We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, food repetitive”
Review of Mara Simba Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mara Simba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Lovely hotel, staff and setting. Food same stuff and different formats all the time and cold if you don't get there when first put out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoddo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

I visited this lodge in on the 2nd of june 2011 with my family. Trip advisor had given a 94% thumbs up for this property.I was quite dissappointed with the rooms. The bathroom in particular was not up to the mark, the water from the tap was brown in colour and there was a funny smell too. I complained about it and was looked into by the hotel.But not completely rectified. I cut down my stay from 2 nights to 1.My tour operator Fking safari was very cooperative when i complained about it and shifted me out of this lodge. But the Masai mara national park made up for this average lodge.The game viewing was my best in the safari.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anandraheja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

whn u visit nairobi thn u cant give a miss to masai mara reserve forest n in tht mara simba resort its an amazing place to b wth family n kids and frnds lots of wild animlas to b seen and we actually had a adventure too whn we got stuck in middle of the forest in our jeep and then forest rangers came to our resuce it was pitch dark and we really freaked out till some one came to save us

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank tewarirajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We had a wonderful experience at this Simba lodge with 2 upper level connecting rooms for our family group of 5 which included 2 seniors and one 5 year old. It was the off season, so rates were reasonable and it was not crowded. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was varied and very good. The restaurant was open air and at times one could hardly eat for rushing to the railing to see the latest hippo or crocodile in the river below. The lodge does treat it's waste water before reusing it in landscaping and solar power helps for hot water and lights. To conserve power lights are turned off in the middle of the night, so be prepared for absolute darkness with a flashlight (they provide one for each room). The swimming pool area was well designed and along with the whole facility, exceptionally clean. We came our own safari van and guide but the lodge provides them if needed. The reserve area outside the lodge was rife with lions, elephants, cheetahs, birds and whatever else you would like to see. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. If you want a more traditional safari feel, they also have permanent tents. With the animals and swimming pool there is no problem entertaining children. This seemed a family oriented facility. If you want a quiet romantic honeymoon place it would probably be best to choose one of the smaller luxury tented camps.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms probably have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sentravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I really loved this lodge, as other reviewers have said it really feels like you are right in the middle of the beautiful Masai Mara and at one with nature. We stayed at two other lodges while on the safari, but this was by far the best!
The staff here were just so friendly, I’m sure they wanted a tip, but you did really feel it wasn’t just that, they were genuine lovely people. The buffet style meals were tasty and of good quality.
Rooms were a tad basic, but I didn’t mind that, as the bar/lounge area was so cosy and right by the river. I could have spent hours watching the hippo there. You could also hear the hippo in the early morning, just magical!
This certainly is the place to spot the ‘big 5’ we managed to see all of them on our first game drive.
The Masai Village trip is also worth doing, near by lodge and gives you a good insight into their daily life

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We spent 2 nights here on our safari to Masai Mara. Please know that they shut power off during the night. There are guards that stay up all night protecting your room, we guess from the wild animals. The lighting is poor in the rooms, no elevators but know you are far out and most likely on generators. We saw the best viewing of animals while at this park. The restaurant had a view of crocodiles and hippos in the water . This was the best view of both on our tour for 10 days. The food is buffet style with a Indian flair to the dishes. It was not my favorite but we always found something to eat. At least with buffets you can try something and if you don't like it, try something else. Also there is a small gift shop at the hotel. If you order any drinks other than coffee or tea, there is a charge. Nice bar area with a fireplace at night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The service was excellent we were treated like royalty, all the staff were great and very helpful. Our room was great on the upper floor of the block so we had great views of the wildlife, the room was clean,spacious and well equiped.
Location is excellent just minutes from the resreve so your gamedrive starts as soon as you leave the lodge but saying that you don't even have to leave the lodge as you have the wonderful sight of a family of hippo's right on the doorstep you can waste hours just watching them!! Food is good and lots of it being cooked fresh for you.
Loved everything about it and i cant fault anything and coming from me that is good as i am very fussy. Make sure you do the balloon ride it is expensive but well worth it, it bought tears to my eyes truly amazing

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachaelHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
12 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,087 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
4.2 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
19.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
976 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#64 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Simba Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok | Talek River, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Simba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Mara Simba Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Simba Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing