garden.
For the rest of the team, great job. You guys are amazing.
Lodge / Tent
A beautiful lodge in the middle of Mara. One can still have access to wifi. There is also a nice pool and the very frequent sightings of monkeys playing. The tent is huge... With a king size bed. Despite the noise made by the hippos & lions, I had a good sleep. There's also a bath tub & standing shower.
Food
Too much food! Every morning before the start of my game drive, the staff will place a pot of tea and some cookies inside my tent.
After my morning game drive, a full breakfast with choice of eggs/ baked beans/ cereal / yogurt.
One morning, I choose to have my breakfast in the wild. Ranger Philip packed breakfast for us & set up a table under the Acadia tree. How memorable.
Lunch & Dinner is usually a choice from 2 main courses. Appetizer is usually either a soup or a salad. The salad is yummy and the greens used are beautifully fresh. They get the greens from their own garden, can't get any fresher than that.
Game Drive
Our ranger is also our tracker. Philip has to do both roles but he can do both roles very well. However, given the price we paid I expect to have a ranger and a tracker. I spotted some lodge vehicles have both ranger & tracker. It is just better to have a tracker spotting animals & the ranger can concentrate in driving especially when the driving conditions can be rough.
The vehicle used for the game drive can be improve. The current vehicle used is not that great for taking photos from the top. I prefer the topless vehicle where one can stand up and have a better view of the animals.
Location
The location is great as it is inside the conservancy. Less vehicles crowding around. I saw the big 4 (didn't catch the white rhino) & many animals. Lions aplenty. One morning I even catch a pride of lions feasting a buffalo.
Overall an amazing experience.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimidichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
I am extremely pleased to read that all aspects of your stay were brilliant, so glad to hear that the service was perfect, accommodation was comfortable - in terms of the unexpected in the midst of the wilderness (spacious tents, bath tub and shower) and food was delicious. The organic garden is simply super in terms of attaining the freshest produce for our cooking.
Thank you for your notes on the game drives regarding the vehicle and the ranger / tracker. We will most definitely look into these. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience of game viewing in the conservancy, which is just so special to us.
Look forward to having you back with us in the Mara in the near future. In case we can support with future reservations, please let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was our second visit to the Olare Mara Lodge, now managed by Kempinski. Our stay last year was fantastic and it was again this year. Many of the staff remain at the lodge and the high standards have been maintained.
We were housed in the family unit which consists of two "tents" joined by a common verandah. The tents are really beautiful with massive bed in the master tent and two double beds in the other unit. The tents are massive and well constructed. Both have en-suite bathrooms. The tents overlook the river and it is noisy at night with hippos- but we still slept well.
The restaurant is of a very high standard with 4 course menus for lunch and dinner. There is a choice of two mains- normally fish or meat. The main chefs, David and Joel, are excellent and are always willing to propose specials for breakfast or an Kenyan menu for dinner (try this-it is great). Most of the vegetables and bread is produced on site. The rate includes wine (South African mainly) and some spirits. We used the lovely pool and had our lunch at the pool.
Philip was our excellent guide for the 4 days. The game viewing around the camp was superb and we had morning and afternoon game drives. The highlight was watching 2 leopards sleeping in a tree and then mating as dusk approached. We also saw many lions and cheetahs (three on a kill) during the stay. The Olare Orok Conservancy provides excellent game viewing. We did not visit the main Masai Mara National park as we had already done this during the previous 2 years.
The lodge provides massage services and is planning to have a spa operating in 2014.
Thanks to Dominic and Ester and all the other staff for making us so welcome. They all were very willing to assist with all our requests.
As it is now a Kempinski managed lodge, prices have increased but it remains a excellent value destination.
We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 11 are one of the 2 family units. The other family unit is rooms 7 and 8. Room 11 is bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
I am extremely pleased to read that this is the second time that you are visiting Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
I am delighted to note that you also had a pleasent stay at the resort, and hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future.
The game viewing around the camp proves to be a great experience for most of the guests at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, it seems as though the animals just love being around our camp.
I will definitely pass on your compliments to all our colleagues at the property
In case we can assist with any future reservations, please do contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
17.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
12.2 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#10 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara

Property: Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Olare Ntiakitiak)
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara is located in Olare Orok Conservancy. The resort comprises of 12 deluxe suites tents of which 1 is a honeymoon suite. The deluxe suites cover an area of 80 sq m and are furnished in the classic style of the grand African safaris, with large four poster beds and reproduction furniture, offset by modern amenities. The honeymoon suite has its very own plunge pool, ideal for watching the sun set over the Mara and toasting to life together with champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing