We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lodge from our Trip”
Review of Mara Simba Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mara Simba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Lodge from our Trip”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is by far the best lodge of our safari. Located just outside the Mara gate. I was a bit apprehensive as it was outside, but frankly it doesn't matter. There is a small river by the lodge, which you can view from bar and restaurant area. Saw few hippos and crocodile in that river.
The rooms are very charming, spacious and cozy. Although it is just outside Mara, there are no other lodges close-by.
Food was excellent, very tasty and spread was quite a bit. We got to see plenty of bird variety in lodge campus, spotted at least 25 different species of birds, plenty of mongoose and monitor lizard right from our room. The Mara reserve is few hundred meters from lodge gate and we always saw vultures and tawny very close by when going to Mara.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godbolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    89
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
80
120
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This was our fifth visit to Kenya; the holiday was arranged by REAL AFRICA an excellent company full marks to them for organising such a fantastic holiday. The local agent this company use are Albatross they like wise were brilliant, especially our driver Francis.

We flew from Wilson airport to the Mara; we have previously travelled by road, if it is your first visit this mode of travel gives you a very good insight to the country & culture however it does take at least 5hrs so this time we decided on a speedier journey. From Wilson airport it is about a 40 mins flight and then approximate a 30 min drive from the airstrip. On the drive to the lodge, you'll get to do a mini game drive; we saw warthogs, wildebeest, vultures
and various antelopes/gazelles.

Mara Simba lodge is just wonderful, a fabulous location right on the Talek riverbank with hippos and crocs in the river. During the evening this area is floodlit and makes wonderful viewing as animals come down to drink, in the daylight the weaver birds were busy making their nests which just captivated you.
The room was nice and clean, free toiletries include shampoo, lotion and shower gel were supplied. Each day the room was cleaned and after our afternoon game drive the bed sheets were turned down and lights on to welcome you back. We had a room on the top floor I don’t think it makes any difference if you are on the lower floor as views are restricted due to the trees and foliage.


The food was excellent, buffets for all meals although soup was always served to you. I have to say the soup was the most fantastic I have ever tasted. Afternoon tea and early morning tea, coffee and cake were available as well. Our waiter for our stay called Tom was excellent, he treated us like royalty; chairs were pulled out for us to sit down on, our napkins were placed on our laps by him and when our drinks came he poured those for us too.

The lodge treat its waste water before reusing it in landscaping and solar power helps for hot water and lights. To conserve power lights are turned off in the middle of the night, so be prepared for absolute darkness with a torch (they provide one for each room) but I would take your own to be sure. The swimming pool area was well designed and very private.

The game drives were fabulous and we saw every type of animal you would hope to see. We had a full day safari and the picnic lunch provided was fantastic. On another note we were tempted to do a balloon ride but asking other guests there was a mixed response so we gave it a miss, you can book at the hotel it costs $450 dollars I think this is cheaper than pre booking but of course you can not guarantee that there will be space.

Comments have been made in other reports about the front desk staff being unhelpful but our experience found them helpful and very polite. All of the staff were just brilliant and we thank you all for making our stay so wonderful.

On our return to Nairobi we had a meal at the Carnivore Restaurant big mistake as it was dreadful the meat so under cook blood dripped on your plate! I understand there are better & cheaper restaurants.

To conclude a wonderful country, wonderful people and wonderful animals, truly stunning, do not let the troubles in the North put you off, security both at the hotel and in Nairobi was very visible and very reassuring.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My mother, husband and I stayed at the Lodge earlier this year and had a fantastic time. Maybe it was the wonderful staff, or our amazingly knowledgable and sweet safari guide Danson, or the fact that there is a resident crocodile, wild dik diks and gazelle who wander around the camp, and two baby hippos in the hippo pool - I can't pinpoint it. We had a really great time, and I'd recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpmaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

On an 8 day Kenya Safari, Mara Simba Lodge was our third lodge and we were scheduled to stay for 2 nights. The 2 nights were good and I would recommend this lodge to others safari goers as it has all the proper necessities and a little extra.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm towel and shown to our room. We had requested a room overlooking the river prior to our arrival, but received a room that was at the very, very end of the path with many trees blocking even a glimpse of the river from our balcony. After settling in, we journeyed back to the front desk and made another request to have a river view and told them of our concern of the very, very end lodge. We especially mentioned this being 2 female travelers who would be venturing back and forth to our room in the dark each night after dinner and early the next morning for a Hot Air Balloon Safari. We were told there was no availability and that were could not be moved to a closer room. It was fine.

The next morning when we departed from our room at 4:30 a.m. to leave for the Hot Air Balloon Safari there were 2 guards waiting near the bottom of the stairs of our room, which meant the staff had listened to our request and had someone accompany us in the dark (even though we had flashlights!) Note: Don’t forget to bring a flashlights as you pack for a safari trip! We very much appreciated this gesture. The staff was very helpful and kind while we visited Mara Simba.

Side Note: We used HOT AIR for our Hot Air Balloon Safari. A true highlight of the vacation, I highly recommend it to everyone! Bush breakfast is wonderful!

The dining at Mara Simba was similar to other lodges we stayed. It was a buffet with many types of foods; vegetables, fruits, breads, meat, fish, everything. It was very easy to eat a healthy meal at Mara Simba. The one disappointment is that you are assigned a table which you are escorted to each time you enter the dining area. We were seated away from the river, but we made do, and enjoyed our time in the dining area each day as different members of the staff stopped by the table and chatted each morning and evening.

As the lodge is situated along the river, I was very entertained by the wildlife in and along the river. There were many hippos popping up and down in the river, which was probably one of my favorite parts of Mara Simba. Also, I was able to view many birds, monitor lizards and even an elephant! The wildlife and sunset viewing right from the patio of the dining area was wonderful! Additionally each night there was an African singer/guitarist who was very good and made a relaxing atmosphere after being on a game drive all day.

The rooms at the Mara Simba were very good. The beds were comfortable and it was large enough for 2 people with large bags to have plenty of room. The decoration was very “safari” and very clean. The washroom was clean and there was hot water available each time we chose to shower. We were even provided fluffy towels, washcloths, soap and shampoo. The room was equipped with outlet for charging camera batteries after a long day of game drives and safes for any valuable belongings.

Overall, I would recommend Mara Simba. It is a longer drive to the Masai Mara National Reserve entrance than other lodges (we found out after we arrived), but it was acceptable for us .Internet was available and there were TV’s and pool tables in the common areas of the lodge for evening entertainment. Also the gift shop had unbeatable prices. Buy your souvenirs here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. Ask for a dining tables overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

All modern conveniences except in room TV thank you!. Great meals, and a special atmosphere. Just sit on the deck and watch crocodiles, and Hippo's. Then the Masai warriors will attack you during dinner. Just watch the stair treads on the steps to the deck area, they seem to like to slope them slightly downwards at the ends..
Close to Masia Village, and the park, which is the most incredible experience. A bit like visiting Jurassic park.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geboyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was night 3 and 4 of our 4 night safari in Kenya. We were on our honeymoon and had a lovely time here.

We did game drives and hot air ballooning during our stay but i will focus this review on the lodge.

Facilities - great food choices, we had nice buffet and a BBQ one evening. The bar has a guy singing in there and the prices are reasonable. The lodge has a swimming pool - which was FREEZING!!! and also had monkeys hanging around too!!!! *eek* Towels are provided on the sunloungers for you to use.

Nice bar area, to view the river (hippos and crocs down there!) Pool table available too and a little gift shop.

Room - nice room, no honeymoon touches for us like at the other two lodges - but thats fine! The shower was very limescaled though - this annoyed me a little, but as we were there for 2 nights i wasnt too bothered!

Long journey on the bumpiest road ever from Lake Nav to Mara! *5 hours*

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Welcome was warm,friendly and professional, they make you feel like a celebrity. They go out of their way to assist you with any problem and on Safari to find the Big Five. All the meals superb and the setting (big wooden veranda listening to the birds and hippos below in the river watching the sun set)unforgettable. Good rooms, clean with lovely stoep. Hot towels after every return to wipe away the dust.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
4.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,028 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
225 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
618 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
932 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#68 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Simba Lodge

Property: Mara Simba Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek River, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Simba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Mara Simba Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Simba Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing