We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at Serena for 3 days. Good location and were satisfied with hotel and friendly attitude of the staff. Safari guide was excellent.

This is first class hotel in the middle of best game park in Africa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiplabSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I can't comment on the rooms or the restaurant but I can on the staff and service. Serena Lodge is my neighbor in Mara when I stay at a private camp. I run to them for laundry, private meals, the spa, fuel, air time, and and any other service I find myself in need of. They are amazing. All the staff are gracious especially Anthony at the front desk. he always greets you with a warm smile and if you need anything he will find it for you. I come to Serena often for a cold drink and to sit out and look over the veranda. Last week I saw a pride of lions hunting buffalo right from the pool view. I can only imagine what a pleasant stay this is for any guest coming to Serena. You are right in the middle of it all. The spa is amazing and I find myself there more and more spoiling myself with manicures and spa services. I can't thank Serena enough for opening their doors to me, and making my stay in Mara so amazing!!! Enjoy this amazing place!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

what a great lodge beautiful view over all sites and close to all migration points
good food and nice staff buid on a hill so it is not fine when you walking bad
swimming pool is small but oke good bed around it
rooms are verry small and old bathroom is verry verry clean and nice

Room Tip: it is a nice lodge in the mara close to all migration points but not for people who are bad walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

First off, let me say I'm a die-hard Serena fan.

That said - the pros.

Check in was nice and smooth. The hospitality that epitomizes the Serena brand was completely evident and we were more than comfortable the entire time we were there. The food is AMAZING!! Definitely piled on more than a few pounds while there. I like that the amazing food is a Serena staple - anywhere I go I am not disappointed.
Good WiFi. Great bar service. The staff is excellent. They were so kind to the children (under 5) we were with.

Had champagne breakfast by the hippo pool - anyone who goes to the Mara has to do this. It was such an awesome experience. I'd definitely do it again - and again, the food did not disappoint.

The view - WOW. It's exactly as it is on the professional pics they put up on their website. Completely breathtaking. My 2yr old nephew made a game of spotting animals from that area. The sunrise and the sunset, the Mara river view. All were just simply splendid.

The spa - Maisha Spa never disappoints. Had an amazing spa experience, with your view being the vast savannah - one cannnot help but relax.

The pool - small but the children had fun. More a splash pool if the hotel is full.

The rooms - sigh..the one thing that disappointed. They are so tiny. Putting in twin beds into those rooms completely finished up the space. Putting in three beds (which they managed to do for the kids rooms) was nothing short of a miracle. The distance from the edge of the bed to the dresser area - well, my sister and I could not pass at the same time. That was such a buzz kill. The only buzz kill, but sadly one nonetheless. That's what earns it 3 stars :(

Also, children's meal times were the adult meal times. Maybe set a time for the kids to eat earlier?

Great experience though.

Room Tip: Request a room near the main lodge area - the others are way down the stairs. I had room no. 1 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njorogekui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This being my first safari I booked a trip with Travel Connections Ltd which planned my short 3 day trip to Masai Mara National Park during this low season. The Mara Serena Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the national park with a very unique architectural design as you will see if you check out their website. The staff was very friendly and the food was relatively good since it is so far from civilization. While there, all the meals were covered however drinks other than coffee or tea is not covered. Staying here made it very convenient to go out on a game drive each morning and after lunch. I highly recommend this place however during high season it will be a challenge booking this place as it is very popular! There is no AC in the facilities, only a fan in the rooms and the workout room I did not notice any fans at all so it just means you'll be sweating more. They also have a sauna and a spa facility where you can get massages for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: All rooms are relatively the same in my opinion. The rooms farther away will provide you a good wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLCMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel blew my breath away. The staff were ever so helpful! The facilities were well kept and very convenient! And the rooms were so cosy and comfortable! But the real treat are the stunning views! In our room alone we saw a group of monkeys walk past our window, a few gazelle and we think maybe a hippo at night!!! There was wildlife around the resort (bushbabies and exotic lizards) and giraffes and all sorts of animals were in view!!! The drives around the safari park were unbelievable!!! It is worth the money!!! And definitely take a camera!!! I have vowed to return to these piece of paradise sometime in the near future!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here on 2012 during the migration. The location of this lodge is perfect on top of the cliff.rooms were abit tight but loved the view and visibiltiy of animals. Swimming pool gives and edge to it. Food excellent buffet never have gone wrong with serena food. Overall good , defintly recommend. Though bit too many rooms for people looking for bit private lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, but some rooms are bit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
23.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,082 reviews
16.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
242 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
863 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
566 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £222 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing