We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As a family of 3 we were lucky enough to stay here for 2 nights on a recent safari trip. We were amazed at the quality of this hotel on the edge of the Masai Mara. The rooms are in the style of Masai houses, mimicking mud huts. The decor inside is fits in with the general style of the hotel. From our balcony we had a great view of a water hole complete with animals using it! The family of dwarf mongoose who lived outside our room just topped it off! The staff were so friendly and helpful. When we arrived I felt a little unwell from the flight transfer, a lady at the hotel realised I was feeling unwell and gave me coos towels to bring my temperature down. That is priceless to me! Food fabulous, buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I had no idea such an amazing place existed!

Room Tip: We had an end room on the left side of apartments - fab views of water hole from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    253
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
274
305
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Charming staff with excellent service. Food is absolutely fabulous rooms were clean and everything was supper planned. Visit Mara Serena anytime, any property, as you are rest assured of quality service and value for your money

Room Tip: Unique rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simple_Sermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Mara Serena is beautiful and in a perfect location. The rooms are attractive and comfortable, with a nice sitting area in front of the window. The lodge may not have been fully booked while we were there, so the staff members were annoyingly attentive. We had the feeling that tips were expected for everything, and we blew through all of our Kenyan currency trying to keep up. The food was good, though after a few days it began to seem repetitive--except for the desserts, which were varied and exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently stayed at Mara Serena for 4 nights (had 3 rooms between 5 of us). We had elected to stay 4 nights to allow for time to see river crossing/migration and were not disappointed.

Rooms: clean with comfortable beds, mosquito nets every night although there were no mosquitoes. Room size is fine with a sitting area overlooking the plains. Some of the rooms were a bit of a walk from the lodge.

Food: included in room rate. Breakfast was excellent and lunch/dinner were good (buffet) with fair number of options including a pasta bar.

Hotel grounds: very clean and well done. Felt very welcome and can walk to both ends with a lookout. Pool small but inviting and pool area is very well done.

Location: excellent and close to river and we were able to see Wildebeast river crossing twice in 4 days that we were there, Views from the room and lodge are excellent and Mara triangle (area where lodge is) is awesome for game drives. We flew from Nairobi to Mara Serena and is the way to do it. We drove from Mara Serena to Nakuru and took us 2-3 hours to get to a paved road.

Game Drives: we did it with a private guide/driver via Vintage Africa and could not be more happy. Did not do a night drive (via lodge) and thought that $30 per person for a Nature walk at resort was too much money.

Overall: Excellent stay and staff at lodge exceedingly helpful. My uncle who was with us fell and they immediately summoned a doctor to see him and saw him again twice during our stay there.

Room Tip: Walking from rooms to the lodge is walking up and if you have difficulty walking or going up incline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hsanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As a tour operator i have sold Mara Serena Lodge to my clients for many years without having been there for a first hand experience . Off course i always got glorying comments about how beautiful the lodge is. I experienced this last week when i spend 5 nights at the Mara Serena lodge . From the Masai themed decor to the great location and excellent service , Mara Serena beats them all. Located on a hill that gives one vantage position to watch the plains of Maasai Mara and close enough to the Mara river from where we watched in fascination as the wildebeest made their migratory crossing from Serengeti into Masai Mara , this lodge is truly a gem. They have a great spa with a nice functional gym which i found really thoughtful and perfect .
The only things i noted is that they are very many idle staff ............not sure if this is a positive or a negative .......

Room Tip: The rooms are all great except for the long walk to the lounge and dining area if you are staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eunice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

my husband suprised me with a wknd getaway to the lodge I dont like going in parks am a beach and town person,but it was breath takin,friendly and knowledgeable stuff.I slept like ababy we went for a drive with our car.the food was okey,breafast had variety to choose from.I didn't see anything to complain about but if u want adventure or u wanna go talk to ur partner in a cool place wea she ll or he ll listen or just wanna spend undivided quality time together its the place to go.we ll be back every year its a pact made with hubby

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank belzo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We traveled as a family (2 adults, 1 child, 11-years old) and visited Kenya for 1 week in late July as arranged by Wild Eye.

Three nights were spent at Mara Serena. (We also visited two other Serena properties during our stay, Amboseli Serena and then Kilaguni Serena in West Tsavo. Separate reviews to be provided on each).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mara Serena and were lucky enough to experience an early start to the migration. We didn't really get to experience any of the lodge's facilities other than the restaurant as we were out all day on game drives during our stay. I did find the facility very clean and the staff very pleasant.

We didn't use the lodge's game drive services, as we had our own private guide and vehicle through Wild Eye, Sammy.

We stayed in Room #3, which was close to the main lodge (which we had requested a close room as we had read some rooms were quite a long walk up hill, which they are). The room had a beautiful view overlooking the Mara plains and river. The beds were some of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, which certainly made for restful sleep. My only quirk on the room was that it was small, and only one person could fit between the end of the bed and the desk, which ordinarily wouldn't be that big of a deal as not much time was spent in it except to sleep, but as I backed up photos every night to a laptop, someone was always moving out of the way to let another pass to get to the bathroom and back again, etc. Not a big deal, again you won't be in there too long if you are on all-day game drives. But a bit annoying at night, especially when you're tired and cranky! No way to change it though, the room really can't be configured in any other way, so just be aware of it when you go there.

Meals were served buffet and the food was plentiful and good. One small shortcoming was slow beverage service during dinner, especially when you've come back from an all day drive and came directly to dinner, you are very thirsty. But it seemed to me some staff members were still in training and inexperienced (as staffing was probably being increased for the busy migration season) and that should improve upon time as training continues, as with any new employees. Any issues were corrected as soon as a more senior staff member came by. The willingness was there and the attitude was very good, so it wasn't that they didn't want to do a good job, just need to hone their efficiency. Box breakfasts and lunches were requested to take with on game drive, they were ready on time as requested and very good, more food in each than we could eat!

Gift shop prices were fairly reasonable considering it's a hotel, the public areas were always clean and yes, we would go back again, and hopefully we will get a chance to go back again. We checked out and were onward to our next Serena lodge, Kilaguna Serena in West Tsavo (see separate review).

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #3, which was very close to the main lodge. Other rooms can be quite a walk up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
22.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
187 reviews
16.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
615 reviews
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing