We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and comfortable lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely and comfortable lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited Mara Sopa Lodge in March of this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We did run out of hot water a time or two, but, that was because we were not watching the time. They let you know what the hours are for the hot water and electricity. We enjoyed the atmosphere immensely and the animals (monkeys and bush babies) were a special treat.

Room Tip: Rooms are located on either side of the reception area and can be quite far to walk, but, not a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    311
    107
    23
    15
See reviews for
166
278
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent the Easter weekend at this lodge from Good Friday to the Sunday and we really enjoyed ourselves. The roads leading to the lodge and the game drive tracks are quite rugged and back breaking but once you get back to the lodge, its quite relaxing. The rooms were basic but nice and the hot showers were erratic but we did not mind this.

The food was diverse and great especially the breakfasts. On one of our full-day game drives, the resor arranged for packed picnic lunch we we enjoyed while in the Mara Reserve.

We also enjoyed the evening Maasai entetainment which was quite unique. Be sure also to visit the Maasai village in the neighbourhood if you stay at this lodge.

Overall, a fantastic experience and would highly recommend to all visitors.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Mara Sopa Lodge in the end of march and I was very impressed. The rooms are clean, spacious and equipt wiht mosquito net around the beds.
The main lodge has a cozy "bar" area with fireplace and comfy chairs. It sets the mood for the evening. After a long game drive you can relax at the pool with something cold to drink.

The food that is served is good and up to standard. The staff could porpably need a bit more training but they are doing their best and are always polite and have a smile.

For me the biggest drawback is that it is a somewhat closed area, which means that at nightfall you can only move around inside the premisis, which propably is for the guest own safety. But I would have loved to get some pictures of the sunset and a clear sky wiht stars. However, this is just a small detail that matters for me, so in total a great experience and highly reccomended.

Room Tip: The higher the room number is, the closer it is to the main lodge and the excit. This means that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

1 night in this hotel was part of my Safari package. Welcoming friendly staff with lovely big room. Massive shower in the en-suite! The restaurant was good with plenty of evening activities. Bush-babies in the bar. Masai dancers and hyaena and wild cats feeding within the hotel grounds. I really located close to the fantastic Masa Mara National Park.

Only issue is the state of the road from the hotel to the park. Although dirt it should only take a 5 minute drive to the Masai Mara park gate. But it takes in excess of 30 minutes it is so bad. The hotel should spend some money on its access road to and from the Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimba1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hotel #5 of our 2 week trip. We did not choose this hotel, but do think it was a nice choice! Spent two nights here, and really, our biggest complaint was that having a hot shower was not a given. Having a choice of a cold shower, or none, I choose the latter. Hubby never had a warm shower, but I waited until that was a possibility.

Typical buffet food, with a good variety. We did have a "farewell dinner" which included various grilled meats which were good), and an evening with Maasai dancers. We also watched the feeding of hyenas one night, which was interesting and worth a look!

Wifi worked in the bar area during specific hours. We had some laundry done here, prices where much better than in Nairobi, and worked out well. We spent some time at the pool, which was a nice respite.

Many from our group chose to do the hot air balloon trip offered by our tour company. If we had a 'do over' we would have joined them. They all said it was one of the best things they had ever done. Ever. Live and learn...

We would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jperkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

It's the only lodge I've stayed in so have nothing to compare with.

The lodge is comfortable and well appointed. The food is excellent. Staff are friendly.

Only criticism is that the wifi is turned off promptly and without warning at about 9am right when everyone comes back from safari and wants to share their photos with family and friends. Actually, the wifi is quite rubbish.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent two nights in Mara Sopa Logde and it was amazing experience!
The Lodge is situated inside the Masai Mara National Park and you need to defeat loooong bumpy road to get there but it’s worth it.

The Logde is beautifully inbuilt in the nature and has all the amenities you may need during your stay. Among numerous advantages there are: spacious restaurant with delicious local and foreign cuisine, big lobby and bar area with the Wi-Fi access, nice pool with bamboo sunbeds with the view on charming green hills etc.

The rooms are big and comfortable with two double beds by default. Both have common mosquito net. In the bathroom you will find all necessary mini-cosmetics and few pairs of fresh towels. The hot water and electricity are available in designated hours, but it’s enough to satisfy guests’ needs to take a shower before/after dinner or in the morning and to charge all equipment like cameras, phones, laptops etc. during the night.

What I have to add is that when one of us got sick the service was very helpful and tried so hard to organize a medical help for us. The doctor was very competent and professional whose help made our group ready to go for next day adventures in the park.

I really recommend that lodge to feel the real safari spirit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Firefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
10.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
7.1 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#23 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
26.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Property: Mara Sopa Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing