We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the Intrepid Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

During our three week safari, I thought my travel mate might like to experience what I call an American camp. Although Mara Intrepids is Kenyan owned, it is geared towards large groups and safari travelers on their first trip to Kenya. It is large, unwieldly, commercial and perfect for many travelers. The food is passable, the tents are lovely as are the employees, but, I don't care for a huge noisy dining area, a tent which opens into my neighbors zipper and drivers who must follow strict guidelines dictating where they should go and how far is too far.
If you are off on your first safari and you would like to have the comforts of the familiar you would probably be very happy here. If you are looking for a bit of adventure, the sounds of the African night and quiet afternoons, you would be happier in a smaller camp.

Room Tip: The further you are from the dining/bar area the quieter it will be. Request an area that does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Nzuki, Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Let me take the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you. I have noted that you loved the tents and the staff only that the big numbers was not to your expectations and especially being not a first time guest. We have our sister come Mara Explorer which is an exclusive camp, 5 minutes drive from the Intrepid and am sure this will fit your safari experience
Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Last month I took my family to Kenya for a holiday of a life time to see the Great Migration. Mara Intrepids was at the centre of our plans and we could not have asked for better service or quality of accommodation. We were royally looked after from the moment that we arrived and every effort made to ensure we had the best possible experience. Intrepids is ideally placed to make the most of the Mara, 5* comfort and lots of little details to make it memorable. We loved the fire pit, the quality evening talks and the quirky rope bridge. My daughter loved being woken each morning for the early game drive with a cup of hot chocolate, but each to their own!

Thank you all so much for making the experience so memorable.

Room Tip: The hotel is well worth spending some time in - you will be going for the game drives, but if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeterM915R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Nzuki, Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was such a pleasure to host you. We are honored that the whole family enjoyed the stay and especially the morning wake up for your daughter.
Kindly pass our greetings plus a big Jambo and will be looking forward to host you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I loved the illusion of being in darkest Africa at the time of the first explorers. You could sit at the writing desk filling on your journal and imagine that you were walking in the steps of David Livingstone. However, the electric fence that keeps the troublesome lions and elephants outside the hotel grounds and the flush toilet, twin hand basins and a large shower and hot water within your tent are luxuries not enjoyed by the early explorers. The chef, Maurice, although African, adds a Parisian ambiance to the unbelievably delicious meals of six courses.

One word of caution, although I had assumed that we had paid for an driver to ourselves (and had a dedicated driver in the other hotels we visited on this trip), we had to share our safaris at this hotel. Unfortunately, the people we shared with were loud, aggressive and racist and made the whole safari time miserable. I suggest that if this happens to you, don't tolerate such behavior. We should have asked to have a driver to ourselves or to join another group, our reluctance to make a fuss resulted in us having a terrible time. The driver didn't even turn up to take us to the airport, as he was out driving the aggressive people around. Great place, shame about our experience there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank FayStenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Nzuki, Manager at Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Jambo from Mara!!

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was such a pleasure to host you. Thank you for the comment and we have noted that Maurice the Chef did magic with the food. Such performance can not pass the management unrewarded. I have personally appreciated the team and Maurice in particular. Let me take the opportunity to apologize for the unfortunate safari experience. As you mentioned, we would have picked it up and would have transferred you to a different jeep. Sorry about this but the team will be looking forward to host you again and am sure this will not be repeated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our first Safari, but it was alredy perfect. The tent had a wonderful interior design, the service was so friendly and spiked with little surprizes (like being woken up with coffee and tea). For the safari we had our own car and our guide adjusted the tours exactly to our needs (thank you Simon and Lucas!). The evening dinners were fabulous. We'd go back anytime. (K & R, Switzerland)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Intrepids location on banks of Talek is ideal, with access to both sides of the river. Almost all tents are located along the river bank to enjoy views of crocs/hippos, but from safe distance and fenced compound! Tents are comfortable and luxurious. Best part is the service provided by everyone, from the person taking care of the tent to the driver/guide of the vehicle to the chef/cooks to the manager. Staff is flexible and food is excellent. We stayed for 6 days and had one of the most memorable trips to Mara (since 1981) having seen so much game including the big five plus 1 hour of wilder beast/zebra crossing of Mara river, serval cat, cheetahs. Intrepids has a well located watch tower within the compound, a must for either sunrise or sunset visit. This is our 4th visit at Intrepids and plan to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent along the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Mara Intrepids is a beautiful property with excellent staff and guides. Our guide, John, not only has years of experience but is also respectful to others and the environment. He's knowledgeable about the animals and the people. Our tent was perfect, we even had heated water bottles placed in our beds each night. And the restaurant service was impeccable. And make sure you make it to Chief's evening talks. He is a very insightful man with stories I'm sure you'll enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent next to the river, an opportunity for some additional sightings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFrances_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Intrepids Luxury Tent Camp was the highlight of my 3 month stay in Kenya. Delicious food, attentive staff, gorgeous, luxurious tents and a high adventure, "saw the Big 5 and a Crossing" safari!
John was our Safari guide and he had 12 years of experience. Alex was our Maasai guide and helped spot every animal on our list. Be sure to do a "long" safari in the morning...you leave at 6:30am, they prepare a boxed breakfast for you, you eat your breakfast in the mara and then return around noon. Pack sunscreen, bug spray and a light scarf to keep the flies away.
Be sure to bring money for gratuity...the staff is so wonderful and attentive, you will want to reward them for their outstanding customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent near the river for even more animal sightings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,067 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,059 reviews
9.4 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#38 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
335 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
961 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £353 - £875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing