We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We flew into Mara and were transferred to Intrepids very efficiently (beware though, you can end up being the last drop which meant we landed three times before our stop!).
The camp was good, accommodation very swish with interconnecting tents and large sitting area between. However the nets all had holes in, which wasn't encouraging! And my shower only got hot once. Evenings very cold, so take warm clothes - we had rain too - but it soon cleared up. Our driver was AMAZING and made the whole thing really brilliant - the boys were happy to get up at 6am to go on drives and they are teeneagers.
Food was ok, but we werent looking for gourmet on this leg of our trip - it was all about the wildlife. We came within a few feet of lions on several occasions - we'll never forget it. If you can, make sure you get there for the annual wildebeest migration - the game is incredible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Guest,
I am in receipt of your Guest Comments and I do thank you. Most obliged for the wonderful reviews. Have seen your comments on Holes in the Nets too which i will follow up and get corrected.
The Mara Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    110
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
238
311
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have just come back and recommend a stay here , The camp is very close to all animals we saw leopards cheetahs lions within ten minutes of leaving the camp. The tent is clean the service first class even get a hot water Bottle in your bed at night , and woken up early with hot chocolate first thing in the morning . i cant comment on the other guides/ drivers, but we had Denise who's knowledge was amazing , first thing he asked was what we would like to see that day , and he delivered every day be it a lion a birth what ever he did deliver .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithnahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Guest,
I have taken note of your wonderful reviews. I notice you had such good Bouquets for Dennis and I have happily advised him.
We all look forward to your future visits.
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We went to Mara Intrepids in September 2011. It's amazing place with 5* guest service, tents, food and game drives!
We got the best tent in a camp (tent nr. 26). Amazing view to Talek river and wildlife. It's was very good location for sun downer.
Tent - modern, clean, comfortable.
Restaurant - 5*. Amazing food and caring staff. Perfect choice of wines!
Game drive - our first visit of Masai Mara was in June 2011. So this time we has known what we really want to see. We got Big 5 in a first two game drives. Leopard was just 2 min drive from our camp, saw him many times during our 4 nights stay.

it's amazing place! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Best tent nr. 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Alex0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Guest,
It gives me great pleasure to read this wonderful review. Our policy in the Mara is "MAD". Making a difference. We are glad we made to difference to your experiences.
Good Day
The Mara Intrepids Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Never have I seen the delivery of service this flawless. The concept of "assigning" a game driver, a waiter, and a room attendant to a "party"(or group) is brilliant. This approach to service creates a strong relationship between the guests and the employees of Mara Intrepids. It was not uncommon to observe guests hugging their game drivers and waiters on the last day of a trip.
The area is stunning, and the abundance of animals is staggering. Mara Intrepids made this possible by providing three game drives a day. All other aspects of this place was above expectation.
This trip will be remembered forever.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Guest,
We are happy you had a nice experience in the Mara. Our most important asset are the People and we are elated they served you well.
I have sent your comments on our Wall of Fame for all the Associates to see.
Thank you for making it Mara Intrepids.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Mara Intrepids is a wonderful camp that we highly recommend. This was our first safari and it couldn't have been better. The staff was wonderful and catered to our every need, going above and beyond. Everyone is very helpful and friendly, always smiling. The food was fantastic. The dining staff (most notably John, Francis, Samuel, and George) was great. The tents were well-appointed and very comfortable. Great shower, toilet, sink; comfortable bed with mosquito-netting (although we never saw one mosquito our whole time there). The game drives went beyond our expectations. The guides are very knowledgable about wildlife behavior and the particular animals that live in the area. Our guide, Dennis, not only showed us every animal we wanted to see, he also taught us a lot about the area, animal behavior, and about the Masai people. We even learned some Swahili from him. It was like being in our own National Geographic film. The Masai Mara is a magical place and this was a life-changing trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback. I was the Manager of Mara between 1993 and 1997. I have since moved on to oversee the Operations of the whole Heritage Group of which Mara is part of.
My moments of rejoicing have been to see that most of the things we put in place right from early 1980s when Unit was started have been retained and improved on. These include an Awesome Game View Experience, Good Food, Hospitable Staff and making the place a Haven of Rest.
I am so glad this is your testimony too
I have shared these comments with my colleagues Dennis, Francis and the others you have mentioned. It is such Joy for all of us to have contributed to your comfort.
We thank you and wish you all well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at Mara intrepids for 3 nights whilst on safari. The accomodation is in luxury tents overlooking the Talek River. The tents are quite large with a lovely comfortable bed and an ensuite of double hand basins, shower and toilet. There is also a platform at the front of the tent with seats to enjoy the view .Breakfast and lunch is held in the garden amongst the trees and the evening meal is in a covered area. We were visited by Masai dancers in the evening and some of the guests joined in with them The food was very good and all the staff were excellent . After dinner a guard took us to our tent . Our early morning call was a staff member bringing hot chocolate and coffee before we went on our early morning drive returning back to Intrepids about 9am for breakfast. The shop at Mara Intrepids has a very good range of goods including Masai blankets. .A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thanks for feeding the stream with your Feedback. I have taken note of all the wonderful Bouquets and these will be shared with the Team.
Mara Intrepids aspires to be the best place ever to be within this part of the World and your feedback is invaluable in helping us reach this standards.
Keep watching this page as we address all issues that keep arising and sustain and maintain the Good ones.
Good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I have just returned from our second visit to Mara Intrepids (we were there in July last year).
Once again we were looked after superbly - the luxury tents are extremely comfortable, the food is superb nad the game drives revealed the amazing variety of game and wildlife that are present on the Mara.
All the staff were charming and halpful, ensuring that our every need was met.
The proximity to Olkiombo airstrip is also a bonus as no time is wasted with transfers.
We recommend Mara Intrepids without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Guests,
We are Glad you enjoyed every moment of your stay at the Mara Intrepids. You are correct we are two minutes drive from the Airstrip and so within a short time you can freshen up and waste no time in starting your adventures. We are also right in the Middle of the Reserve and in place least populated by Vehicles but with awesome numbers of Animals.
We are happy you have been here before and we can gladly refer to you as Family.
WE all look forward to having you again soon. You may know that on your subsequent visits you will benefit from some wonderful additions on the House like a Bush Breakfast, Free Bird Walk in the Unit and the Like.
The Mara Family says "Ashe Oleng" meaning thanks so much.
Good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#25 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
314 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
922 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#29 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
603 reviews
23.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing