We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kenya Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Baytown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Kenya Holiday”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our stay at Keekorok Lodge was excellent with one minor exception. The food service needs tweaking. More flavor, more choices.

The rooms and employees were excellent. I really enjoyed all of the Maasai Warriors that worked in the lodge and provided services to the guest.

The location of the lodge was excellent. The distance to the wildlife (and the Tanzania border) was great. Just a short drive and you can view all the wildlife you can imagine. The Pride of 14 Lions female and cub was almost the highlight of our trip until we came across the three Mail lions.

In all the trip was wonderful.

I cannot wait for my next opportunity to return.

Lloyd D. Adams

Baytown, TX.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 267LeeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    353
    92
    30
    24
See reviews for
330
337
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed the place. Food section was good. Game drives were good since its right in the middle of the game park. Fantastic bird life makes it wonderful. Meeting Masai was not so good since they have become very professional in their approach. It looks more like a staged drama rather than actual warrior tribe. Overall nice place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We don't travel for the food so this isn't a huge deal for us but our party of 12 to a person thought the food was incredibly average to below average based on the places we had been the previous 3 weeks in Kenya and the price we paid to stay here. The cottages were ok, the location in the park was OUTSTANDING and made game drives easy in and out. The park was clearly the BEST we had seen in Kenya.
I hate paying a gazillion dollars for a room and then being nickeled and dimed on crappy internet service as well. You guys at the lodge ever hear of access points ? You need some.
Gift shop was nice and the hippo bar was more like a tree house with a makeshift bar.....but hey, when in Kenya, do as the.....well you know the rest. Worth a visit and a few nights, NOT a destination location unless it's for the Migration.

Room Tip: What ever you do, take a hot air balloon ride a dawn over the Mara. Bucket list item.....yeah, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The rooms were amazing, the wildlife was right outside your doors, and the staff was friendly and attentive. Worth going to over and over again! The game drives were incredible during the morning and the evening hours. The village was a must see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food extremely good and the staff ever so friendly and helpful. Each and Every staff went out of the way too ensure that we were comfortable and felt at ease. the store there stocks a good range of mementos and they are all priced well. The Hippo pool was just awesome. I would recommend this resort to everyone who goes over there. Stay here and enjoy the true Masai hospitality!!

Room Tip: Get the rooms close to the Hippo pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashok20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed there for 3 days & 4 nights. The food was delicious, ambiance was good, the backyard of the hotel was amazing as it was the house of 20-30 hippos. Observatory post for night watching from the wooden platform was awesome. Swimming pool was average. Scenery from room was an experience. Footprints of hippos at room doorstep was unbelievable. Um
Ultimate living experience. Highly recommended for a tour

Room Tip: Ask the desk for jungle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iftikharahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We were a grp or 8 all family members visiting Masai Mara for the first time. We were not very keen on Keekorok wen recommended by or travel agent. But we were proved wrong by Keekorok Lodge's amazing location, excellent cottages, great and prompt service levels. Food was gr8 with lots of variety even for vegetarians like us. One of the best part was Hippo pond and the deck offering amazing views. Spotting was really nice from there. Taking a dip in Swimming pool also felt good during the heat of the day. Our overall trip to Masai Mara was jus gr8 and Keekorok made it very comfortable!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunal_rambhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
212 reviews
10.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
101 reviews
22.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
504 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
993 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Property: Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing