We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to please”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Never fails to please”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our third visit to the camp and that says it all. On this visit we saved the camp till last. Nothing wrong with the others but Rekero just seems that bit special. I put it down to the lack of fences and that "back to nature" feel which is not really compared to Masai dwellings but to us westerners just right. Again food service game viewing all top notch

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger050950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
145
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was the last stop on our African Safari honeymoon. Fantastic location, great staff and an overall wonderful experience. It is situated right on the river and you can be assured that wildlife will wander the camp, especially at night. The tents were great, bucket showers much better than expected and the food good. The location is far enough away from the big camps to feel a bit isolated but great access to all the good game viewing. The camp managers, Clea and Conway couldn't have been more welcoming and gracious. It was perfect.

Room Tip: Tent 4 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Rekero Camp did not disappoint in anyway of our expectations of the Masai Mara and Kenya. The game was incredible and we were fortunate enough to see the Big 5 during our 3 night stay. Having never been to the Masai Mara we were not sure what to expect by way of game or scenery. It didn't take long before we were all standing up in our jeep, completely mesmerised by the landscape. We counted no less than 10 species on our drive from the airstrip to the camp! Incredible. We were also fortunate that the rains had been earlier in the month and we were blessed with green open plains. Our guide, Onesmus, was outstanding.
The highlight of the trip was watching 3 cheetah siblings hunt on 3 different occasions. The speed of the chase, the animals behaviours, the warning calls from birds, all made for an unforgettable safari experience. This was our 3rd trip back to Africa and on our first trip we never saw cheetah - so for us this was incredible. Whilst the cheetah never achieved their objective of a successful hunt it was with mixed feelings that we saw 2 lions hunt and kill a warthog. The chase, the power, the strategy and the carnage after the kill gave us a great insight into the 'circle of life' in the animal kingdom. Conway and Clea were amazing hosts. The camp and facilities were outstanding and each evening we looked forward to sitting around the campfire exchanging stories of the day. So much of our experience was defined by the people at the camp and one of our special highlights would have been playing soccer with the staff on a makeshift soccer field in the middle of the Masai Mara. Outstanding! Travelling with our sons, a 17 and a 19 year old, it reminded us all that we don't need playstation, Facebook and twitter to enjoy life.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanga4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wood's cove
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My family and I were at Rekero Camp for 4 days, and it was the best family vacation ever, the people were extremely attentive, informative, our guide Honest was very experienced and made our trip amazing. Clea and Mariana were amazing......food was top notch, and setting on the river made it extra special.....would book again if I was going on a safari......amazing experience all around. thanks for everything!!

Room Tip: there is no pool, but couldn't not tick the rating scale....so just put excellent....sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irisbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Rekero is not just a beautiful camp to stay, but the staff really made our holiday an unforgettable experience! I was with my mum, who's in a wheelchair, and we had the time of our lives. The level of care that the staff provided was amazing and the best thing is that it didn't feel like we got a special treatment because of the wheelchair. They make every guest feel special and treat them personal. An amazing job! Our guide Martin wasn't just an expert guide on wildlife but his people skills really added to our experience. His genuine interest in us added an extra dimension to our game drives with him! Thanks Clea, Conway, Mariana and the rest of the team, with a special thanks to Martin and Baul!! I hope that someday we can return to our new found home in the Mara!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejdirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haren, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Rekero was the first camp that I visited with my wheelchair. My African dream came true. It could not be better. The adaptations in and around the lodge, the comfortable jeep, and last but not least the special caregiver made my stay in nature of Masai Mara unique
."Asanta Sana” Mariana, Clea, Conway. Your warmth and care gave a special touch during daily activities ;( e.g. haute cuisine, breakfast in nature, discussions around the fire.)
“Asante Sana “ Martin for spotting an abundance of wildlife, birds, flora, rocks and trees etc. Thanks for your explanations about wildlife behaviour the eco-system, the Masai community and your patience to wait for a river crossing!!!. A Masai- man with heart for nature and his family.
Last but not least: “Äsante Sana" Baul for your dedication to support me in all circumstances.
Rekero:: My most memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13021946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I would highly recommend this first class camp and it's first class staff to anyone staying in the world famous Masai Mara. The food and tents were awesome, the game viewing was spectacular and I hope to go again in two years. Stayed at the camp for a total of 7 nights and i could not imagine staying anywhere but there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,028 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
188 reviews
15.5 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
914 reviews
17.0 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
17.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: C14, Keekorok (Talek River), Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep within Kenya's Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rekero offers a spectacular location from which to watch the Great Migration as the wildebeest thunder across the river just outside camp. This traditional East African camp evokes the romance of safaris from a bygone era. The elegant tents form a tranquil oasis perched stategically above the mighty Talek River. The sweeping views from camp take in the surrounding plains, which support some of the greatest concentrations and diversity of wildlife in Africa. The cherry on top is the warm hospitality of our team and our world-renowned game-viewing guides with years of expertise - in such good hands you are ensured an incomparable Maasai Mara safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing