We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atay ..Tastey food”
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We have stayed over there for 4 days.We really enjoy the service of Sopa lodge specially the food was really excellent.There are lot of choices available in these 4 days.We never get a repeated dish.The cottages was really nice and calm.Even though the distance from lobby to our cottage was a bit far we really enjoyed the walk after dinner which is a bit scary but wonderful.The service personals was really helpful.Inn total i really love this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Mara Sopa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our journey by van to the Mara Sopa lodge was extremely uncomfortable due to the large pot holes - we have 5 hours of it!
however the lodge was a nice relaxing relief. The rooms adequate, always hot water, a large shower area, huge bed, and we enjoyed the food here. I did spend some time by the swimming pool, the water very invigorating. The staff were excellent and friendly. We were soon in the game area and did see all big 5 and more besides. At night you could go to a look out to see animals coming close up for food, but this was quite near to a bar so rather noisy and hence the animals ran off!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swift33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at the Mara Sopa Lodge. From reception staff and the bartenders to restaurant staff and security, everyone treated me with such kindness. I was traveling alone and enjoyed their hospitality and good cheer.

The room was also beautiful! Even though I saw pictures on Tripadvisor in advance, I wasn't prepared for how cool the room and whole complex would be. The pool is divine, as is the restaurant. I am glad that the wi-fi was in the public area, as it helped me be social, and have a break in my room. I appreciated the mosquito net and the comfortable bed and shower.

It was an exciting trip and a perfect location for exploring the Maasai Mara Reserve and for a powerful cultural visit to Maasai village nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I just returned from safari and were here for two nights and it was nice. It is a basic, but nice place to est, sleep and relax after a long day gamd driving. The location is nice, set in a hillside with monkeys all over the place and very peaceful and quiet. The hotel rooms are nothing spectacular, but the beds are soft and the shower is hot and we slept good. The food was good, with many selections and a tasty, large breakfast buffet. I recommend staying here for safari, but be aware of the terrible road you travel to get there it is hours and hours on very rough and dusty dirt roads. It is a nice place overall for your safari.

Room Tip: They are all the same with no real views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The animal viewing is spectacular here. The roads within the park will rearrange your insides--super bad with more pot holes than road. The food is mediocre and the beds hard as boards. Our bedspread and general decor had seen much better days. Yet the Maasai are beautiful and friendly, as are all Kenyans!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoachOrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very pleasant staff and comfortable hotel. There is no A/C but the beauty is that you won't need it. The peace and quiet and quaint rooms with mosquito nets will be an experience for all, especially kids.

The food is quite good and there is always a vegetarian option. Indian food is always on the buffet line as well.

There is limited hot water and electricity but that will not impede you. The place is well set and you will enjoy the place after long days in the park.

It is located close to the park entrance and the roads to and from the lodge are very poor. So game drives will be bumpy and the river is almost 2hours away. But the cost is more reasonable than other lodges and cheaper than camps inside the park.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far from the main lodge area.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GourrmetGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Sopa Property is too good per say. The whole property is just too good, though the pool is small and the water was cold, but after the game drive in hot sun, we enjoyed the plunge in the pool. The food was excellent. There were varieties of dishes, even we could find Indian dal, rice, pickle. Specially dinner was fab, there was good choice of roasted pork, beef with sauce of our choice. The rooms were warm as we went in October. During the day there is no electricity or hot water. Only after 5.30 power comes. But the overall experience was beautiful, though the bumpy road made us too tired before reaching the lodge. But the beds were comfortable and the room was quite big for a Family of 3. Indeed good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the table fans if required as it is quite hot
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,049 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
234 reviews
7.4 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,046 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#84 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
134 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#76 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £138 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing