We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience!”
Review of Wajee Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wajee Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spend our summer holiday on Diani beach, Mombasa, Kenyan coast (600 km far from Masai Mara). WE really wanted to go to Masai Mara because that there are you can see many animals and we very interested to see 1 Masai viliage, but when we looked for offers, that was a really cold shower for us! But, over inernet, we found Eric Cagume from Wajee Mara Camp, near Sekenani gate, and his offer (price) was like a miracle! And over mails 3-4 months we looked together with Eric what would be best for us (date etc...) Price include transfer from Nairobi to Camp, visiting Masai Mara by vehicle, Masai guide, 3 meals, coffe, water, juices...We traveled from Mombasa to Nairobi by night luxcury oxygen bus over Modern Coast Express agency (20e ticket for first class) and you need about 8 hours to reech Nairobi. Tend is big, beds comfortable. You have a warm water in the bathroom, towels and electricity. There is a lot of monkeys and they are thievs, specually bananas etc...Camp is in one beautiful wood, sometimes elephants pass near by. And, in the evening you can see thousands stars (different than on europian sky). Most beautiful for us were family and friendly atmosphere, and with Eric, and with Masai gardians, and with kenyian people. In the night was beautiful to sit around the fire and talk with people. We recomanded you to visit Masai village (10 e per person) because that is anforgetable experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jovan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

My favorite campfire in the world. Comfortable lodgings, fantastic food, great accessibility to the park gate. A truly organic experience for those wishing to see the Mara on a more than reasonable budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binagwaho G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were an American family with 2 boys and had an incredible experience at this safe, environmentally-friendly, comfortable camp. Monkeys watched us brush our teeth, solar lamps were used to conserve electricity, excellent local meals were served under an open-air tent, and we enjoyed a cozy campfire in the evenings. One of the Masai on staff carried handmade bows and arrows, and taught my sons how to use them. It was big fun and the management is dedicated to creating affordable, eco-friendly access to the magnificent animals of Masai Mara. It's conveniently located close to the park entrance gates. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahAliSvoboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Wajee Mara Camp is a fantastic, economical and eco-friendly permacamp site just next to the Maasai Mara National Reserve. I've stayed at the camp twice, once during the summer of 2009 and once during the spring of 2011.

The permanent tents are extremely comfortable and safe. The food provided is delicious and satisfying. The staff is welcoming and informative. The site was well-shaded and kept neat.

I was happy to bring my friends back when I returned to Kenya. We had a great time and felt like we weren't imposing on the reserve inside of the part. The trip organizer helped us from Kisumu -> Nairobi -> The Mara. The local guides were excellent at finding animals in the park and teaching us. The accomodations are beyond expectation, especially considering the price.

Great for students, groups, families, couples and singles. We made great friends and I look forward to taking my family some day in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My experience with Wajee Mara Camp was unforgettable. The admin was friendly and fair with pricing and scheduling. Jagi has an extensive knowlege of wildlife and history which enriches the experience. And the company made the trip even more enjoyable. Would highly recommend and use for future trips.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank channel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

What an affordable trip it was at Wajee Mara Camp! Found a serene camp, not a spoilt environment, full of trees from which one can shed under, during the scorching heat of the Mara. Accommodate excellent for a natural camp, the staff very friendly and the food is awesome - one can ask for more no end. The packed lunches for the game drives varied day after day. I really recommend Wajee Mara Camp to any group of life.

Room Tip: Suitable for travellers who love natural camps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liliane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were looking for not so expensive Massai Mara safari with accomodation. Wajee Mara camp fullfilled our needs. Fine place close to main entrance, good local kitchen (with typical kenyan smell) and convenient tents. I reccomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vascooNitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,099 reviews
0 mi away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
325 reviews
0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
586 reviews
0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
127 reviews
0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wajee Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wajee Mara Camp

Address: Sekenani Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wajee Mara Camp is situated in a very good camouflaged and forested area, offering an authentic African experience without sacrificing safety or comfort. Simply designed and built with wood and canvas, the large campfire area and dining area of the camp overlook the surrounding lush forest. The camp comprises 13 standard tents and 6 deluxe self-contained tents furnished in a contemporary yet comfortable style. A private outdoor seating area in front of each tent allows guests to relax and take in sights and sounds of the bush. The camp also features a dining area, kitchen with a professional chef, a shower block with flushing toilets and hot running water; among a host of many other amenities. The camp welcomes adults as well as children of all ages. Our full-board rates include accommodation, all meals and beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wajee Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing