We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the movies only better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Like the movies only better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Have stayed at the Sarova Mara several times since 1997 for different reasons - honeymoon, family vacation and romantic getaway - and we've always had an amazing time and been sorry to leave. The tents are luxury tents so its not roughing it at all! The family tents are great as they have lots of room and are adjoined so adults have their privacy but can still easily keep an eye on the kids. Our last stay we were in the recently created Club Tents which are gorgeous and very romantic. The food is very good and freshly made, buffet style so you have a lot of variety. The staff are very helpful and checking in with you often to make sure you have enough drinks and are happy. Nice gift shop. We have also always had amazing drivers from the Stanley Mara who took us to the best spots in the Mara for animal viewing. There is a pool also for warm days and a little spa tent where you can get pampered with massages and other services. All in all a wonderful vacation as you can really relax and feel like you've gotten away from it all after a few days there!

Room Tip: Club Tents are amazing. Ask for one at the back of the property to feel like you have the whole camp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belgiantraveller772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful comments on your stay with us! Your comments are dearer to us being that you have come to the lodge several times. We are happy that we have continuously been able to meet your expectations and been able to make you relax. We look forward to your next visit and say a big Karibu to you and your family.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    218
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
302
326
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I am not sure you can really define them "tents" although they are technically tents. They are decorated with taste, they are spacious, with wooden floor, big and very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. The staff keeps them clean and offers you any additional service to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. A very luxurious camping experience I would say.

The camp has a swimming pool, a pond, a few observation points on areas where the animal gather to drink, and sometimes you see dik dik and other antelopes hanging around the tents. During the night, you can hear sounds that make you really feel in Africa.

The restaurant area is nice and the service there is quick, efficient and attentive. The food is ok and there is variety.

Overall, an amazing stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlessandroT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
It’s a pleasure reading your comments on your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to post your review, we appreciate reviews from our esteemed guests as they ensure that we keep constantly improve on our standards and maintain the areas we are doing well. My team and I are happy to note that you were satisfied with all aspect of your stay here and look forward to according you our refreshing African hospitality in the near future.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

we have just returned from a trip to the Masai Mara and our stay in this hotel was brilliant. The staff were so lovely, especially with our 7 year old, the accommodation is great and its ideally placed to go out on the safari drives. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Karibu Tena! (Welcome back in Swahili) to Sarova Mara Game Camp. We look forward to hosting you and your family again here. We love our little guests and really enjoy being of service to them.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for the first safari of my first trip to Africa. Could not have asked for a better introduction. Our guide in the park, Peter, was wonderful. Happy and informative, he made sure we saw all we could and accommodated our various requests - wait, lets go back and find those giraffes again. Clearly very experienced and able to find us the best vantage point for pictures, I can't imagine a better guide.
The staff at the Sarova were all friendly and accommodating, we had excellent service at the restaurant, bar, pool and reception/check out. The tents - clean and well equipped were nicer than many hotels.
The trip was pricey, but then, it was a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: We had 5 people and were able to have 2 tents with an attached common area between them. It was do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments above, I have shared them with my team here and they are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular, Peter is glad you found your Safari and his guiding to be to your satisfaction. We trust that you will get time soon to come and visit with us again to experience more of Africa and Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We drove from Nairobi to Mara. The road was very good all the way past Narok, but then it was very bumpy and dusty. We dropped the Masai visit and got an extra game-drive before check-in at the hotel.

Very friendly staff and effective check-in. Beautiful tents with lovely beds (firm). The dik dik's and bush-buck's wander around the tent so just sit quiet so you don't scare them.

Food is excellent and the staff very attentive. We got to try the pool too - very refreshing! And the massage was wonderful after a long day of driving.

The camp is far from the river, but we saw a lot of animals and the migration was over before we arrived. First view was a leopard in a tree!

The decorations around the hotelarea are very creative and the gift shop is absolutely worth a visit. The prices are not too bad and the shopkeeper very pleasant! A lot of variety.

Room Tip: The walk from reseption to the tent can take 5-10 minutes for the tents furthest away. If you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utpaatur_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a very late review, but I could not leave it behind. We lived in Kenya between 2003 and 2004. We drove from Nairobi to Sarova, passing through Narok where we had an amazing breakfast at the gas station on the main street. Once we got to the park gate, we were directed to Sarova, about 2 miles or so from the gate, and once there, we were promptly accomodated in our tent, with an awesome structure and view. The food was great and the main lodge had a welcoming fireplace that did us well in April. Jeeepstook us around the park and we were amazed on every minute of our days at Sarova! We will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a Club Tent, they are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights here as part of a safari tour. Our tent overlooked the small pond, and sitting on our deck with wine, amazed at being in Africa, was very special. The service was excellent. Upon finding our tent had a king-size bed, plus a twin bed, for just the two of us, we asked that the smaller bed be removed, and that was accomplished very quickly. When we returned from dinner the first night, the tent flaps had been raised, mosquito netting in place, soft lights on - very romantic! Food was fine and plentiful and it was interesting to see the organic garden where some of the herbs and produce are grown. It was a great beginning to our safari experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JoandNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
31.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Property: Sarova Mara Game Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing