We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was more than what we expected. it is clean, quite, safe & comfortable we were a 3 friends i will recommend it to couples and family also but i will be worry if you want an connected room because each tent has enough space for privacy :)

Room Tip: be away from the lake because the birds will noise you sometimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

It was an honour to host you during your visit to the mara. We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and made your stay enjoyable and that the team achieved service excellence.

At Sarova Mara Game Camp we have a variety of accommodation options ranging from Standard tents, family tents and the club tents making your choices quite wide and flexible to your needs. I hope you will consider this in your next visit.

The Sarova Mara team looks forward to hosting you once again and assure you of your most restful and memorable stay yet.

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    217
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
303
325
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I just spent two nights here with a very large group. I can not say what we paid b/c it was part of a package. However I can say it was a wonderful experience. We were welcomed warmly by the staff. The grounds are safe and well cared for. The staff was friendly. We ate and slept very well.
At dusk we had the privilege of seeing monkeys eating up in the tree tops. We also saw several dim diks. i would definitely suggest staying here if you can.

Room Tip: I did not see a bad room. But they really aren't room but tents with indoor plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your awesome feedback. Indeed the strong feel of unspoilt nature that Sarova Mara Game Camp is works for those of us working here. For this reason understandable that it resonates with our valued clients.

We are truely offering 'Refreshing african hospitality' blended with nature.

Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a wonderful time a the Sarova Mara Game Camp. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Caroline, guest relations, deserves a special mention - she went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Also to Emily who was brilliant with the kids and in helping us get organised for our activities. And a big 'shout out' for Peter our guide on the game drives - awesome!! Peter was a big part of the reason we so enjoyed our trip. He was tireless and patient and made sure we saw everything possible on our game drives. He was punctual and considerate and had a great sense of humor. Thanks to everyone at the camp - it was a truly memorable holiday.

Room Tip: As this is a camp, the rooms are all tents. Although they are luxurious and sturdy, they are still c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

We feel greatly encouraged by your visit and touching review. We do recognize your appreciation of Sarova Mara's biggest asset which is our employees (Associates).

This goes a long way in making the teams desire to raise the bar and offer services with attention to detail.

Looking forward to hosting you once again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay at Sarova Mara Game Camp for 2 nights for our honeymoon. As soon as we arrived at the camp, both Caroline Kamau (Guest Relations Officer) and Stephen Keriga (Front Office Manager) went out of their way to make the whole experience truly memorable for us. It was our first time visiting Maasai Mara and it is was everything we hoped it would be.
We stayed in one of the club tents and it was a fantastic. The club tent was really big and clean and extremely private (highly recommended). The bed linen was of a high quality and at night as part of the turndown service when it was cold the staff came and put hot water bottles in the bed (which was a nice touch after a long day).
The camp is in a great location within the park. Our driver Anthony was very experienced and managed to show us the ‘big 5’ animals within the short space of time we had there.
Being vegetarian food is often difficult for us. However, Sarova Mara caters really well for veggies and we had more then enough variety to keep us happy.
Overall, this was a dream experience for us and we are really glad we stayed at Sarova Mara. It was luxurious as well as comfortable. The customer service and hospitality was first class, the team always go that extra mile to make sure that customer expectations are always exceeded. This is the main reason we will be going to stay there for years to come!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rakhee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen Sarova Mara for your honeymoon. Indeed an honour to host you during this very special day as a new family.

Your feedback is very inspiring and we have shared it with the team including those mentioned. We would like to assure you that we are committed to making Sarova Mara Game Camp the lodge of choice by delivering uncompromised level of service.

Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patiala, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We went for Kenya safari to Masai mara national reserve . The hotel staff recieved us with open arms . The start was perfect with warm towels and fresh juice . Then the ambience was so calm and beautiful. Cannot forget to mention there reception in charge Ms Caroline . She was just perfect in all aspects of her work. We were Made to feel special every moment . My 3 year old daughter was very happy with the staff . We stayed in ten house number 5-6 , as we were two families so they gave us family cottage. The tent was beautiful from inside .very well equipped .The food in the resort was superb . The diversity in the menu was marvellous . There was vegetarian family with us and they were very happy with the food options . On the whole a wonderful experience and superb hospitality .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RAVSHARAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen Sarova Mara and more so for your review. The team highly appreciates your detailed experience and feel honoured that we did live up to your expectations.

We do hope to be of service to you hopefully sooner.

Please pass on our sincere greetings to your family and your 3 year old daughter.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was the last stop on our safari so we had quite a few places to compare it to. Rooms (tents) are "cozy" compared to other locations we stayed at. Our tent was at the very far left of the main building and was about a 5 minute walk. You would think it would be quiet on the other side of the camp but this is not the case as this is where the drivers stage for the game drives in the early morning, mid-afternoon and late evening and can be quite loud. We asked to move but the only room available was right next to a walkway with a bridge.

The tents are not ideal for tall people and found myself hunched over most of the time inside the tent. You are unable to secure your items in your tent as it is just a zipper that closes your room up to everyone. They do offer in-room safes but nearly enough for everything to be secured away. The hot water never got hot and one day I took a luke warm to cold shower. Beds are rock hard and I seem to have found this with the other Sarova lodges.

They do have a nice animal watching overlook and were told to come back around 7 to get a better chance at seeing some wildlife. We went back around 7, but to my disappointment they were having a private event and we were asked to leave. I wish they would have told us this before inviting us back at 7:00pm.

Most staff were very friendly and accommodating and always smiling. I had a very nice encounter with Jules (I believe that was his name) in security and just adored Emelda at the soup station. She is a shinning example of hospitality and displays such passion in her job. I work for an upscale resort and wanted to bring her with me!

Service in the restaurant was a bit slow and average. We ordered a bottle of wine our first night and they did not have it available, in fact we had to make two more selections before one was available that we wanted to try. It did take awhile to get our bill at the end of the evening and had to find assistance to close out our bill. The server did apologize for the long delay, however.

Kudos to the culinary team for tasty food and a variety of options. They featured many local dishes as well as more traditional selections and made to order stations. On our 2nd day we had the camp prepare a box lunch for us and we were so impressed with the amount & quality of the food provided.

On the 2nd night, we were pleasantly surprised to find a local tribe perform in the lobby with native song and dance and even had some of the spectators participate in the dance. The bar offers live music and a cozy fireplace.

The property does have a business center where you are able to utilize complimentary WiFi, which was very nice.

The power does go out during the afternoon and late evening.

All in all a great experience but still room for improvement.

Room Tip: Do try some of the lovely local dishes offered at each meal. Ask to stay in one of the tents overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgal52000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

It was an honour hosting you during your recent visit. Thank you for the feedback. We highly appreciate the fact that we did live up to your expectation in many areas and also take not of the areas we fell short with every intention to make improvements.

We do hope to host you soon and also wish to advise you of the alternative tent categories that you can opt for apart from the Standard tent (Family tent and the Club tents).

Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I read most of the Sarova before I booked. Nothing could have prepared me. What a fantastic place with great people. Arriving at the airport we were met by Anthony, our guide for the 3 days, cold juice and snack at hand. Anthony asked us if we would mind quickly going to see a leopard his friend had told him about. Within 20min of arrival we had seen a leopard and a huge herd of Wildebeest, and I knew this was going to be a trip to remember. I could write a whole review singing Anthony's praises and that we saw not only the big 5 and cheetah but also a wildebeest crossing, but this review is supposed to be about the lodge.

What a great place. The reception team were so friendly and welcoming on arrival you feel at home instantly. Caroline and Grace, thank you. I stayed in a club tent (64) it was a couple of minutes away from the dining area, but the beautiful walk gave me some much needed exercise (with the game drives etc no time to think of real exercise), and it was close to the viewing deck. The tent is clean, spacious and just beautiful. With it being way from everything it is so peaceful and at night all you hear is silence and the occasional animal outside, knowing you are safe because there is a fence surrounding the lodge and guards walking around.
The dining room serves a great variety of food, both vegetarian and meat dishes, pastas, salads and the soup is a must. Lelei the chef is very helpful. On the last morning we were surprised by a wonderful breakfast at salt lick.
Although this is a large lodge and was quite full, i never felt that it was a large crowded hotel, in fact you hardly see other people as most are out on game drives, or relaxing.
If you are looking for a high energy adventure holiday, this is not the place to go, but if you are looking to see wildlife, spend time in nature and unwind, Sarova is the place to visit. If you are lucky, you will get Anthony to show you the Mara.
Thanks to everyone at Sarova for a very special time!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliska B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen Sarova Mara and more so for your review. The team highly appreciates your detailed experience and feel honoured that we did live up to your expectations.

We do hope to be of service to you hopefully sooner.

asante!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
31.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Property: Sarova Mara Game Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing