We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child Friendly Safari”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Mara Bush House for 3 night with our 3 year old girl and our friends with 2 small children. We were a bit anxious to take our daughter to East Africa on a safari but we had the most amazing time. The house was stunning with a waterhole in front of the house and a nice big pool. The Masai staff was just so friendly and professional and the food was all very delicious. The staff played with the kids all the time and even taught them how to use bow and arrow. Our guide Fred was just the best. He taught the children so many things while driving around and seeing all the animals. And distracted them when they got tired or over enthusiastic when they had to sit calm. It was just perfect! A great family experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our Mara Bush House experience was amazing, the hosts during our stay included Fred, Duncan, Eleanor and Dickson, our Safari Guide. The accommodation, food, service and Safari could not have been better. This was our first Safari, it won't be our last! We felt like family every day, all day! This holiday was truly one that we will never forget, loved our time on the mountain for sundowners.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the watering hole that offered an amazing view of animals coming in for water. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillieAiredale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at Acacia House and it quickly felt like our home away from home ... except with wonderful staff & amazing wildlife! The accommodation was simply superb, the food exceptional and the staff made us feel like kings & queens. Salaash was simply the most fantastic guide - we learned so much, saw so much wildlife and laughed so hard each day we were out with him. Highlights were our bush picnics, the drive to the 7,000 foot pub & the rewarding sunset, the visit to Aitong market and waiting for our leopard! It was so magical to sit on our porch, watching the animals come to the waterhole, playing our fierce card games while sipping our drinks. Memories to last a lifetime have been made and we can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: They are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcherGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

we have just returned from our third trip to Mara bush houses.This time we spent 3 weeks between Acacia and Topi.They really are a home from home and at a very high standard.The staff cannot do enough for you , without being intrusive.
Needless to say our guide Salaash was fantastic,not just sightings but knowledge and he was prepared to go out all day with us every day!!!
We had some unforgettable experiences,Yes!! the cheetah killing ,eating under the vehicle, then jumping onto the open roof to look for more.The 4 week old leopard cub.The hunting serval,
The teenage elephant who wanted to see just what we kept in the vehicle!!!Hyenas bringing down then eating a zebra.This is just a sample!!
We have re-booked already for next year.

Room Tip: Just go, the house is yours and your family.No-one else is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelgalletly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have just come back from a stay at Topi House and we were very impressed again. The whole team at Topi House made us feel very special and were extremely helpful and friendly. The accommodation is first rate and the food exceptional. Our guide Fred was very knowledgeable and we saw a vast amount of wildlife including lions, cheetahs, leopards, elephants and many more. One of favourites was the banded mongoose, which we had never got close to before. Even saw migrating pelicans. If you want something special then go to Topi House.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a great six night stay at Asilia's Topi House (third time for us) this February 2014.. The staff is superb. Many thanks to the world's greatest guide Salaash and the staff - Nabaala, Leonard and James for a perfect visit. Food, service and guiding were great and the house is wonderful. You are right out in the wilderness with game nearby. You have the whole house to yourself and whomever you have traveled with and your own driver/guide as well. We came back the third time and are booked for a fourth next year!

Topi House is right on the edge of the Maasai Mara with quick access to one of the most wonderful reserves in the world. With Topi House and the other two Asilia Bush Houses in Mara North Conservancy you also have your own vehicle and guide. (excellent for photographers). We travel a great deal for photography and have been in 27 countries. This is by far our favorite place and we always have new and great experiences in the bush. If you want some privacy and a way to "do your own schedule and your own thing" these houses are for you as you can set your own schedule. Sometimes we are out all day - sometimes we come back for lunch. You do not have that luxury with most other camps with shared vehicles and set schedules for the groups.

One thing we loved are the hot water bottles in the vehicle (and in the room) - not only for warmth but good lumbar support for our older backs. Another nice touch is the greeting after the drive with hot/cold (depending on the weather) eucalyptus fragranced towels.

Room Tip: Room Tip: You have the whole house to yourself so you can choose your own room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

5 stars. We are an adoptive family with 3 children from Kenya & Ethiopia who lived/worked in Kenya for a year back in 2000. This was the highlight of our 3 week adventure. The staff/ accommodations / food/ location was beyond our expectations. Fred (our guide), along with our house staff made us feel like family....that is...royal family. Elephants came to the watering hole on several occasions. We saw lions 4 different times. Fred spotted a Topi that had been born minutes before. And who can forget the lounging cheeta resting in the shade of the acacia tree. We had the pleasure to spend time at a village where our daughters played and sang with the local children. Oh, and the pool was an additional blessing. We were spoiled....3 course meals, chai, homemade sweets, evening fires, warm water bottles in your beds. The Mara Bush Houses are our new favorite place on earth!

Room Tip: The Acacia house with the upstairs loft was ideal for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
43.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
525 reviews
45.6 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#3 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
357 reviews
32.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
301 reviews
51.9 mi away
Spirit of the Masai Mara
Spirit of the Masai Mara
#48 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
67 reviews
23.4 mi away
Sentinel Mara Camp
Sentinel Mara Camp
#28 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa

Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Nomadic Encounters)
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £1,055 - £1,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience total freedom in your own bush house in the heart of the Maasai Mara conservancies. Animals stroll right past the front doors of all three of these private sanctuaries, and you have total freedom to set the pace of your own safari escape. Mara, Acacia and Topi houses are all seriously comfortable – although there is no resident host, a full complement of staff takes care of your every need. Each house accommodates six people in three double rooms, so they are ideal for couples, families and groups. Even better, you have the freedom to personally design your own itinerary. With detailed personal service, home-from-home hospitality and unequalled wildlife expertise, a safari at Mara Bush Houses is a unique and exclusive adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bush Houses, Asilia Africa Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing