We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of all that green”
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of all that green”
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Fuss free check in cold drink on arrival, then shown to our room, very spacious and clean, double bed with mosi net,
grounds very green and "jungly" birds, monkies etc all around.
the pool is small but with a fantastic outlook.
Food was good on both nights and the bar area has a visiting Genet, which the hotel staff puts food out for it.
staff were very good even arranging coffee at 4.45 before we set off for our balloon trip.
overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    327
    111
    24
    17
See reviews for
178
288
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

1st meal there and we all got food poisoning!! followed by the lodge doctors' misdiagnosis ( to protect the lodge) causing the symptoms to get much much worse, before finding another doctor. We think the food poisioning was caused by generators being 6hrs on/6hrs off it contaminated refridgerated food. 8 days ill ruined the safari. Very expensive waste of time.

nothing to say on the resort as it was all ruined.

website photos are also misleading.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debimmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

The hotel has been refurbished and it was gorgeous.
The bedrooms were half rondavels. Really comfortable and well furnished.
The food was super. Even early morning breakfast at 6 am was good.
The entertainment was so good, you really can avoid going into the Masaii village. Save yourself some money..
It was part of a package. The best hotel we stayed at outside of Nairobi.

  • Liked — The food and the bed
  • Disliked — The dirt road leading up to it
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AliMac30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS YORKSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2008

We have just returned from a Virgin "Taste of Kenya" tour. The safaris were fantastic and run by Rhino Tours of Nairobi. Virgin Atlantic cancelled the flight out at the last minute and also cancelled the flight back 2 days before we were due to return.

Due to the recent troubles, we were some of the first visitors to tour this area, and the staff at all 3 Sopa Lodges were very welcoming. We stayed at Amboseli Lodge first with magnificent views of Mount Kilimanjaro (if you get up early!). The food here was the best of the 3 Lodges. Then we travelled to Lake Navashka a new and beautiful lodge, then on to the Masi Mara Lodge. A lot of travelling over bumpy roads. Other Virgin Tours fly bewteen safaris. May be an option for next time. Visited the Carnivore Restaurant in Nairobi where you can try all sorts of barbequed meat - including Crocodile, Ostrich. Great food!

Great holiday - shame about the Virgin Atlantic flights!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LEEDS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We went to Kenya and Zanzibar for our honeymoon with Virgin Holidays. We did a 6 day 'Taste of Kenya' safari and then transferred to Zanzibar for a week on the beach.
Virgin Holidays were pretty terrible in terms of pre-trip customer service.
However the holiday itself was fabulous. Throughout the safari we stayed at Sopa Lodges. First we went to Amboseli National park - the lodge was lovely with views of Kilimanjaro and the park offers the most fantastic wildlife, especially elephants - breathtaking stuff.
The we went to Lake Naivasha - and oh my god this lodge is spectacular. A truly beautiful place - very lush and green which is lovely after the dryness of Amboseli. I've uploaded pics but they don't do it justice! The hippos will come and graze right outside your room at night - well worth trying to stay awake for.
Then it was off to the Masai Mara for the final leg of the safari. The lodge here was probably the poorest quality of all three (but had a hard act to follow after Naivasha!), still very nice but the rooms were a bit shabby. By now we were also a little tired of the buffet food which didn't vary much from lodge to lodge but that is being a bit picky. We saw lots of lions in the reserve, very close up which was another incredible experience.
Overall the safari was a mind blowing once in a lifetime experience, however you should be aware that you will spend a long time travelling over terrible roads - up to 7hrs a day with the itinerary we had. It sounds ridiculous but it was quite exhausting and I even lost a filling as one of the roads was so bumpy! My advice would be that if you can afford it, pay more to be in a 4x4, you will be alot more comfortable.
In Zanzibar we stayed at the Ocean Paradise Resort. The name don't lie! It was an incredible place - yes, it's a big resort type hotel and as such not 'authentic' but very luxurious and relaxing - ideal after a safari.
Zanzibar is a beautiful place, and trips to explore Stone Town, go snorkelling and the Spice Tour are all very interesting and money well spent.
One top tip - when you check in at Zanzibar Airport to come home, you may be made to wait outside for a long time. We were there in the middle of the day for 2 and a half hours - don't chuck out your suncream like we did - take it to the airport with you!!

  • Liked — nice pool
  • Disliked — bedrooms - a bit 'tired'
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Stayed at the Sopa for 2 nights in July -07. Arrived for lunch one day, left after breakfast the third day. The lodge is OK, with a local touch to the architecture, great views over the valley and plains and a nice pool area. I found the lodge a bit too big, with a really huge dining area and some minutes walk from the cabin to the dining area. The cabins were nothing special. Clean yes, but a bit worn, especially the bathroom in our cabin. In all a bit "well used" impression, but not "worn down" at all !

Getting to the gate to the park was just a 10 min drive, and it was a lot of animals in the area. But it was a bit crowded, and 15-20 vans with people "drooling" as soon as a lion was spotted. But if Your driver is skilled and willing to travel a bit longer (for instance to the Mara River or closer to the Tanzania border) , You reach more secluded areas.

The service was OK and they served good meals from a really large buffet. Something to choose from for everybody, I guess.

  • Liked — View from the pool area
  • Disliked — A bit too big for me
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ursus_Polaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We stayed in multiple locations during our trip to Kenya, some more expensive than the Sopa Lodge. In our opinion, the place with the most courteous staff and best service was the Mara Sopa.

The view is lovely because the lodge is located in hills just next to the entrance to the Maasai Mara Reserve. The other reviews talk about 'tired' decor - and while that is not entirely untrue, the upholstery, sheets, towels, furniture are all spotless and in good condition. It is the style of hte hotel that seems somewhat dated but we found all facilities and amenities to be in great order.

The staff is by far the most charming that we have ever come across, and they treated us very well throughout our stay. The food is above average. All meals are buffet. We partucularly liked the breakfast spread. Lunch and dinner were patchy - some really good dishes with some not so great ones. But never was the food bad and every meal had at least one dish that we really enjoyed.

I would highly recommend this place because not only is it efficiently run but it has one thing most establishments tend to lack - warmth.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank galaxyhitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
7.4 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#70 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
227 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#84 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Property: Mara Sopa Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing