We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Mara Siria Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (1,123)
    Filter reviews
    1,123 results
    Traveller rating
    576
    387
    104
    32
    24
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    576
    387
    104
    32
    24
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewshippo barmasai maragame drivesstir fryindian cuisinemosquito nethippos grazinggift shopthe cottagesbuffet stylestayed two nightswatering holewelcome drinkno hot waterlunch and dinnerthe reservewild animals
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    666 - 671 of 1,123 reviews
    Reviewed 13 December 2013

    I stayed at the Keekorok Lodge in Masai Mara Dec 2 - 5th and would recommend this lodge to all of my friends! It was a great location, the staff was wonderful and honest, the food was decent, and the cleanliness of the lodge was more than what I expected.

    Wi-Fi is not free and even if you do purchase it the signal is not the best. What do you expect considering you're in the middle of a national reserve. You will hear the hippos at night as there is a hippo pool right off the lodge.

    The pool area is not the greatest, but I didn't come to swim so no issue for me.

    All in all, I loved this lodge and would give it a VERY GOOD rating.

    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Akilah W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 December 2013

    GREAT lodge, in a great location. The room bright & comfortable, food...ok. Not great, but ok. Staff...fabulous! From the moment you are met by staff in traditional Masai dress and escorted to your room to the evening escorts by flashlight, everyone is friendly, helpful and kind. NEVER in my dreams would I think monkeys, baboons, zebra, antelope and hippos would walk up on the lawn directly to our room, but they surely did! Watch out for those thieving little monkeys - we lost a container of Nutter Butters, a protein bar and an apple to them! One night, after shooing hippo away from the porch of our room, a security man took us with him to look for an elephant that he needed to find & "persuade" to leave the property....really, it was amazing. He then engaged with us in a wonderful conversation about his life as a Masai & his adventures to Uganda (as far as he'd ever been). All in all, a great lodge & a great stay. Mosquito nets were very nice, we could have used those at the lake resort! Highly recommend.

    Room Tip: I didn't see a bad room! Every single one had zebra, baboon & antelope in their front yard!
    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank kqhouston
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 November 2013

    We must not be their demographic. If you like compounds with gobs of people (200 rooms), western food that is at best ok, overpriced everything (wi-fi should not be additional at these prices) than please stay here. Staff in both the reservation area and in the restaurant service area were burnt-out on tourists - not helpful not pleasant. The cooks were nice though.
    We read reviews from others and see that we belong somewhere else. Having lived in Africa for many years, we find places like this to be "out of Africa".
    To all those that found this place to be great, more power to you. The five of us (all adults in three rooms) promised to never return.

    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RCJO
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 November 2013

    Keekorok is a wonderful place to stay , it feels well established and traditional. The location is great and rooms have wonderful views often with wildlife wandering right in front of your room.Where else can you wake in the night to find zebras grazing at your door in the moonlight. The restaurant was good with plenty of choice and good service. The hippo pool is good to visit and game drives in the Mara are truly outstanding - the abundance of wildlife is amazing. There are no doubt more luxurious properties to stay in but this one is friendly , comfortable and you are made to feel welcome . No complaints whatsoever , would recommend and stay again .

    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Lynn W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 November 2013

    We arrived at the Lodge very late in the evening as we had some trouble with transport. The staff at the lodge were in constant contact with our driver, in order that we could gain access to the game reserve. I feel that they really went above the call of duty here. From the moment we arrived the staff were wonderful. The staff genuinely seemed to want to make sure you had a great time, and it felt a little less forced than other resorts I had been at within Kenya this holiday. The Masai were so informative, we were guided to our room by torchlight as the lodge is unfenced and so they escort you as there are animals roaming freely in the darkness. On the way to our room we were greeted by zebra, buffalo and wildebeest grazing outside our room. The room itself was dominated by a huge, extremely comfortable bed, which had a canopy mosquito net which was put out and then returned each day by the staff who also turned down the room. The shower was hot with good pressure. The room was clean and had wonderful views over the Mara, you could sit on your balcony and watch nature unfold before your eyes. The power outages were at convenient times of day, so they interfered very little with anything. The food was nice enough, although the choices were sometimes odd, apparently though the desserts were amazing! The hippo pool was a wonderful place to spend the day, watching the hippos wallowing and the crocodiles sunbathing, watching herds of elephants wandering past along with all the other animals of the mara. I sat there for hours talking to Samson the bar man who would happily point out all the birds and passing wildlife, giving you information about them all. He was a wonderful man, who always made you feel welcome and told you the good times of day to be there to see things happen, like the hippos returning to land to graze of an evening. We also went on a nature walk that are organised by the lodge, which was a good bit of fun and we learnt about Masai life (and a lot about poo!) The game drives from the lodge were fantastic, the location of the lodge is wonderful and within moments you are seeing what you came to see. Joshua one of the Masai is so happy to share his experience, he has a vast knowledge and was ready to point out the birds, insects and smaller creatures, whilst we were on the hunt for the big 5.

    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Ilovewham
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews