We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start to a Fantastic 7 Day Safari”
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our Safari, The drive there was an adventure on its own or the last 100km was. The Mara Sopa Lodge was a wonderful place, with great food, comfy beds. The bar was food and the drinks reasonably priced, I would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to the bar as it can be a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KesandMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights as the first stop on a 10 day safari with Pollmans/Hayes and Jarvis.

Hotel was ok, but probably the least nice out of the ones we stayed in for the week. It is located around 15 mins from the edge of the Masai Mara national park, and it took us around 45 mins drive each time we went for a game drive before we got far enough into the reserve to see something more interesting than a gazelle. We did see some great stuff on game drives from here though, including a group of young cubs playing not far from the track.

There was only power and hot water at night, but water pressure and temperature were good. Rooms are in pairs and as other reviews said, the walls between the two rooms are paper thin. Bed was okay. There wasn't a hair-drier in the room and every time my wife asked for one at reception there weren't any left.

The buffet always seemed to be broadly the same despite the fact the theme changed each night. Drink prices didn't seem too bad, but I'm used to central London. The buffet meat was generally a bit tough and not that tasty.

If I was in the Mara again I will probably pay the extra and stay somewhere in the middle of the park, not outside or on the edge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights during Christmas when we had a safari with JT Safaris. The location was excellent inside the park but road was in a really poor condition so you needed a 4x4 wheel jeep to drive into the lodge.
The rooms were spacious set in separate cottages 2 rooms in one cottage. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable and provided with mosquito nets. Bathroom was spacious, had complimentary toiletries and good shower. There was no electricity and hot water during the day when everybody was on a game-drive but it did not matter really.
We enjoyed the dinner buffer that was delicious and had lots of variety.
There was a nice swimming pool with refreshing water with nice views over the resort where you could relax after the day’s game-drive.
There were lots of activities in the evenings to entertain the guests, such as Masai dances and hyena feeding.
Service was excellent and overall expression pleasant. We will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed one night a family of 10 including some little children.The location is a little distant from the main Game Reserve and takes quite a bit of time to get to it. The roads are not in the best of conditions although that's not necessarily the lodges fault.The rooms are quite spacious and the beds surprisingly large and comfortable. There is small pool at the back of the lodge with a very good view of the reserve. We enjoyed the buffet meals especially the breakfast. The drinks are kinder pricey but I guess that's how the establishment gets its margin.
The lodge has a number of activities in the evenings to keep one entertained including Moran dances and hyena feeding. For a first timer to the Maasai Mara I enjoyed staying at the Sopa.

Only downside perhaps is the hot water and electricity availability. I believe the place uses a generator and there is no power for extended hours during the day. It made it quite difficult to charge camera batteries and cellphones for our group.
Overall its quite a cozy place with pleasant service.Its relatively affordable especially if you have a large group. Skip water at the dining table....its costly; drink the complementary bottles in the rooms.
I do plan to go back again.

Room Tip: The double beds are large and can comfortably accommodate two medium size persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, although the roads were in a poor state after the rain.
The service was fine, the food was average.
The main problem is poor maintenance. There was only warm water for one person to shower, you needed luck to switch from the tap to the shower, and the toilet didn't flush properly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The lodge is luxurious (obviously from Masai Mara point of view). More like a resort it has all the facilities. The best part is the awesome dinner spread and the fact that they have designated dining space allotted for each of their guests in the restaurant. They packed lunch for us during our game drives which was also good. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. However since you've to walk to your rooms do ask for a room closer to main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParagRaheja85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I was here in this Lodge 4 years ago and the same service was there again. The food is just great, everyone can find something. The rooms are very big and clean. I loved the curtains and the bed clothes. I looked for them later in Nairobi in Mombasa in the markets or in the shops but I could not find them.
We stayed 2 nights and in our second day we could enjoy the pool. It is such a nice feeling after a tiring safari sitting on the pool area and drinking cold Kenyan beer.
Around 22:00 they feed the hyenas in the out garden. That is an amazing event, seeing that the hyenas are scared from tha cats!!!!!
..
In the rooms the walls are very thin. You hear everything so be quiet!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragos68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,087 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
7.4 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#82 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
139 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#72 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £127 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing