We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mara Crossings Camp
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed three days at the well appointed Mara Crossings safari camp. The owners/hosts, camp manager, chef and staff ensured the stay was flawless from the excellent accommodations and multi-course meals to the spectacular location and twice daily safari outings. The staff was warm, welcoming, accommodating. The camp location, nestled above the Mara River, was simply breathtaking. This is my new favorite vacation destination.

pp

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Mara Crossings Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

From the moment we set foot in the camp we were treated like royalty. A welcome drink, and tour of the camp, with an introduction to staff members.

The camp is very intimate, and the perfect relaxation point after a day out on safari. You can sit by the river, and watch the hippos bob around the nearby waterfall. The tents are luxurious, and still manage to keep their rustic charm. Food was delicious, and the waiters went out of their way to accommodate. A special mention to Noah who was just brilliant.

Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenYoungTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

From the time my group and I arrived at Mara Crossings Camp, we were treated extremely very well. On arrival by plane the camp provided us with transportation by Maasai warriors in traditional dress. They were all very friendly and informative. On the way to the camp they stopped at various places for us to see the wildlife and take pictures. They were able to spot animals that were well camouflaged in the grass that we wouldn't have normally seen. When we arrived at the camp, all the staff gave us a warm welcome. Shenaz one of the owners and Sejal explained some of the basics of the camp regarding the security by Maasai warriors, water supply, electricity, etc. At dark, there was a Maasai warrior immediately available to escort you to and from your tent. The setting of the camp overlooks the Mara River with hippos and plenty of chairs, tables, and umbrellas to relax under. My tent was well decorated, extremely clean, spacious, and fully furnished with real beds, chests, a writing desk, private flush toilet, shower, and sink. There were many nice touches like the warm water bottle for your feet at night, soaps and scents in the bathroom, bed turn down at night, water heated before a shower, and meals cooked by their chefs. Every dish I ate was excellent. I was spoiled rotten having such nice 5 star food cooked for me on the spot. There were omelets made to order. I especially liked the freshly made naan. The dining tables were always very well decorated. For different meals, they would also place the tables in different locations which was a nice change of scenery. At night there was a campfire with plenty of chairs to sit around comfortably. During the day, we went on safari. All the Masai guides were very flexible. Seruni and Nick I remember the best as being excellent and knowledgeable. Seruni could answer any question you could think of about animals. I am sure the rest of them could as well. All of them were pretty good drivers for the type of terrain they were going through. Staying at Mara Crossings Camp was better in food, service, and furnishings than some 5 star hotels I've stayed at, which merely had a nice lobby. I would highly recommend doing a safari and staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: Just make a reservation. All the rooms are very nice, immaculately clean, and beautifully decorated...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After a week spent working very hard, our group went to Mara crossing. From the maasai greeting us on arrival til we left, it was an incredible experience. The accommodations were better than a five star hotel. The food was fantastic. The staff were there before you could ask for anything. The safari trips were a once in a lifetime experience. I felt pampered and safe at all times. Would highly recommend this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Rarely do I feel an urge to write a review, but our safari at Mara Crossings was nothing short of extraordinary. The camp is situated on the Mara River which provides beautiful scenery and the sound of the water and hippos at night is relaxing.

The accommodations-- the camp is brand new. As this was my first safari, when I heard the term, luxury tent, I was nervous. However, I now realize a tented camp is the way to go. The beds were quite comfortable. They provided a turndown in the evening, complete with a warm "water bottle" for your bed, as it was chilly in the evenings. This was a nice touch. All of the toiletries in the bathroom were provided and smelled of essential oils.

The food-- the chefs provided a delicious buffet lunch and breakfast (and omelettes and crepes made to order). The dinner menu had 3 options, and there was always a selection of vegetarian. The food was truly unbelievable. It rivals any fine dining in a large city.

Finally, the safari-- our location was excellent. We saw a 4 of the big 5, only lacking the rhino. Our guides were friendly and knowledgeable. They were not on a set timeframe, and made sure it was all about us. We also had the option of a hot air balloon, visiting a Masai village, and there was also an in house massage therapist.

I feel like the owners of this camp seemed to think of all the little details and extras. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandaGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Mara crossings camp is situated on the mara river. We stayed here after a medical mission and it was the perfect place to recharge our batteries after an exhausting week. The tents are beautifully decorated- each with its own hot shower and toilets. The food is 5 star- the chef cooks great dishes some with an Indian flair. The view over the mara river is breathtaking- there is an open area looking down on the river - a perfect place to sit and have a drink and watch the hippos and the rapids below. The lounge tent is beautifully furnished and has a fully stocked bar. The owners- Shenny and Sandev went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable and it certainly was.
I have been to 2 other safari camps and this is definately the best. I highly recommend this camp- you wont want to leave.
Claire, Michigan, USA. June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire1960_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Enrique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
6.9 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#44 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
174 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#40 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
#123 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
954 reviews
7.6 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#18 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Crossings Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Crossings Camp

Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £521 - £1,324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Mara Crossings Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Crossings Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing