We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I have been all over the world and what separates one place from the next is the host. There is beauty and awesome sites everywhere but the people who take care of you and the hospitality they provide is what makes the difference. Nomadic encounters offered an amazing experience that was welcoming, fascinating and affordable.nand our guide and host, salaash, was one of most interesting, intelligent and kind people we have ever met. Book nomadic encounters for your next trip. By the way, this is the first review I have ever written...I feel that nomadic encounters deserved the good words!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you're looking for and they will set you up with whatever best matches your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at the Topi House for two nights (we wanted to stay longer but they were already booked). This place is incredible! The food was delicious. The accommodations were five star. The property is quiet, private, and peaceful and the surrounding scenery is breathtaking. The staff was friendly, welcoming, and dedicated to making us feel comfortable during our entire stay. Our guide Salaash took us on some amazing game drives throughout the Mara. His extensive knowledge of the Mara as well as his quick wit kept us engaged and entertained the entire time. Nothing but rave reviews for Topi House! I hope we get to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We warmed up at Emakoko Lodge in Nairobi but were blown away with our stay at Topi House in Maasai Mara. Our guide and host Salaash and spotter Loli greeted us with such enthusiasm at airstrip. When asked how far a drive to Topi House, Salaash said 1-24 hours and he meant it. Their radar is always up and how sensitive and accurate it is. Our 2 days with them was jam packed with seeing, learning, laughing, eating both at Topi House and in the Bush. Leonard is the best chef and even hand wrote some recipes that we loved. I think he should make a cook book. The staff at Topi took the best care of us. What great people. Topi House was so comfortable and in a gorgeous setting. Wish we could have stayed longer. The wildebeest migration was beyond what we could have imagined.We saw a crossing fraught with crocidiles sunning on the rocks. We saw lioness drag a kill into the bush and leave to return with her 2 cubs. Salaash called it play by play. We had many highlights on our 2 week safari but we remember most fondly our friends, Salaash, Loli and staff with Nomadic Encounters at Topi House.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom house for 6+ people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have been to Acacia House and Topi House (two different years). The staff is excellent and Salaash and the guides are the best we have encountered in our many trips to Africa. Food is great and the houses are wonderful and are right out in the wilderness with game coming by. You have the whole house to yourself and whomever you have traveled with and your own driver and guide as well. We came back the second time and are booked for a third and fourth!

Acacia House has a pool and a water hole. Topi House is right on the edge of the Mara with quick access to one of the most wonderful parks in the world. With both houses you also have your own vehicle and guide. ( excellent for photographers).

We travel a lot for photography for our website and have been in 27 countries. This is by far our favorite place and we have had great experiences with the wildlife.

Room Tip: You have the whole house to yourself so you can choose your own room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

From the minute we stepped off of the plane and were met by our guides, Jackson and Fred, it was one exciting adventure after another. They were so enthsiastic and shared so much with us. The safaris were unbelievable! The excitement of following leopards and seeing lions was such a thrill. The Mara and Acacia Houses were beautiful homes where we were treated royally by the staff. Thanks to Jackson and Fred and all those that welcomed us into their world.
Captain Phil and Linda Allen

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaLouAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have taken groups to Mara and Acacia house for the last couple of years. Both of the houses are 5 star quality. All of the bedrooms are very spacious with plenty of room in each one. The bathrooms also are large. The use of natural wood in the architecture gives a very cozy feel to both houses.

The loft bedroom in Acacia house is great for kids.

Both houses have a very nice, large front porch overlooking a waterhole where animals come often to drink.

Now - the staff - I really don't know where to start. I have traveled all over the world and can't say I have ever had better or more friendly service. Evelyn is a fantastic chef and the food is out of this world. It isn't overly gourmet or too fancy or over the top, but is cooked perfectly and seasoned well. Everything was extremely fresh - especially the fruits and vegetables. Dennis and Wilson will look after your every desire in the house. They are always ready with a smile to cater to whatever need arises! They even figured out a way to cut off my suitcase lock that i accidentally closed with the key locked inside my suitcase!!

Jackson and Fred - if there is a better team of guides anywhere in Africa, I would be surprised. Both of them have extensive knowledge of the area and bush and a sixth sense of what is going on with the animals.

While there are endless options of camps in the Mara - this is always the favorite of the group! Definitely a 5 start experience all the way!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aowens68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have been lucky enough to spend time with Bush Encounters - staying at all three properties Mara , Topi and Acacia Houses and experience a tented safari. They are superb. What betterr than to have a House of your own in one of the finest wildlife areas in the world ? Looked after by excellent staff .. Every comfort ...The guides are the best guides in Africa (not only do they get ypu in the right places at the right time but they are immensely knowledgeable and great to be with) We are returning next week for the 3rd time !

Room Tip: All three "houses" are located in great game viewing areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank journeysderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
43.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
533 reviews
73 mi away
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Brans...
#35 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
51.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.7 mi away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
327 reviews
49.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,102 reviews
30.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Nomadic Encounters)
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £1,005 - £1,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience total freedom in your own bush house in the heart of the Maasai Mara conservancies. Animals stroll right past the front doors of all three of these private sanctuaries, and you have total freedom to set the pace of your own safari escape. Mara, Acacia and Topi houses are all seriously comfortable – although there is no resident host, a full complement of staff takes care of your every need. Each house accommodates six people in three double rooms, so they are ideal for couples, families and groups. Even better, you have the freedom to personally design your own itinerary. With detailed personal service, home-from-home hospitality and unequalled wildlife expertise, a safari at Mara Bush Houses is a unique and exclusive adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing