We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“AWESOME!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spectacular location, warm friendly staff, delicious food and the game drives...OMG! I am Kenyan, and this first-time experience at the Mara makes me wanna go back again and again!! Thanks love for the amazing time!

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view overlooking the Mara River
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    253
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
273
305
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for 03Nights at our final lodge in Kenya at low season.
Drove through from gate close by even takes time to get there while we were able to enjoy wild life & spotted a leopard in the rain on the way! Kind of very lucky!

Plenty of Staffs are around to help & reception staff has a very cute smile & friendly to accommodate with most welcome attitude made us relax when we arrived. Warm towels with Tropical welcome juice been served. We liked view from outside of Main lobby empty area of Savannah & great high ceiling lobby!

For our assigned room is bit of far from main reception area with full view of Savannah, there were always one of warthog eating glasses in front of our room, view with Giraffes/zebras/gazzeles etc.

Decoration of interior are very African & cozy, there is one fan we needed always at our stay... amenity as well at Bath room Shower gel/Shampoos/body lotions/insects protector are 5* standard.

Breakfast selection are huge, Lunch with Buffet, Dinner with Live cooking chef from Masai are very friendly to talk to, we were happy to see them at each time of meal! I loved your live cooking style & all food are good, wished to stay longer.

Thank you so much for the hospitality & will be back in one day:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, TX
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Arrived at hotel and was greeted with a warm, moist towel scented in eucalyptus . How refreshing this little gesture hit the spot.
Checked in, went to the room. So warm and cozy. Great decor and color.
Went to lunch. Oh yea! Fruit was fresh, tasted so much better than what we have in the USA.
And the food, it was beyond great! Such a beautiful overlook, and the staff was very professional.
The safari tours were above all expectations . The worst thing about here was leaving.
One of if not, the best places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usmcpride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a brilliant time at the Mara Serena and I only have good things to say about it. The location is pretty spectacular and because it is on a hill you get a great view. We could see giraffes, elephants, hippos and a lion from the balcony of our room using binoculars. We stayed for three nights which meant we got six game drives. The rooms were really clean and had great views. We had number 6 which faces out on to the river, I read a few reviews where people said the view on the other side was better but really I'd imagine the view from all of them would be pretty good! I thought our room was a really decent size. We had a double room and the bed was huge but there was still room to sit and there was a coffee table. We really enjoyed the food there. There was loads of selection and we found it all to be cooked and presented really well. At all of the meal times there were chefs near the buffet area who would make things like pancakes, eggs, pasta and stir fry for you which was a really nice touch. The decoration is really colourful and for me it just added to the experience of being there. The lobby is amazing and the view from the main balcony there is pretty breathtaking. Our favourite part about this hotel was the staff. They were totally exceptional and the service was probably the best that we have experienced anywhere in the world. All of the staff that we encountered there were so helpful and friendly that we just felt really spoilt and well looked after. That included everyone from the reception staff, dining room, bar staff and the people who came in to clean our rooms. We also had a brilliant safari guide called Samson who has 15 years experience. We also got really lucky as the migration started early so we saw some of the animals that had already arrived. The lodge is really well located if you are wanting to catch the crossing as there are a few points within 15 mins drive of the lodge. The highlight of the trip was the bush breakfast which we had on the last morning before leaving for our 11am flight. The pool area looked well looked after but we didn't actually end up using it. We also didn't use the fitness centre or room service but based on the rest of it I would imagine they would be of a high standard. We are hoping to go back to this hotel again possibly next year. We had a really amazing time there and really can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatMcGowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My experiences with Serena have always been good, and the Mara is no exception. If you are on holiday this is the place. You can switch off your brain entirely because the staff will do everything but operate your heart and lungs, all you need worry about is how much you are eating and which critters you are going to encounter on the included game drives. Nothing to say that hasn't been said here many times, but will not feel right without mentioning the superb view from pretty much all of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Arrived at the Serena on May 27th at around 3pm...they were waiting for us, and we were whisked to the restaurant for lunch. Was very impressed with the professionalism of the hotel staff. The hotel is very well located on top of a small hill with all balconies overlooking the vast expanse of the Masai Mara, breathtaking view!!, especially during sunrise and sunset. We were alloted room 78 which was quite a walk, but luckily the room was slightly bigger than the rest of the rooms. The hotel and the rooms are very tastefully done in a jungle theme. The food was good with quite a selection for vegetarians. Overall it was a memorable three nights. Safaris can be tiring.
A piece of advise for fellow travellers is to book through a local agent. We had booked directly on the Serena website but were surprised to find that we had paid a lot more than some other guests who had booked through local agents.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, facing the Masai Mara. Some rooms are marginally bigger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unbiasedreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

With 28 years of world travel, I feel it is time to provide travellers with some of my helpful insight. My safari groups and I have been staying at the Serena Lodge in the famous Masai Mara for the past 15 years. The lodge has always remain a top favourite.

Built in 1973, I have always affectionately referred to the lodge as the " Flintstone Lodge" due to its unique design. Last year the lodge took on a major renovation and WOW, the restaurant, bar, reception and reception area are beyond words. They have also included what I would call an "infinity deck" were you can sit and look into the horizon on the Mara. Included in the renovations is a fully equipped exercise gym and massage room.

Plans are now to enlarge the swimming pool, car park etc.

When visiting the Northern Serengeti, a stay at this exceptional lodge is a must. Try and stay for three night to enjoy both the best on "game viewing" and the best in accommodation.

The staff are friendly and attentive, meals plentiful, well prepared and presented and all the guest rooms are clean and maintained. I would give this safari property six stars but there is only an option for five...... Travelwithron.ca

Room Tip: All rooms face the savannah and therefore all rooms are desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron4695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
22.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,028 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
188 reviews
16.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
618 reviews
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing