We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari in Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Keekorok Lodge was very welcoming and the staff are superbly trained and helpful. The food was generally excellent but when supplies run low as they must do so far out in the bush they still came up with a very acceptable meal even though we were four hours late in arriving. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the game viewing, balloon trip and hippo pool make it even more magical. Well done the Lodge staff, at every level.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but some are further away from the restaurant and bar. Make sure you call a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CMW139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a lodge on arrival and our room was lovely, very quiet and secluded. The food was a little hit and miss, but inevitable when trying to cater for so many different cultures. The freshly made chappatis however were amazing! The hippo pool was a great twist. Staff were generally very friendly and helpful. It's a shame they don't offer free wifi.

Room Tip: I think it would be worth paying to upgrade to a lodge - they feel very special and unusual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I spent two nights here in May on a private safari. The ride out here is quite an experience but Masai Mara and Keekorok are worth the drive. I booked through Lion Trails Safaris so I do not know the price I paid but as a single it was a bit expensive for my overall trip....not that I'm complaining because I had an amazing experience.

The staff is very welcoming and everyone is very pleasant. On my last day, we were 1 hour early for lunch and they actually made me a special lunch so I could get on my way to the airport in Nairobi. Good they did because there was a HUGE traffic jam in Nairobi and I may not have made my flight.

The hotel could probably use some updating but it was very clean and all furniture was in good shape. I had no problem with hot water for showers and the shutdown of electric 3 times daily didn't impact me. The hotel provides lots of water in the room and I had soda with lunch and dinner that wasn't too expensive.

The room was a bit noisy because the folks in the rooms surrounding me were quite loud.

The property is very special with trails and walkways to bring you right into the animals: giraffes, elephants, baboons, monkeys, hippos, etc. and a bar out there as well. Keekorok is right in the thick of many great viewing areas and I think may be better positioned than other lodges. The swimming pool looked a bit out dated though. They had evening entertainment with local dancers and that was enjoyable.

The food was OK....not outstanding but not bad. Good selection at all meals and I was able to find something at each meal at the buffet when I wasn't being pushed out by some rude guests. The staff remembered me each day and kept checking up on me. I think they felt bad because I was solo. The cooks making the fresh hot food at each meal were so patient with some guests for which it was needed and did a good job.

I hope to go back to Keekorok with my wife at some point and hope to see the migration.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were here 3 nights.
The room was nice, The Hippo bar a fun sight. This is a small bar on a suspended boardwalk almost over an active hippo pool. Lots of other animals and birds to see, too. No pressure to buy a drink.
So what's the problem? The dining room buffet was a bit like feeding the hogs. The same food seemed to be served from meal to meal. Ambiance did not come close to our other lodge experiences.
In two weeks time, this was the only lodge that charged for wifi. In today's age, that seems a bit like charging "by the flush".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Rooms are very old and dated - needing a good clean, restaurant offers 2* comfort. Buffet lacks any quality ingredients, e.g. breakfast orange juice is orange squash, 'chicken' sausages !! and bacon you'd not feed to a dog. Lunch and Dinner are also buffet style equally as awful. There was no Tusker or other form of beer available to buy from the bar, and only wine left was the very high end expensive bottles £50+.
This hotel is seriously over priced and no way derserves it's 5* rating.

It's in a fantastic location but seems to be still riding on 1950's rating when it was built, staff were as helpful as they could be - but if there's nothing in the fridge to serve what can thay do ??

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hayley S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was a lovely venue, the safari across the Masai Mara was amazing and Keekorak is right in the heart of the animal action. Staff could not have done more to make stay special. Food was excellent, and Masai warrior dancing every night was special. One small annoyance was the lack of good quality wine at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After returning last week from keekorok we had the most amazing time. The game drives were excellent and all the staff at keekorok Were very kind. the rooms are a nice standard for the hotel. Loved everything about it. The only part I would say need to be improved is the food options. It was mainly Indian found so found my self eating rice and pasta most nights. Would be good to have more variety. Thanks again for the stay and would love to
Go back, big thank you too Samson at the hippo bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123456uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.4 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
11.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
126 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,082 reviews
37.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
23 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £133 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing