We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mara Serena Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As a tour operator i have sold Mara Serena Lodge to my clients for many years without having been there for a first hand experience . Off course i always got glorying comments about how beautiful the lodge is. I experienced this last week when i spend 5 nights at the Mara Serena lodge . From the Masai themed decor to the great location and excellent service , Mara Serena beats them all. Located on a hill that gives one vantage position to watch the plains of Maasai Mara and close enough to the Mara river from where we watched in fascination as the wildebeest made their migratory crossing from Serengeti into Masai Mara , this lodge is truly a gem. They have a great spa with a nice functional gym which i found really thoughtful and perfect .
The only things i noted is that they are very many idle staff ............not sure if this is a positive or a negative .......

Room Tip: The rooms are all great except for the long walk to the lounge and dining area if you are staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Eunice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

my husband suprised me with a wknd getaway to the lodge I dont like going in parks am a beach and town person,but it was breath takin,friendly and knowledgeable stuff.I slept like ababy we went for a drive with our car.the food was okey,breafast had variety to choose from.I didn't see anything to complain about but if u want adventure or u wanna go talk to ur partner in a cool place wea she ll or he ll listen or just wanna spend undivided quality time together its the place to go.we ll be back every year its a pact made with hubby

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank belzo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We traveled as a family (2 adults, 1 child, 11-years old) and visited Kenya for 1 week in late July as arranged by Wild Eye.

Three nights were spent at Mara Serena. (We also visited two other Serena properties during our stay, Amboseli Serena and then Kilaguni Serena in West Tsavo. Separate reviews to be provided on each).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mara Serena and were lucky enough to experience an early start to the migration. We didn't really get to experience any of the lodge's facilities other than the restaurant as we were out all day on game drives during our stay. I did find the facility very clean and the staff very pleasant.

We didn't use the lodge's game drive services, as we had our own private guide and vehicle through Wild Eye, Sammy.

We stayed in Room #3, which was close to the main lodge (which we had requested a close room as we had read some rooms were quite a long walk up hill, which they are). The room had a beautiful view overlooking the Mara plains and river. The beds were some of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, which certainly made for restful sleep. My only quirk on the room was that it was small, and only one person could fit between the end of the bed and the desk, which ordinarily wouldn't be that big of a deal as not much time was spent in it except to sleep, but as I backed up photos every night to a laptop, someone was always moving out of the way to let another pass to get to the bathroom and back again, etc. Not a big deal, again you won't be in there too long if you are on all-day game drives. But a bit annoying at night, especially when you're tired and cranky! No way to change it though, the room really can't be configured in any other way, so just be aware of it when you go there.

Meals were served buffet and the food was plentiful and good. One small shortcoming was slow beverage service during dinner, especially when you've come back from an all day drive and came directly to dinner, you are very thirsty. But it seemed to me some staff members were still in training and inexperienced (as staffing was probably being increased for the busy migration season) and that should improve upon time as training continues, as with any new employees. Any issues were corrected as soon as a more senior staff member came by. The willingness was there and the attitude was very good, so it wasn't that they didn't want to do a good job, just need to hone their efficiency. Box breakfasts and lunches were requested to take with on game drive, they were ready on time as requested and very good, more food in each than we could eat!

Gift shop prices were fairly reasonable considering it's a hotel, the public areas were always clean and yes, we would go back again, and hopefully we will get a chance to go back again. We checked out and were onward to our next Serena lodge, Kilaguna Serena in West Tsavo (see separate review).

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #3, which was very close to the main lodge. Other rooms can be quite a walk up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Based on other experiences we expected this hotel to be in need of updating. This was definitely not the case. This hotel was an oasis of calm and serenity. The meals were buffet and all included. On the day we went out we ordered and received a lunch box. The whole stay was relaxing.

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views and none look over neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The views across the Masai Mara are breathtaking. Waking up to see elephants grazing peacefully from your bedroom balcony is magical. Executive Chef Anthony, Restaurant Manager Gamaliel and team couldn't do enough for our group to ensure our stay was extraordinary. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoMcLaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our third visit to the Mara Serena Lodge. We stayed for four nights in July and caught some spectacular wildebeest river crossings. I was startled on arrival,to see how the lodge had been enlarged. The renovations are great with an amazing glass fronted balcony on the cliff top facing the Mara River. However, the dining room now gets very noisy in the evenings due to the resonance from the vaulted ceilings, and some of the cozy intimate ambiance has been lost, even though the number of rooms remains the same. Rooms are small by Kenyan standards but furnished in quirky style with a nice seating area and balcony facing the river. We had rooms 61 and 62 which had uninterrupted views of the river. Highlight of the stay was a huge hippo grazing outside the window only a few feet from the window. The baboons are very aggressive and will try and come into your room if the windows are open. Never leave your room unattended with doors or windows open -they will trash the place! The food at the Mara Serena was the best of all the lodges that we stayed at, with some superb desserts. The only reason that I probably won't return is because it is easier to spot more diverse wildlife in some of the private conservancies such as Ol Pejeta, which is only a four hour drive from Nairobi, whereas Mara Serena is in the middle of the Mara Triangle and is about 6 hours from Nairobi by road, and the road turns to gravel after Narok, so you are well shaken up by the time you arrive!. We decided to fly back, as it only took 45 minutes, and the airstrip is a five minute drive from the hotel. Free Wifi throughout the property.

Room Tip: Rooms 61 and 62 have uninterrupted river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank queenofdrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Its like a den with a great location on a cliff overlooking the Maasai Mara, Mara River and the great Migration. A perfect resort to enjoy wild life without wasting any time. Great ambiance, great hospitality, great staff and kitchen crew. The restaurant serves great food and caters to all dietary requirements. Pool area is very nice with beautiful views.
All rooms are beautifully designed and very comfortable with great view.
You can see thousands & thousands of migrated animal assembling near the river during migration period. One of the best resort to feel the nature closely. Overall once in a lifetime experience …. We really enjoyed & loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank RajuSuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
23 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,089 reviews
16 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#17 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
866 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
571 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £222 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing