We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in to another world”
Review of Kicheche Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kicheche Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“in to another world”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

the location is superb where else can you sit on your tent veranda and watch the wild life go by.
the game drives are an experience we shall never forget watching lions feeding only meters away, the knowledge of the Masai guides is second to none.
Colin and Sammy run an excellent camp which is a luxurious way to see wild life in its natural settings

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
140
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Thank goodness we were able to visit prior to the fire at Nairobi Airport! I would not have missed this spot for anything less! Great hosts and staff, superb food and the best guides around made this game viewing location a dream for our group. Hot water bottles in bed and under the blankets for early mornings and cool evenings were just delightful touches. And how they manage to get the laundry clean and dry in that environment makes my head spin! Personal service at the highest level, beautiful fresh grown local vegetables and herbs straight from the garden, what a great set-up for a moveable camp!!! Would certainly consider another visit, possibly just a week or two either side of our dates on this occasion (first week in July).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oman
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Cannot recommend this camp highly enough. Our hosts Sammie and Colin were an absolute delight, the staff were super friendly and helpful, food and drink fantastic. Everything is so well thought out and delivered with assurance and a smile.

In just 3 days we saw Lions with cubs, Leopards, Cheetahs, Elephants, 2 types of Giraffes, Zebras, Wildebeast, Rhinos, Buffalo, Hippos, Crocodiles, Hyenas, Jackals, Monkeys, Babboons, many types of Antelopes, Dik Diks, Water Buck, the list is simply endless!

When we booked the holiday, the daily rate for the camp seemed awfully high and we weren't sure if we'd done the right thing. Having now experienced the camp, we can honestly say it was worth every penny. I wish we'd been able to stay longer. 5 nights would have been sublime.

We felt spoilt beyond belief. You will too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Kicheche Mara Camp in 3 years, returning to a different location than before. It's a fantastic location with beautiful views. As per our previous visit, our hosts were extremely welcoming, all the staff remember your first name, asking for your choice of sundowner drinks, time to be woken up with hot drinks for your early morning safari drive.

Talking of safari drives, we were not disappointed this time. We saw everything from Cheetahs taking a young gazelle to Lions mating, and a whole pride eating their way through a buffalo. Elephants, buffalo, hyenas and leopards all seen too! Our guide, George was enthusiastic and very knowledgable, understood where to go to get great photos for perfect sunrise and sunsets and took some great photos also. Nothing was too much trouble for him.

Kicheche make you feel welcome and part of a family, with personal service to match. We also made some new friends which is part of the intimate setting of the camp and dinner table.

Our son, Oliver (15) was again entranced by the whole experience and loved improving his photography skills during our time there.

We'd recommend Kicheche wholeheartedly to anyone who likes a "get away from it" holiday, close to nature, with a great level of service and comfort but without the fuss and crowds of the bigger lodges. Thanks for another perfect time.

Hilary, Oliver and Andrew Gerrard

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was my first real safari, but this place was amazing. We stayed in a beautiful tent which was as nice as nearly any hotel room I've ever seen, with views of zebra and antelope grazing just yards away. Colin and Sammie were super nice hosts, helping us plan our next trip, offering us their private internet when we needed it, and even showing up at the airstrip with beers and wine, a 40 minute drive from the camp, when our departure plane was late. Our guide Joseph was excellent as well, knowing everything we could possibly have wanted to know about every plant and animal we saw, and seeming to be able to find any animal we asked for. We saw elephants, giraffes, lions, cheetahs, hippos, and hyenas as well as hundreds of wildebeest, zebra, and antelope everywhere. The food was great too. Highly recommend it. It is also in the Mara North Conservancy, which we hadn't known is less crowded than the main park. We rarely had more than 2 other cars show up at any viewing point (except when we went into the main park to see the wildebeest river crossing).

Room Tip: Go see the rhino sanctuary and the maasai cattle market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nateheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We went as a family of 5 with very high hopes and expectations. Not only were we not disappointed but Kicheche Mara was even better than we could have ever imagined. Jimmy the guide was sensational, knowledgeable, kind, friendly with an excellent sense of humour. Food was delicious, whether in the camp or on picnic. Sammy and Colin were unbelievably welcoming hosts and were all the staff. Goodness knows how they do it but every day was better than the last. They are outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a great stay at Kicheche Mara in August 2013. It was a family trip (two girls - 12 and 15) and we all had a great time. The wildlife and scenery were great and we saw all we could have hoped for...really, three kills on our first game drive! Our hosts and the kitchen did a great job adapting the food for kids meals and the lounge tent next to the dining area was a great area to relax and enjoy a drink. The entire staff was excellent. Our "family tent" was a bit cramped with three beds and only one sink - it was not at the same level as the family tent in the Kicheche Laikipia camp. And the hosts certainly know that the bucket showers need to be improved upon...they indicated that a feasibility study is underway to look at installing more solar panels to heat water. Our driver/guide was obviously very experienced and while he did a GREAT job - even out maneuvering 95% of the other drivers at the Mara river crossing - it was clear that he was just on auto-pilot (or cell phone) at times. But the camp site was great, with a truly spectacular "front yard." Nothing like waking up to a view of zebra, baboons, impala, wildebeast, etc. (And no, the baboons don't bother the tents at all). Definitely recommended, provided you are OK with bucket showers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 103BruceX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Kicheche Valley Camp
Kicheche Valley Camp
#57 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#5 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#44 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elephant Pepper Camp
Elephant Pepper Camp
#37 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#73 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#23 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Mara Camp

Property: Kicheche Mara Camp
Address: Acacia valley, Mara North Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Kicheche Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bush hideaway welcomes you to a different world, centered at the heart of the African wilderness. Experiencing a traditional luxury camp is a must on safari and, with Kicheche, one that is intimate, secluded and in an area surrounded by prolific wildlife. Staying in a bush camp doesn't mean compromising on comfort, the food and service are first class, as are the warmth and experience of Kicheche's staff making your safari an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing