We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$3,040
View deal
Hotels.com
US$3,040
View deal
Booking.com
US$2,888
View deal
PricelineUS$3,040
CheapTicketsUS$3,040
Orbitz.comUS$3,040
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
236
22
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
236
22
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives overlooking the valley safari experience our waiter olare motorogi conservancy masai mara jaw dropping bubble bath experienced guide the general manager breakfast in the bush every meal fantastic trip soups incredible place dining area cheetah kill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2019

This amazing adventure started from the moment we stepped off the plane where we were welcomed with a glass of champagne. The drive from the airstrip to camp feels like a mini game drive due to the number of animals that you see. Upon arrival at camp, we were greeted by a stunning view over the valley.

The accommodation was lovely, the “tents” were spacious and well equipped, with breath taking views from the bathtub and the deck. We often saw animals passing by in the valley below us.

The food is fantastic, everything we had was delicious and there is a well stocked open bar, although the staff are always available to serve you.

All the team at Mahali Mzuri are friendly and welcoming. A special thanks to John, our game driver, who ensured that we got to see all the animals and their cubs during our stay, along with a couple of kills and educated us on the animal’s behaviours but beyond his expertise he simply made our days with him very comfortable, relaxing and fun.

We would also like to thank Kisemei who always greeted us with a huge smile and got to know us quickly and looked after us very well.

Lastly, a special mention to Wilson, who is so attentive to guests and picked up on our special occasion from a short conversation one evening and very quickly reacted to make it a memorable night for us.

In summary a magical experience, one that we will never forget and one that we hope we can experience again, next time with our kids.

Mark and Karen

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mag01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2019

Dear Mago1uk,

Thank you so much for sharing such a fantastic review of Mahali Mzuri, it means the world to us to know that we were able to make your stay so memorable.

We also really appreciate your wonderful comments about the team and in particular John and Kisemei who were thrilled to hear your feedback. John takes great pride in his game drives and it was his mission to ensure you were able to see as many of the animals as possible. It’s always very special when you get to see the cubs too.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

First the people: we were met at landing strip by the Wonderful Jackson ! I had requested him and I am sure glad we were lucky enough to have him as our guide. He knows the area and the animals like the back of his hand. Thanks so Jackson-we saw everything! A cheetah kill!!!, cheetah cubs, lions and their cubs, a leopard and of course elephants, giraffes, Buffalo,gazelle topi wart hogs. Jackal, hyenas, impala, hippos—the works. Jackson knows right how to get us close to perfect angle and he knows the animals moods. He is THE BEST.
The manager Wilson and his #2 Ann are also both fabulous. They couldn’t be more helpful or attentive. And our —I don’t know what to call him —-so much more than a waiter—David. He is the kind of person who sets the standard for what the service industry should be. He did all sorts of above and beyond things for us always with a smile. We LOVED him.
The tents are spacious and very spread out. The furthest are a good 6-8 minute walk to main lodge so if you want to be closer you might ask. No A/c so it does get hot at midday....they do have floor fans. It is run by generators which get shut off from midnight to 4 a.m.—and the nights are very cool. They have Walkie talkies if you need to reach the office during those hours. Make sure you understand that there ARE animal noises at night so you don’t get scared!
The food was great. This is a very special place !

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Dear el04,

Well that’s certainly put a smile on our faces, thank you very much for sharing your amazing comments, it means so much to us here at Mahali Mzuri. I’ve passed your feedback onto Jackson who was thrilled to hear that he was able to play a part in making your visit with us so special. I’ve also shared your very kind words about David with him and to say it made his day is an understatement.

We always strive to give our guests the most amazing experiences both on the game drives and at the camp and so it’s always very reassuring to hear when we exceed expectations, thank you.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

(PLEASE FORGIVE ANY SPELLING ERRORS OR AUTOCORRECT FAILS, I AM WRITING THIS ON MY PHONE AND IT HATES ME SOMETIMES)

Breathtaking. This resort was beyond amazing. Honestly!

We arrived from Nairobi via small baby plane (I was terrified but it turned out to be amazing). We were met on the “runway” by Levy and Gladis, our safari guides for the week. We had champagne waiting and enjoyed it while filling out the appropriate checkin information. Please keep in mind we are in the middle of nowhere, animals roaming around and breathtaking views.

After that it’s a 30 minute drive to the resort. It took a bit longer because Levy and Gladis took took us around to spot the African wildlife. What a trip it was!

We saw elephants, lions, a family of cheetahs, hippos, zebras, wildebeests, warthogs, giraffes, antelope, mongoose, and so much more! And this was just on the way to the hotel!!!

We enjoyed a beautiful buffet dinner in a beautiful spot away from the resort! It was beautiful. We were met by local warriors singing and dancing. It was magical.

TYPICAL DAILY SCHEDULE:

You wake up around 6am, first drive leaves around 7am. I know this sounds brutal but you get used to it.

You get some coffee and fruits then head out. We had a breakfast picnic in the middle of the conservation. Each day was someplace different. The breakfast consisted of a breakfast wrap/sandwich of sorts, bacon, sausages, yogurt, granola (for the yogurt), muffins, croissants, fruit, tea and coffee. It was amazing.

You head back to the resort around 10:30-11 for lunch. Lunch starts around 12 and ends around 2. Always amazing. The soups were the BEST IVE EVER HAD!!! (Thank you soooooo much chef!!!!) Chef actually gave me some recipes before I left because I loved them so much! After lunch we would spend a bit of time in the pool (which was not heated and cold, but felt perfect after a few minutes. You will want to go in!!!!) Then we napped because we are not morning people at all!

Next drive starts at 4. They have some snacks before you leave them you go out. You get back around 7:30. Then you have dinner. Keep in mind: each drive/day is different. I know some people didn’t go out every time but I personally think it’s a mistake. You never know what you will see. There is plenty of time to relax and sleep when you are home. (Well hopefully lol)

TENT:

Your tent is amazing!!! The bathroom is beautiful, bed so comfortable, and the incredible. Each tent is perfect. Some are farther away, we stayed in 4 and it was just perfect.

At night a local warrior escorts you to and from your tent because there are no barriers around the camp. It is perfectly safe though. We did have a bunch of hyraxes (google then they are sooo cute) hanging around our tent but they are harmless. Just cute to look at.

One night (maybe two) we heard lions roaring in the distance. I know what you’re thinking. NO WAY THATS SAFE! But it is. They are far(ish) and the valley just amplified everything. You are fine!

Tips:

So I was very unsure about this so I was very happy I asked. Safari guides should be tipped around 30-50 USD a day (per tent), your personal server (at dinner and such, you have the same person for the duration of your stay) is about 10-15 USD per day (per tent), and general staff, which is split with everyone, is 25 USD per day per tent. We did not bring cash (stupid us) but we’re able to leave it on our card. I recommend bringing cash if you can, I thinks it’s better. There are no ATMs so you will need to get it in Nairobi.

I can’t thank everyone enough for the exquisite service and overall welcoming. We really felt at home. You made our dreams come true.

Wilson, the GM, Anne, Levy, Gladis, Pahninah, Chef and everyone else who made this the most special trip for us... thank you from the bottom of our hearts. We really felt we were home.

We will be back!

Xx

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ukigirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Dear ukigirl85,

Wow, I’m not quite sure where to start with this PERFECT review but I think a big ‘thank you’ would be a good place to begin! Thank you for taking the time to share such thoughtful and thorough feedback. The whole Mahali Mzuri family loved reading your kind words but I must say that Levi and Gladys were particularly happy when they heard how much you enjoyed your game drives. Our Head Chef, Eddie, was smiling from ear to ear when he heard your compliments about the food, particularly the soups! You must let us know how you go making his recipes back at home. Maybe we are biased, but we think there’s something magical about hearing the lions roar in the distance as you settle down for the night so it always makes us smile when we hear how much our guests enjoy this experience too. I really don’t think we could ask for a nicer review and to hear that you felt ‘at home’ is wonderful – that’s exactly what we aim for. The pleasure was all ours, thank you for choosing to visit us and we cannot wait to welcome you back. We only hope we won’t have to wait too long, because we miss you already!

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019

Thank you Mahali Mzuri for an absolutely wonderful stay. As soon as we were picked up from the airstrip our Safari begun. The staff is there to greet you and we saw a ton as we drove to the camp.

Upon arrival at the camp, we met our guide John. John was our guide the entirety of the stay which was a nice touch. He was so knowledgeable and patient. He truly was excellent. He was accommodating and thoughtful about what animals and experiences we should all have. One morning, he organized breakfast in the bush for our car and it was a once in a lifetime experience. As you are driving during sunrise or sunset, the vistas could be a scene from the lion king.

The tents are out of this world!!! The bed was incredibly comfortable, the deck is expansive and overlooks the reserve, the bathroom is beautifully adorned (the bath products are lovely) and you have all of your creature comforts. My husband and I loved hearing the animals at night. The wifi is amazing. You would never know you are in the middle of the reserve.

The massages are a must!!! My husband generally feels the pressure is never quite strong enough and he couldn't stop raving. It is worth it for a visit and generally there is some kind of special.

Lastly the food, you would think you were in a five star restaurant. I am a picky eater and they were incredibly accommodating. The soups were the best soups I have ever had.

I so hope to return one day!!!

Room tip: Best views, amazing guides, great food
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gbroun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Dear Gbroun,

Wow! I don’t think we could ask for a bigger compliment than hearing that you thought your stay at Mahali Mzuri was ‘simply the best’, thank you! John loved meeting you and was so touched when he heard your feedback about your safari experience. He was particularly pleased to hear how much you loved your Bush Breakfast, we think it’s all about the little touches so it’s always a pleasure to hear when our guests agree. The whole team were delighted when they heard you comments about your tent, spa treatments and the food – thank you so much. We also so hope that you will return one day. We would love to welcome you back to our Mahali Mzuri family!

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019 via mobile

From the moment we were greeted by John at the airstrip, we knew that we had made a
great decision to choose Mahali Mzuri. Everyone treats you like family and at no time during our stay did we feel that any request was an inconvenience in any way. There is no formal checkin and we were simply asked to sign a waiver before we took off on our first game drive on the way to the camp.
This is a talented group of people who truly go out of their way to make the experience a memorable one. Wilson, you should be so very proud of your team. Jackson our guide, was confident, knowledgeable, with a great personal, understated delivery. You asked, listened and then delivered on our brief. David, our waiter, who would deliver every request with professionalism and pride. Nothing was too much trouble for you. We asked to have some of our meals on our deck and you certainly made them very memorable.

Eddie, we were blown away with the way you run your kitchen and it was our privilege to be given a tour of your facility. Your strong controls which start with health and safety, are evident in flavours, tastes and presentation of every meal. For us, the simplicity and marriage of local ingredients and flair made every meal a joy. We can't wait to get home to try some of your recipes that you shared with us.

We had a great couples massage delivered very professionally by Anne and Vera. Yes Anne, I promise to find my "balance"

We believe that the attitude of guests are just as important as those of staff and if you want to have a truly memorable experience you need to approach things with an open mind and positive attitude. Are there nuances that some guests would like to see done different? Of course there are, everyone has a different perspective, but looking at our visit in totally, for us this was truly a memorable experience.

Mahali Mzuri is an exceptional, well managed, well run luxury camp that left us with a joyous feeling that we would return again.

Asante Sana, till we meet again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Dear TEAMBKR,

Asante Sana for taking the time to share your exceptional review, we loved reading it! I am incredibly proud of the team and hearing this lovely feedback has made my day. We couldn’t be happier to hear that you had such a memorable experience with us! Jackson, David, Anne and Vera were all so touched to read their personal mentions and hear your incredibly thoughtful comments, and Eddie was particularly pleased to hear that you’ll be trying out his recipes in your own kitchen. Please do let us know how it goes, we’d love to know! We cannot wait to welcome you back next time to create more precious memories and ignite that joyous feeling. We only hope that we won’t have to wait too long.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews