We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most beautiful spots we have ever been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkel, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the most beautiful spots we have ever been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We are a family of 4 and we spent a few days at Acacia House / Nomadic Encounters.
We loved every moment of it. The house is located just in front of a waterhole where zebras and buffaloes came and drank while we were sitting on our veranda surrounded by wild sage and olive trees. The entire house is fabulously designed, olive tree wood is used throughout the builiding.
Our guide Fred was terrific and we had the most wonderful time with Dennis and the whole team of Acacia House who made our stay unforgettable.
Not to forget the food - it was delicious.
We definitely want to come back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 734loup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanyuki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Heaven..... Fantastic staff, amazing food, lovely houses, swimming pool and to top it all off the most brilliant game viewing right there from your own house in the middle of th Masai Mara! The children spent hours in the pool, games drives and walking with the Masai listening to story after story. A very special experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TL891642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We spent six fantastic days on Safari with Nomadic Encounters, staying at Acacia House which is located in the Mara North Conservancy.

Firstly, the house itself was great. We stayed as a couple but it can comfortably take six adult guests. Both the service, accomodation and location are second to none. The house is situated in front of a waterhole and we saw Elephants (twice), Buffalo (twice), Zebra, Impala and hogs from the comfort of our own veranda.

What made our holiday unforgettable was the game drives. Jackson and Mbutinga were incredible guides - we saw everything including four different Lepoards!

We cannot recommend Nomadic Encounters highly enough. My wife cried when we waved goodbye to the team on the plane which probably says it all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon-Brenda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I have never felt more at home than I did at the Topi House. Absolutely beautiful setting, great sunsets by the fire, fantastic food, lots of humor. House was immaculately clean. The staff, who I can't all name, we so solicitous - whatever we needed or thought we wanted, they made sure we had it. Leonard was a suburb chief! He really needs to put together a cookbook. He spent hours hand writing receipes for me. Our host Salaash and his right hand man, Loli, were just fantastic. Salaash knows the Mara like the back of his hand. A fantastic guide and person. I hope to return and when I do, the Topi House is my #1.

Room Tip: all the rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our third trip together to the Mara and we stayed at Topi and Acacia House. My husband is confined to a wheelchair and we couldn't have asked for more in terms of accommodating his needs. Very personal and individual attention, spectacular guides and facilities. First class treatment as soon as you touch down, lots of little touches that make it very special, such as being greeted immediately you step out of the vehicle after a safari with a cooling hand towel and light refreshments. The wildlife is all around you and the guides are so knowledgeable - you get the whole experience and time to savour it at your pace, doing what you want to do, when you want to do it, but equally if you can't make up your mind or know what there is to do, they will plan or suggest the day's itinery for you. Luxury accommodation and attention by all the team of staff, the food was unbelievable (and lots of it) - afternoon tea and cakes on the veranda at Acacia House watching the water hole to see what might appear - you dream of these things, but it was real. A chance to see the real Kenya and its friendly people. A very private and personal experience of the Mara shared with lovely people.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I have been all over the world and what separates one place from the next is the host. There is beauty and awesome sites everywhere but the people who take care of you and the hospitality they provide is what makes the difference. Nomadic encounters offered an amazing experience that was welcoming, fascinating and affordable.nand our guide and host, salaash, was one of most interesting, intelligent and kind people we have ever met. Book nomadic encounters for your next trip. By the way, this is the first review I have ever written...I feel that nomadic encounters deserved the good words!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you're looking for and they will set you up with whatever best matches your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at the Topi House for two nights (we wanted to stay longer but they were already booked). This place is incredible! The food was delicious. The accommodations were five star. The property is quiet, private, and peaceful and the surrounding scenery is breathtaking. The staff was friendly, welcoming, and dedicated to making us feel comfortable during our entire stay. Our guide Salaash took us on some amazing game drives throughout the Mara. His extensive knowledge of the Mara as well as his quick wit kept us engaged and entertained the entire time. Nothing but rave reviews for Topi House! I hope we get to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
45.7 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#5 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
32.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
50.3 mi away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#93 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
JK Mara Camp
JK Mara Camp
#110 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oltome Resorts
Oltome Resorts
#74 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Property: Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Nomadic Encounters)
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience total freedom in your own bush house in the heart of the Maasai Mara conservancies. Animals stroll right past the front doors of all three of these private sanctuaries, and you have total freedom to set the pace of your own safari escape. Mara, Acacia and Topi houses are all seriously comfortable – although there is no resident host, a full complement of staff takes care of your every need. Each house accommodates six people in three double rooms, so they are ideal for couples, families and groups. Even better, you have the freedom to personally design your own itinerary. With detailed personal service, home-from-home hospitality and unequalled wildlife expertise, a safari at Mara Bush Houses is a unique and exclusive adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing