We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
    Mara Siria Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
      View Hotel
      Average 3/5
        View Hotel
        Average 3/5
        • Free Wifi
        • Free Parking
        Reviews (1,144)
        Filter reviews
        1,144 results
        Traveller rating
        849
        248
        34
        10
        3
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        849
        248
        34
        10
        3
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviewsclub tentstandard tentsorganic gardendik dikindian foodhardwood floorsmain gateelectric fencelake nakurugift shopmosquito netbuffet stylesekenani gateturn down servicewonderful staylunch and dinnera hot water bottle
        FilterAll languages
        Updating list...
        568 - 573 of 1,144 reviews
        Reviewed 10 January 2014

        The staff was ready for us ,we arrived late afternoon had late lunch which was excellent-they have an organic garden.Very healthy tasty meals including breakfast.After dinner the tents are cold and to my very pleasant surprise -Hot Water Bottle in my bed!!!
        Late afternoon from 4p,game drive and had our first pride lions!!!Our driver from Bunson Travel had great.

        • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank KayaCD
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

        Dear Guest,
        Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
        It’s indeed a pleasure reading that our services met your requirements and that our staff provided excellent and refreshing African hospitality. Our wonderful staff strives to provide warm, welcoming, high service standards always..
        Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening in the Mara by following us on Twitter @sarovamara and share your experiences with the rest of the world. We look forward to hosting you once again on your return to the Mara.
        Asante! (Thank you!)

        Kind regards,
        Francis Msengeti,
        Lodge Manager,
        Sarova Mara Game Camp

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 2 January 2014

        Spent 2 nights at this luxury tented camp. Food was excellent, game runs were fantastic - our Guide Ken and Anthony went out of their way - in the first 2 hours we saw 3 Leopards, elephants, Lions. By the time we had done 3 runs we saw all the animals of the Mara. Next trip will have to be for the Migration.

        Room Tip: Ask for tents around 44-50 - this is away from the man made lake so less bugs, also its away from the reception and dinning area where typically they have music etc... also try to combine two runs - so do the usual morning run at 6.15am and then add the afternoon run to this - this gives you about 4.5 5-6 hours and allows you to go to the main Mara River and explore deeper.
        • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Romanth W
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

        Dear Guest,
        Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent stay here at Sarova Mara Game Camp. I am humbled that our services exceeded your expectations and that you found our guides to be excellent. I have personally passed on your commendation to Ken and Anthony, they are happy they made your game drives successful.
        It is our pleasure to give all our guests the best at all times. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening in the Mara by following us on Twitter @sarovamara and share your experiences with the rest of the world.
        Karibu sana and we look forward with anticipation to your next visit.

        Best Regards,
        Francis Msengeti
        Lodge Manager
        Sarova Mara Game Camp

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 2 January 2014

        Anyone going to the Masai Mara is making an excellent choice for a holiday destination. Staying at the Sarova Mara made our holiday even that much better. We enjoyed the food,the outdoor activities especially the game drives. Our guide Denis from Sarova hotel had quite the hunter's eye and with him both as a driver and guide we saw numerous animals including the big five. He was also very knowledgeable about the different animals.

        Our dining experience was also worth noting, we were serenaded by music from the one man guitarist Wario whose soothing voice and sing along tunes was all we needed for a perfect experience.

        • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Yvonne N
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

        Dear Yvonne,
        Am delighted to read your review of our property on trip advisor! We are happy that we made your holiday special. I have passed your commendations to Denis and Wario who are both happy to hear they were of great service to you. At Sarova Hotels, we are committed to enhancing our service delivery and delivering memories which will last with the guest for a life time.
        Welcome once again to Sarova Mara and we look forward to your next visit.
        Kind Regards,
        Francis Msengeti
        Lodge Manager
        Sarova Mara Game Camp

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 31 December 2013

        In Kenya you go on safari. So we stayed at the Sarova Mara. What an experience. From sleeping in the tents to the food to the safari, it was more than I could have imagined. The tent accommodations are so different from your regular camping trip tents. The tents have Wi-Fi, electricity and great furnishings.

        The safari guides knew where to go to show us a great time. The animals were vast even though we went on safari after the Great Migration. It is a definite "must see" for anyone going to Kenya. All the amenities of a hotel located in the city in the middle of a game park. I will definitely go back again and stay longer.

        • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank GigiNYC
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

        Happy New Year!
        Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.
        It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your Safari in Kenya and particularly your stay with us here in Sarova Mara Game Camp. Our staff strives to provide very courteous and helpful service, and making your stay with us great. We do take guest feedback seriously and I have personally passed on your commendation to the team.
        We look forward to hosting you once again when you come for your next Safari.
        Kind regards,
        Francis Msengeti
        Lodge Manager
        Sarova Mara Game Camp

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 28 December 2013

        where to start. My family and I decided to do something different this christmas and thats how we found ourselves at the Mara. It has been a rainy month so we were a bit hesitant as we were going by road and all the horror stories we have heard of people getting stuck on the road for hours didnt help much. On 23rd dec we left for sarova mara from nairobi not knowing what to expect. The journey is on a smooth road till past Narok town to a place called mwisho wa lami or something like that and then it get bumpy for almost 1hr and a half as we get to the Mara reserve and to the hotel. If you can hire a 4x4 land cruiser as they literally cruise on that road which was quite funny as on the highway everyone was overtaking us but on the bumpy road we overtook everyone. Once you get to the lodge,you are welcomed by a maasai who gives you cold handtowel with some hint of eucalyptus oil to freshen up and once inside the lodge a glass of juice as you wait for the room details. This is where now it all begun, Caroline upgraded my parents to a club room as it was his birthday and we had ordered for a cake. The tents are good,but not what i expected. We expected something tenty and scary. The tent rooms are basically stone and wood roofing on the outside then the tent inside. Therefore there are no stone walls apart from the bathroom area inside your tent. The rest is the tent canvas. There are no doors,just the tent zip,therefore if you have anything important store it in the safe provided in all the rooms.the safes arent huge though just for basics like wallets,phones,jewellery,ipad,small cameras etc.
        The food is okay,that is because we found it a little bit bland as we eat lots of spices but some were fantastic. The beef steak is amazing,tender and juicy and tasy. The soups are very good too. They make the soup to order so its quite fresh as its prepared for you while you watch. The pancakes during breakfast are too die for and last but not least the pudding dessert was my best. They made different pudding each time from peanut butter,to banana,to ginger pudding etc. I ate that every lunchtime and dinnertime. More fruits selection will be appreciated though.on the 24th during dinner,the staff came out to sing happy birthday and my mum,sisters,aunties and I joined in to sing and dance with them,and boy did we dance!!! and my dad was really surprised and happy.
        It gets cold in the evenings so pack warm and a hot water bottle inside your bed is done every night. The game drives were enjoyable too and you can always inform the hotel that you would like a morning wake up call.
        Why i give the lodge 5 is because the customerservice is amazing. I have been to many hotels but nothing beats the sarova mara lodge(and i have been to other sarovas) From caroline at the reception to emelda in the restaurant to paul who cleaned our tent and all the others who always stopped to say hi and ensure that everything is going well. We really enjoyed our short stay and will definitely go back.
        Wi-fi is free if you are at the bar area where signal is strong. I never paid for it. I suspect the ones who go there for conference purposes pay for it,but just ask to be sure. If you can splurge on a club tent.
        I know there are better lodges out there but none can beat the sarova customer service .

        • Stayed: December 2013
          • Value
          • Location
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        3  Thank Maureen K
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

        Dear Maureen,
        Wow! We are truly humbled by your review above of our camp! It’s a great pleasure to see that our services met your requirements. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and your family here at Sarova Mara Game Camp. Our Chef and his team have taken note of your comments on the food and we are committed to ensuring that then next time you come for a visit we will have your food prepared to order. Yes we offer free wifi with the signal strongest around the reception area. Being within a natural forest we tend to have more birdlife, shade and fresh air and less of wifi signal strength around the tents!
        Thank you once again for your review and karibu tena to Sarova Mara Game Camp!
        Kind regards,
        Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews