We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place ”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

A very beautiful place in the beautiful park of the masai mara. Hippo pool is very nice we viewed a lion with its liones there been chased away by the buffalos. A big thank you to the entire staff of keekorok for making our stay so comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fazia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    362
    96
    32
    24
See reviews for
336
347
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Nice place set inside the Mara reserve. Loved the hippo pool where you can watch hippos and enjoy a drink. In the evening these hippos come out and you can see them as the place is well lit. Food is average to good, staff very warm. They do a Masai dance every evening which is good.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bidyutbhanjdeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakuru, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The lodge and it's atmosphere were lovely. The rooms were a trifle small but it's not too bad considering the price difference between Keekorok and other Mara lodges. Having heard slightly negative things about the quality of food, I was suitably impressed; whilst nothing special, it is actually quite good, and can thoroughly recommend a trip to the stir-fry bar. Overall a pretty cool experience. Found the whole nightly dancing Masai people slightly unsettling though...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our stay at Keekorok Lodge was excellent with one minor exception. The food service needs tweaking. More flavor, more choices.

The rooms and employees were excellent. I really enjoyed all of the Maasai Warriors that worked in the lodge and provided services to the guest.

The location of the lodge was excellent. The distance to the wildlife (and the Tanzania border) was great. Just a short drive and you can view all the wildlife you can imagine. The Pride of 14 Lions female and cub was almost the highlight of our trip until we came across the three Mail lions.

In all the trip was wonderful.

I cannot wait for my next opportunity to return.

Lloyd D. Adams

Baytown, TX.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 267LeeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed the place. Food section was good. Game drives were good since its right in the middle of the game park. Fantastic bird life makes it wonderful. Meeting Masai was not so good since they have become very professional in their approach. It looks more like a staged drama rather than actual warrior tribe. Overall nice place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We don't travel for the food so this isn't a huge deal for us but our party of 12 to a person thought the food was incredibly average to below average based on the places we had been the previous 3 weeks in Kenya and the price we paid to stay here. The cottages were ok, the location in the park was OUTSTANDING and made game drives easy in and out. The park was clearly the BEST we had seen in Kenya.
I hate paying a gazillion dollars for a room and then being nickeled and dimed on crappy internet service as well. You guys at the lodge ever hear of access points ? You need some.
Gift shop was nice and the hippo bar was more like a tree house with a makeshift bar.....but hey, when in Kenya, do as the.....well you know the rest. Worth a visit and a few nights, NOT a destination location unless it's for the Migration.

Room Tip: What ever you do, take a hot air balloon ride a dawn over the Mara. Bucket list item.....yeah, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The rooms were amazing, the wildlife was right outside your doors, and the staff was friendly and attentive. Worth going to over and over again! The game drives were incredible during the morning and the evening hours. The village was a must see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.9 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
218 reviews
11.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
105 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
37.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
511 reviews
22.6 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Property: Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing