We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday of a lifetime”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Holiday of a lifetime”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Governor's was the first part of our honeymoon and we were bowled over by the truly wonderful experience of seeing the wide range of animals in the Masai Mara. We went in November and nearly every animal had babies! From tiny elephants and hyena puppies to miniature warthogs and lion cubs, I wouldn't have wanted to have gone at any other time of year.

We were in 12a, the honeymoon suite which is a luxury tent with a gorgeous comfortable bed and a lovely hot shower. The food was excellent and all the staff were more than accommodating. Seeing hippos wandering around the camp at night was quite an experience and an even more dramatic experience was waking up in the night and hearing elephants right outside your tent, tearing down branches and grunting and shuffling about! Lying in bed listening to elephants and taking a quick peek through your window and seeing LEGS ... words can't describe how it feels to be that close to such huge animals. We were reassured that elephants will never trample the tent, they are only interested in feeding, but even so your heart races just a little bit quicker ... we took photographs through the mesh windows by torchlight and recorded the noises on our phones!! Wow!!

As soon as you opened the door to your tent a ranger would be there ready to escort you to dinner, or an early morning game drive. After dinner one would walk back with you and if there were elephants in the camp he would take us the safest way back! One night we walked to dinner 'the back way' as there was an elephant on the path. In the pitch black, walking with a ranger with a torch, it was both scary, dramatic and exciting!! All the ingredients for a great adrenalin rush, coupled with the feeling that you are safe because you have an experienced ranger with you who knows exactly what he's doing!

Our driver was Philip and he was very knowledgeable. He knew the names of all the animals and birds we saw and tried really hard on our last game drive to find us a leopard. Unfortunately we didn't see one but we saw all of the other 'big five' including a black rhino with her baby.

We asked Philip to take us to the nearest village as we had brought gifts for the children. This was a very humbling experience and we took some amazing photos, including both of us joining in with tribal dances! Following the village we visited the local school where 770 children board. We were welcomed as if we were royalty and shown around every classroom, the dining hall, the staff room and the dormitories. Again, another amazing experience and we felt inspired to organise a collection of gifts, to send to the school, from our own local school when we got home.

However, the highlight of our trip has to be the balloon safari. I have a fear of heights and it was very expensive. Two reasons not to do it.... But we decided it was a once in a lifetime experience and where better to take your first hot air balloon ride than over the Masai Mara.

Our pilot Sanjay was excellent and it was a fantastic experience. Floating over the trees in silence, hearing the sounds of the animals below, interspersed every now and again by the roar of the burners. Sanjay took us down so low at times it felt like we were skimming over the heads of the animals.... When we landed it was a bit bumpy and we tipped over, which was great fun and caused lots of screams and laughs! It was only 7am and we then had an amazing champagne breakfast in the bush including the best scrambled egg I have ever eaten in my life!!

After that we had a fab three hour game drive before crossing the river back to Little Governors camp and then taking the short drive back to our camp.

Our safari experience at Governor's was the first time for both of us and I wonder if any other camp in any other game reserve could ever beat what for us was the best holiday of our lives. We were so inspired want to go back and take our children.

Oh, and Governor's Aviation is excellent. If you go, make sure you book your flights in and out of camp with Governor's own airline.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    91
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
214
418
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have always heard of this, but am thrilled I was able to stay here. I have never "camped" in such luxury- nice bed, hot showers, hot beverages in the morning at your tent. Food was good, service was great. At night you cannot leave your tent without an escort, but there is no need to leave as you have all you need in the tent. Heard wild animals throughout the night and they walk right past your tent. Guards are always present and all you need to do is wave your flashlight and they are there in a jiffy. Safari tours were beyond amazing- so many animal sightings we couldn't keep track of them all. Did the hot air balloon which was very pricey, but was a once in a life time adventure, followed by a lovely champagne breakfast. If you are willing to pay the price to stay at this camp, which is worth it, just go the whole way with the ballooning!!

Room Tip: Some tents have better views from the porch in front of the tent, but we were so busy, that wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atl157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

One of the best experiences of my life saw amazing sites thanks to our fantastic guide Gideon. Staff all fantastic food brilliant and for someone who hates tents this is one tent I would be happy to stay in again. I would highly recommend Governors.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterMad_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

What a trip, we had already done a safari the week before in Tsavo and enjoyed ourselves that we had to make the most of our time in Africa and book another trip. After talking to a few people at the hotel we booked less that 24 hours before we set off.
On arriving at Governor's Camp I have never felt more at home, it was such a lovely location and the staff are so friendly.
The tents are better than some hotels i have stayed in, clean and well presented. You are really made to feel special and nothing is too much trouble. The food is amazing and I traveled with a fussy eater worse than a child but he hate the majority and enjoyed it. If there is one thing you really should do and that is opt in for a bush breakfast its good food and you get to be outside no wasting time driving to and from camp for breakfast.
Our driver we had over the three days was brilliant. We got to see so many different animals and yes we found the Rhino on our last day and only another two jeeps managed to get to us in time before the Rhino pushed into the trees. It was the best experience of my live and would love to come back.
We also managed to fit a trip into the school that the camp is working along side. It was a shame that the teachers where on a national strike however we did get to meet some of the kids that had stayed at school as they had exams coming up.
I really could rave on and on about this place, its truly amazing and wish we spent more of our trip on safari and dropped the beach stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your safari with us at Governors Camp. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed the camp, the food and the game drives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Everything from start to finish was perfect. The setting, transportation, guides, accomodations and food were delightful. So many animals! Three outings a day, but animals were also in or near camp, which overlooks the river. Tents were immaculate and cosy, personal service and attention was extraordinary. The staff are exceptional and go the extra mile. I highly recommend Governor's Camp.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quirkyculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Governors Camp. We are very happy to hear that you found everything to be perfect and the staff exceptional. Thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a 3 day stay at Governors camp,it was perfect,from our amazing tent overlooking the river to the great lunchtime meals gazing at the Giraffes nibbling at the trees near the camp.As we were coming into land we spotted Giraffes,Buffalo,and Elephants.As we drove the short distance to the camp we amazed to see The Marsh Pride lions posing for us on top of a Termite hill,fantastic start to our safari.Our driver Dominic over the next 4 days found all the big 5 for us,he found 4 on the first day.The elusive Black Rhino was found on our last morning,also saw The wonderful Cheetah and Leopard again,we were very lucky.The days went too quickly,very enjoyable were the early morning starts and breakfast with Zebras and Deer all around you.The staff at Governors were all lovely and a special thank you goes to Benson who looked after us at lunch and at our evening meal.Would recommend Governors to anyone planning a trip to the Masai Mara,you will have a wonderful experience and have great memories to last you a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june12353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Governors Camp. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the safari and had such great game viewing, you comments have been forwarded to camp and everyone will be delighted to read them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We went to Governor's camp for a 3-day safari. Everything was absolutely perfect. The guides, the location, the tents and the service. They even arranged with an extra askari outside our tent since we had our 1-year son with us. If you are planning a trip to Masai Mara, please go here!

We booked this safari through WT & Safaris located in Diani and Francis Wokumu (+254 714177179), which we can warmly recommend. They gave us a very good price and made the whole trip (door to door) go very smoothly.

Jeanette & Mathias Jonasson

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanetteP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Governors Camp. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the safari and had such great game viewing, you comments have been forwarded to camp and everyone will be delighted to read them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
24.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,015 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#16 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
509 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Property: Governor's Camp
Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing