We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience thanks to the most friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olowuaru Keri Mara Camp
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience thanks to the most friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the camp last November. Choosing a place to stay in or around Maasai Mara is not an easy business but our Nairobi-based friends, who had picked this one for us, made an excellent choice. At first we were a bit surprised to be the only clients but it turned out to be a very good thing. The very friendly staff pampered us and was very responsive to our requests - in particular to get to try more local dishes - although they insisted that we should have a (too) wide choice at every meal.
The camp is quietly located on the banks of a (small) river and the tents are all along the river, quite far from each other. It's a 10 minute drive to the entrance of the park, which is OK and actually interesting as there are several Maasai villages on the way - a striking contrast with the park, which is devoid of any permanent human presence.
Tents are very large and comfortable, with excellent beds. The bathroom is huge and almost "too comfortable". We would have welcomed a more exotic or rustic touch there (though permanent hot water is of course nice to have. The same goes for small details in the rooms (the plastic bins could be replaced by something nicer and more local).
One more remark: The camp being quite new, there was no accommodation (yet) for our guide/driver, which was a pity.
Overall, we really had a great stay and would definitely recommend the place as a rare thing: A reasonably-priced, yet friendly and very comfortable, camp at the gates of the amazing Maasai Mara.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillaume D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Our family stayed 3 nights in September.Room was nice.Only room was....

It was hot day, at lunch, we ordered cold beer. Staff said "Manager go to city now, so I can't open refrigerator”. We drunk our ownwarm bottled water taking from our room. But, We saw the manager in the garden 5 minutes later.Staff told a lie.

Amount of food was very few.
At buffet dinner, no food was lef, there was not supply.
Food of breakfast was all cold.
Last day, We took supper at other lodge!

After checking out, manager apologized us , and said to send discount ticket by Email .
Email doesn't come yet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aco1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at the camp for three nights from 22nd - 24th Oct 2012 and had a great experience. The tents are large, clean and well maintained. Food was excellent - quality food and lots of vegetarian options. A very hospitable staff and we were taken care of really well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anupama R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Our stay at Olowuaru Keri was amazing! The accommodations were incredibly comfortable- hot water, a warm bed, and a clean room. The lodges are spread out so it feels very secluded and private. The staff is absolutely incredible and did everything possible to make our trip as enjoyable as possible. They are so knowledgeable about the animals and willing to share aspects of their culture. The food was great and the staff was so friendly. This camp is a MUST if visiting the Mara.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumford, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We recently visited masai mara olowuaru camp during our trip to kenya and south Africa..We were group of 18 people.If someone wants to unwind and rejuvanate this is the place.we spent 2 nights at the camp.wish we had atleast couple more nights.The staff went above and beyond call of duty to make our stay safe and enjoyable.especially catering to majority of our strict vegetarian group members.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prav401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We had the most spectacular 3 nights in the Masai Mara, all thanks to Olowuaru Keri Mara Camp. What an amazing experience we had when we saw the leopard across the banks of the river, right in front of our tent WOW!!! The Staff, Service, Food and private intimacy of the camp was unparallel to none. I would highly recommend the camp to all. Thanks for the great experience, and were already booked in for our trip back here in December, can't wait to get back !!! see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanna20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We had an amazing stay at the Oluwuaru Keri Mara Caml. We had the family tent and it was large and spacious with superb ambiance. The staff were wonderful and were extremely friendly and accommodating to all our needs. It was a perfect end to our two week holiday to Kenya. We saw the big 5 and did a balloon ride where we landed in the midst of migrating wilder beasts followed by a champagne breakfast on the bank of Mara river! We had a Masai warrior as our personal escort in the night !!! It was easily one of the best resorts that we have stayed in Kenya. We highly recommend it to everyone going to Mara.

Room Tip: If you are a family with children you can choose one of the large family rooms. The tents are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anju A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oltome Resorts
Oltome Resorts
#74 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#76 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olowuaru Keri Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olowuaru Keri Mara Camp

Property: Olowuaru Keri Mara Camp
Address: Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olowuaru Keri Mara Camp is a private luxury tented camp that has 10 river facing tents each with an en suite bathroom. Each tent is well spaced within the camp with a balcony that offers views of the Masai Mara plains and the Talek river. The camp is easily accessible throughout the year via road and air. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olowuaru Keri Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing