We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

How do i start? The road to the camp is seriously horrible just giving a heads up if your going by road. However,arrive at the camp and you forget all your discomfort,quick check-in briefing and room assignment. Tents quite updated with amenities to match. My favourite accompaniment was the garlic bread (i need the recipe !!!!!!) only downside was too much salt in some of the dishes. Thoroughly enjoyed the safari through the park. Hope to be back during the migration season.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halima82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us in your visit to the Mara. We feel greatly honored by your encouraging feedback. We have indeed taken note of the areas that do need improvement with a view to address them.

The good news is that the county authorities have began work on the road and it will be a much better drive in a few weeks time.

We do look forward to your return.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

There was all you needed between game drives. Well equipped tents, exellent food, friendly staff. We enjoyed atmosphere that you can feel while beeing in the middle of national park. And because everybody seemed to enjoy their staying the general feeling was high.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amakarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear guest,

Asante sana!

We appreciate your support and hope that you will visit Sarova Mara Game Camp soon for yet another 'refreshing African hospitality' experience.

Karibu tena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It's all about location and the Sarova Mara Game Camp certainly has it. It is well located in the middle of the Masai Mara Game Reserve. We only stayed here for two nights and went on three safaris but we were able to see a vast array of animals from here. We saw about 14 lions (including a mating pair) and several cheetah and were lucky enough to see a black rhino. Of course there were hippos, giraffe, cape buffalo, zebra, jackals, elephants, ostrich and hundreds of antelope.
Of course, I do not wish to detract from the quality of our stay The food was good, the staff friendly. the beds comfortable and the pool great. Perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear guest,

We highly appreciate your visit and that the Maasai Mara lived up to its billing. Your encouraging feedback on our facility and services is most welcome and hopefully we will be seeing you soon.

Karibu tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Before we booked the trip, I was not sure what to excpect in the middle of the Maasai Mara National Park. The Sarova Camp far exceeded our expectations. The staff, the facilities, the luxury tent that was more like a luxury cottage, the food at the restaurant, the swimming pool, the gardens. I would highly recommend this paradise in the middle of the wilderness. Thank you Sarova for making our trip most pleasurable.

Room Tip: We got tents(cottage) #1 and #2. They were the closest and there was no concerns with noise and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure reading your review above. Thank you for taking time to review your stay in Sarova Mara Game Camp. I am happy to note that you found our facility and service meeting your expectations. We trust that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.
Karibu tena to Kenya and to Sarova Mara!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Wow! This was the first time I had been to Africa and on a safari and I can’t think of a single thing that could have been better.

I was blown away by the comfort and hospitality endured while ‘camping’ at the Sarova Mara. The staff were so friendly and kind and every one of them participated in creating the joyous atmosphere felt the whole time we were there. There was always ‘jambo’ and a smile and they went above and beyond to ensure the stay was a happy one. We even got to experience the dancing and singing celebrating a birthday for a guest – real fun!

My partner and I stayed in one of the club tents which were very luxurious. I have been lucky enough to stay in some five star hotels the world over and the sarova mara was right up with the best – a pleasant surprise from what you might expect for the heart of the wilderness in Africa.

I am a bit of a wuss when it comes to the idea of camping but I felt safe and comfortable sleeping among the bush babies and dick dicks heard from outside.

Our beds were well presented and cosy. The bathrooms were indeed that – a large shower, double breasted sink and separate toilet room all at the back of the tent kept clean, tidy and bug free!

Everything was thought of by the staff, even being up at 6am for game drives was made a treat with warm cake and hot chocolate before setting off.

The food was magnificent, so much to choose from and something different all of the five days we were there. A buffet style, all the food tasted fresh and there was never nothing to choose from even for the fussiest of eaters. Fresh pasta could be cooked upon request depending on your preferences and my sweet tooth was in heaven with the variety of deserts.

I had a real luxurious and heartfelt experience staying at the sarova mara and it was a trip I will never forget.

Thank you to all those at the Sarvoa Mara for making our stay as amazing as it was.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Mara Game Camp. We appreciate your feedback and it is is great you selected Sarova Mara for your preferred lodge during your safari. I am glad to read that you found the staff to be friendly, the food great and even found time to join in the "Birthday Train"! We all here are very pleased that you shared your experiences with others through this review.
We look forward to hosting you the next time you are on Safari.
Regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were booked into Sarova Mara by Go Kenya Tours and Safaris. What a wonderful, beautiful spot. We were fortunate to stay in the large tented "suite". Much more than we anticipated.
The grounds are beautiful. The restaurant quite good. The strolling singer/guitarist an added treat.
Thank you for a lovely stay. I would highly recommend this spot

Room Tip: be aware that some suites/tents are quite a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAKCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and the high rating you have given us.
We are glad that you found our facility to meet your satisfaction. Thank you also for recommending our lodge to your friends and we trust that we will see you soon with them so that we can have another opportunity to serve you.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is quite the spot. After a long day on "the road from hell" to get to Mara, this is like an oasis. Our "tent" was beautiful. I would recommend spending the extra money to stay in club tents as it just adds to the sense of quite and luxury. The dining is buffet style and my only negative comment about the whole experience was the desserts were sort of blah, but the meat was actually so chewy and tough that we couldn't eat it. Suggest you order it at least "medium". But hey there were lot's of other selections to choose from. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. As another reviewer mentioned the DikDiks were so fun see wondering around. This really is a must stay location in the Mara bush.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tcombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to post this review after your stay with us. It was an honor to have been able to provide you with our brand of refreshing African hospitality. I have also noted the comment on tough meat and we are looking closely into it with the chef to ensure that next time you visit us the meat will be to perfection.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,105 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
254 reviews
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
30.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £231 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing