We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Bateleur Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Bateleur Camp was 1 of 4 Camps or Lodges we stayed in during our 11-day Safari. It is an amazing place and probably the best camp in the Masai Mara NP. However, something is still missing to really call it excellent. There is a lot of movement going on in & around the camp to really feel that secluded feeling a lot of people travel to Africa for. The close proximity to other guests and shared game drives tune out the remoteness we seeked out. The abundance of operators and visitors in the Mara doesn't help either, even though that's not Bateleur's fault. That said the wild life in the Mara is amazing. We saw the Big Five in a single drive and our Bateleur Guide was quick to get to every sighting in record time and position herself in a great vantage point. Also, the cooks and staff in the camp is amongst the best we've had. So, if you're looking for a feeling of remoteness or seclusion, Bateleur might dissapoint a little and you're better off at private reserves. However, if you don't mind a small crowd for Safari Standards (i.e. not much) this is an amazing place thanks to the wildlife, the staff, the food and the ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent near the main tents of the South or North Camp. This will save you a bit of time ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlonsoFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
102
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I started our Safari adventure here and did not want to leave. The Maasai Mara is an enchanting place. The accommodations were beyond our expectations. But the staff made it magical. From Masibo (Camp Manager) to Litle Joe (our butler) and everyone else our stay was perfect. I miss Bateleur Already…..

Room Tip: They are all amazing….
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our first stop on our E Africa safari adventure. The team at Bateleur set the bar high. Mosibo and team are the best. We had a wonderful visit, great rooms, great food and the safari drives were amazing. Thanks to our guide, Albert, we got to experience the Masai Mara at its finest. We will return and stay longer at the Bateleur Camp. Thanks, &Beyond!

Room Tip: All have amazing views of the park. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMERinLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lahore, pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

incredible. there is simply nothing else to say. mind blowing. this is my third time to the masaii maara and I love bateleur. its expensive but worth it. given the choice i wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laal_salaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at Bateleur Camp for 3 nights. It truly was a memorable trip. From the moment we were collected at the airstrip with welcome drinks and snacks to the farewell cake we were presented on the morning of our departure.
The staff were fantastic - they all projected such a willingness to assist you from the restaurant staff, through the to security staff that escorted you to your rooms at night.
Joseph the Camp Manager was fantastic and lead his team in the most professional and enthusiastic way.
The rooms at the lodge are truly luxury tents - they cater to your every need. Each tent has a beautiful view over the Masai Mara and you can watch the sun rise while lying in your bed. We were a family of 3 sharing the tent so we had an extra bed in the room and this in no way cramped the room. There was sufficient space for us to move around the tent.
We travelled with an 8 year old child. The staff were very accommodating to his requests and made every effort to ensure that his needs were taken care of.
Our glasses for the entire 3 day period - never ran empty - as you enjoyed your drink the level in your glass never changed! Staff were always topping it up however they did it very discreetly so it never felt as though they were hovering.
Our Ranger - Benson was fantastic - he went out of his way to show us phenomenal sites. We were very lucky to view the Wildebeest and Zebras crossing the Mara river. For the time of the year that we travelled (December) this was not usual. It truly was spectacular. If you had to choose this property as your selected lodge in the Mara - you will not be disappointed.

We also visited the Masai village - this was a bit of a let down. The price of the tour is quite high. The actual tour takes about 20 minutes whereby you are given a few facts on the way of life of this fascinating culture. You get to see the inside of a home. You then get shown to the craft area - the prices here are VERY expensive. We bought a few items as we felt obliged to do this. On travelling further through Kenya you realise that the prices charged in the village were a RIP OFF. Unfortunately this did leave a little of a bad taste in our mouths.
Tip - do you homework on what beaded items and Masai blankets cost before you go to the village otherwise you will land up paying more than 100% more!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room a distance away from the main dining area. The staff can be heard in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taradale, Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent three nights at &Beyond Bateleur and loved every minute of our stay from being greeted with flowers, champagne, biscuits at the airport to our fantastic room overlooking the Masai Mara. We were greeted Benson & Mosibo, Manager of the Camp. Thankyou Mosibo for making us feel so welcome at Bateleur. Benson our driver - thankyou for looking after us and showing us the beautiful Masai Mara - we were so fortunate to see cheetah, lions, the migration of wildebeest - our favourites giraffe and zebras - this certainly is a fantastic place to see most of the African wildlife.

Meals were fantastic - great selection and well prepared. Benson - who looked after our room - loved the notes left every night - thanks for making our room so special - especially on the last night where we had dinner in our room. Loved the rose petals and the service from Marai was outstanding. A totally wonderful experience.

The balloon ride with the Skyship Company was fantastic - I was a bit apprehensive but totally safe and well worth doing it just to see the vastness of the Masai Mara. Felt totally safe and a great ride. We had a perfect day and were very lucky to see so many animals from the air. The breakfast/champagne in the Masai Mara was something to remember.

Masai Village Visit - we loved meeting the people and seeing the vlllage but felt it was a little commercialised and you were steered towards the stalls where they were selling trinkets which I am afraid to say were overpriced as when we got to other areas they were cheaper. However, we wanted to support the local Maasai people so bought here. Felt the cost of the visit was slightly over-priced as well.

However, our stay was wonderful and we loved the Masai Mara - the colours at sunset are something we will always remember - thankyou to all the staff at &Beyond Bateleur - you are amazing!.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoddardhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent three days and two nights at &Beyond's Bateleur Camp and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was warm and attentive and seemed genuinely concerned with meeting our needs. The tents were well-appointed and comfortable; the lodge was gorgeous; the meals were delicious and Moses, our safari guide, was wonderful. My one piece of advice to anyone contemplating a trip to the Masai Mara and to either of the &Beyond camps there would be to take advantage of the bush walks. You are going to need the excercise to work off the wonderful meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankLJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.8 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#23 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.5 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#27 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
13.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#20 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
13.1 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#34 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Bateleur Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Bateleur Camp

Property: andBeyond Bateleur Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forests on the very edge of the Masai Mara, each elegant tent at andBeyond Bateleur Camp replicates the style and glamour of vintage Africa. A world of hardwood floors, polished silver and sparkling crystal is juxtaposed against the romance of the open Mara plains, with their abundant herds of wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bateleur Camp At Kichwa Tembo Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Bateleur Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing