We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just one word for this place, fantastic!
Thanks to the wonderful staff who made ​​our stay an unforgettable experience, not to mention the scenery around which helped with its incredible wildlife.

Asante sana, Olare Mara :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frode S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Frode S

Thank you for the review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
My team and I do hope that you will be back to experience yet another incredible stay with us.
A Masai Mara experience at Olare Mara Kempinski remains an experience that can be exchanged for none other.
Look forward to hearing back from you on your next reservation at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
79
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It was the best experience in my life. At first I thought it was going to be a full jungle experience but the luxury, attention, outstanding hospitality and excellent service baffled me and surprised me in an excellent way. I would say I have never expected to have the best hotel experience of my life in a campsite in Kenya´s Masai Mara. Unbelievable accommodations, spectacular scenery, dedicated service, and the best meals came together to accomplish the most rewarding experience of my life.

Room Tip: There is no wrong choice, every room is spectacular and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatianaCavelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear TatianaCavelier,
Thank you for your review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
I am delighted to note that your stay in the Mara exceeded your expectations. At Kempinski we believe that life should be lived in style no matter the location of the property.
A lot of thought has been put into our resort concept in the Mara to ensure that our travelers are assured of memorable journeys inspired by exquisite European flair.
I will definitely pass on your compliments regarding your overall stay to the team in the Mara.
We are touched to hear that your stay in the Mara was a rewarding experience.
Look forward to having you back with us in the bear future, please do get in touch for any future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We so much loved this experience!
The resort was quiet, very peaceful and relaxing and felt so very personal and private due to only a few number of tents. The whole camp, tents and interior were absolutely stunning and gorgeous - here to name as well the wonderful experience of an additional outdoor shower. This place offers a high standard of comfort to its guests and is more than very recomendable even or especially for a long stay. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful whatever it needs. We felt so well served and taken care of, by Fairman our always helpful camp manager, Big John and the rest of the kitchen crew who prepared our delicious meals throughout our experience, always wearing a friendly smile on their faces, Rafael who amazed us with his wide knowledge of wildlife on our game drives and so so many more wonderful and warmhearted people. For the time being at the camp it really felt like home...and we definately would claim, that this now is our favorite resort! We very much recommend this place and hope to come back very, very soon! Norman & Kornelia

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kornelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Norman & Kornelia,
Thank you so much for your review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
I am delighted to read that you loved the experience at the resort, we are committed to providing memorable travel journeys for our guests and believe life should be lived with style.
The team at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara simply love to host guests and are even more pleased when they note that guests are enjoying the safari experience.
Look forward to having you back home in the near future.
In case we can be of any support with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The lodge was our first stop on a family trip to East Africa. It was the perfect beginning. The staff was welcoming and warm. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable. Our driver was a wonderful companion during our game drives, and his knowledge of the Masai Mara was outstanding. The Conservancy limits the number of vehicles allowed in the area, making the ventures out into the bush seem more private. The food was top notch, and the service impeccable. An incredible experience on every level.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Howard C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
My team and I are glad to read that the resort was the perfect start to your trip into East Africa.
I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the company of your driver guide during safari and found the trip to also be informative.
The Olare Orok conservancy is indeed very special, and the rules and regulations that govern the operation of resorts within it definitely do make the experience that much more authentic – for example as you clearly stated there are limitations to the number of vehicles that can surround an animal / animals at any given time. There is also a ban on the use of Mini Vans within the area.
We are happy to read that you had an incredible experience on every level and do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This is the most luxurious camp in the Olare Orok Conservancy. From here you can enjoy viewing all the wildlife you can imagine, and also the Conservancy allows for evening game drives (which The Masai Mara can't offer). Although you can visit the Masai Mara if you want. There are less vehicles in the conservancy than in Masai Mara which allows for a better environment for the animals and better viewing.

We had a very good guide with Bernard, who showed us many different pockets of the Conservancy and its wildlife, very impressive. All the staff goes out if its way to make your time at Kempinski a wonderful stay. Thanks to Jackson, Mica, Felix, David (the Chef) and Fairman (the camp manager) to name a few for making our stay a delight.

The tents are very well furnitured, with a very large bed which slept very well (and we are picky when it comes to beds). The tents do get hot during the day, so make sure you spend some time in the shade at the pool at that time when you are not on a game drive. The food is of consistent high quality.

The camp is very safe with a number of Masai guards day and night guarding it, as there is no fence between the camp and wildlife. You will hear many perhaps unfamiliar animal sounds particularly at night.

We have seen Lion prides, Cheetah, Leopard, herds of Elephant, Buffalo, etc in the Conservancy itself. The views are spectacular.

Best regards,
Annemiek and Martijn



Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Annemiek and Martijn,
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
My team and I are glad to read that you consider the resort to be a top notch luxury safari camp in the bush.
I will definitely pass on your thanks to the entire team at the property; it is our pleasure to have hosted you.
We do hope that you will be back with us once again in the near future. In case we can be of any support with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Olare Mara Kempinski is a fantastic safari lodge situated in the heart of Masai Masai. Further you drive for the game watch less animals there are. Only the first day alone with saw all except one member of The Big Five. The hotel is part of some sort of conservation group that allows them to enter an exclusive protected area densely populated with breathtaking African flaura & fauna.

The hotel facilities are great. Their offer does not differ of any city hotel really. Service is top, you can feel the genuine hospitality that is exercised by the staff of the hotel. The food and beverage department deserves special credit for their work. We were delighted with food and drinks, but we we appreciated more the good laughs we had.

Asanteni Sana Julius, Dominic, Felix, Head Chef & Fairman!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markovlhvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Markovlhvc,
Thank you so much for the recent review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
Glad to read that you were impressed with the flora and fauna in Olare Orok Conservancy, the location of the camp is very special.
The team in the Mara were extremely delighted to have you stay with us and they say JAMBO, they also hope that you will visit soon for some more cheerful times.
Best wishes for a great 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My Husband Ashish Patel & I decided to spend our first anniversary at the Olare Mara Kempinski, Masai Mara and we had the best time ever! it was fabulous, they had the best accomodation - beautiful and comfortable with a plunge pool , best food courtesy of their Chef David, Best Game guide - David who made sure we saw the best game - a hunt, lions mating and the pride of lions, they had the best staff - John, Dominic and team, and the whole trip was managed really well by Esther and Fairman! Definately 5 stars from us and we highly recommend this place for anyone planning to go to the Masai Mara. Hope to go there soon again!!!

Room Tip: Ol Makau - the honeymoon suite was absolutely beautiful. it has a plunge pool where you can unwind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Nisha R,
I am so pleased to read that you found Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara to be the best place in the Masai Mara. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the resort.
I am also happy to note that the food was delicious; accommodation was pretty and comfortable too.
I will pass on personal congratulations to David, who seemed to have given you the best game drive experience. I will also let John, Dominic, Esther, Fairman and the rest of the team know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
Look forward to hosting you once again in the near future. If we can be of any support with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,020 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
510 reviews
17.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
922 reviews
9.9 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
490 reviews
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara

Property: Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Olare Ntiakitiak)
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara is located in Olare Orok Conservancy. The resort comprises of 12 deluxe suites tents of which 1 is a honeymoon suite. The deluxe suites cover an area of 80 sq m and are furnished in the classic style of the grand African safaris, with large four poster beds and reproduction furniture, offset by modern amenities. The honeymoon suite has its very own plunge pool, ideal for watching the sun set over the Mara and toasting to life together with champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing