We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Safari & Glamping Experience in Kenya”
Review of Sanctuary Olonana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Olonana
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Safari & Glamping Experience in Kenya”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I loved Sanctuary Olonana. From our pick up we were brought on a drive through the Maasai Mara Reserve and treated to a picnic lunch on the open plains. By picnic, I mean 'fully catered buffet meal'. Check out the photo of it I posted with this review.

We were welcomed in the traditional Maasai style once we arrived to camp. The camp is gorgeous, huge and the rooms are enormous. You feel like you are in the middle of nature while still having all the luxuries of a 5 star resort. While eating on ourtside dining area the first day, 3 elephants suddenly appeared from the trees on the other side of the river to dine "with us" (they were about 100 yards away munching on the trees.)

You also hear hippos calling to each other during the day and I would squeal everytime I heard their low grunts.

There is hot water, a western style toilet, sink, toiletries provided, 2 super comfy and huge beds, and everything you could want. And to my surprise, when I climbed into bed (that had been prepared and turned down for me sometime during our evening safari ride) there was a hot water bottle warming the sheets. It was awesome. Put that thing on your feet and you will sleep like a baby all night.

Besides the amenities, the staff is super friendly and helpful. Anything you could ever want, they can provide. And before we left, Olonana asks every guest to help the environment and plant a native tree (they provide it). It is a great little ceremony to wish us off.

I loved this place and would recommend it to everyone.

We were also told Danny DeVito stayed here and loved it.

This camp is fenced in so the large animals can't come up to the tents at night. So it is safe to walk around by yourself at all hours. (The fence doesn't impede the animals, but since hippos live in the river, they have to have a fence to keep the hippos out).

Room Tip: There is free wifi in the main area of the camp but not in the outer tents. If you want a chance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Olonana, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review, much appreciated!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Sanctuary Olonana, the team loved hosting your and hope you return one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
76
111
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a beautiful facility, think Ralph Lauren does Safari - Out of Africa aesthetics. The tents over look the river where you can watch the hippos and listen to the wildlife. The game drives lead by Joseph were amazing! You must request him! This is a life changing experience!

Room Tip: 14 and 15 are shorter walks to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsKellye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Olonana, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that you had a life changing experience with us and thank you for the lovely feedback - Joseph aboslutely loved your comments.

Our team loved hosting you and are eager to welcome you back one day in the not too distant future...

In the meantime you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Olonana by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We can not say enough about our fabulous experience at Olanana. From our guide, Joseph ( you must request him) to the service from room stewards(Joseph) to greeters/managers (Maurice), to the excellent food prepared by the chef Big John---- it was fabulous in every way!!!! We saw the Big 5 in June which is rare---experienced a 10 hour safari with an excellent meal prepared and packed for the day. It was something everyone should experience! I hope to be back with the rest of my family one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Olonana, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Sissy,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review of your experience at Olonana.

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and thank you so much for all your kind comments especially about Joseph, Maurice and Big John - we shared your feedback with them and the rest of the team and they loved your comments.

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you AND your family one day in the not too distant future.

In the meantime, please keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Olonana by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It is so peaceful here. On the edge of a rushing river, my tent was like a "sanctuary" from everyday concerns and worries. Such a kind and attentive staff, excellent food and brilliant guides make Sanctuary Olonana the perfect camp while visiting Maasai Mara.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent close to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Olonana, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Marilyn,

Thank you for this lovely review, it is very much appreciated by all the team!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and are eager to welcome you back one day soon...

We would love for you to keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Olonana by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cozumel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I plus two close friends just came back from a four nights at the Olonana. Amazing does not come close to the experience. I am at a loss for words to describe the experience. Very attentive staff, great game drives and a beautiful setting with large rooms and views of hippos in the river below. Great food. Its one of those rare places you just do not want to leave. From the looks of the other reviews posted it seems our experience is the norm.

Room Tip: Close to the main dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Olonana, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Sanctuary Olonana on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that our team took good care of you and that your stay with us was amazing.

We loved hosting you and do hope to welcome you back again one day soon.

Until then it would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest from Sanctuary Retreats and Olonana by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats



Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were at the Onolana Lodge for 2 nights, 3 day stay. It was magical and exclusive. My grandson who is only 3yrs plus, was astounded by the experience, on the safari drives and also by the hospitality endowed by the management and staff. His dietary needs we're well met and catered for. We are very grateful for the experience , once in a lifetime. Our guide was BRILLIANT AND EXCEPTIONAL. Thoroughly enjoyed his guided safari drives and breakfast picnic by the river where we had crocs and hippos for company. Highly recommend the lodge and would love to return again one day.

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice. Tented accommodation , better than a five star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harjinder2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Olonana, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review, thank you much appreciated.

We are very pleased to learn that you and especially your 3 year old grandson had such a wonderful experience with us at Olonana.

Thank you for all your lovely comments we passed this onto the team who were very appreciative of your kind words.

We would love to see you and your family again, until them it would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Olonana by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Olonana is outstanding in every way - from the wonderfully warm and attentive staff to the excellent location on the Mara River to the large, luxury tents to the great food! The game drives were outstanding each and every day seeing many, many animals of all kinds. You cannot believe the population of the Big 5 in this area! The camp is very comfortable and restful. It is fully all-inclusive which makes for a wonderful experience given the high quality of everything offered there!

We visited a closeby Maasi village as well. This was not a highlight for us but the wonderful Maasi people who work at Olonana are very warm, helpful and attentive.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DallasMomTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Olonana, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

"Outstanding in every way" WOW thank you so much!!

We are very happy to hear you had such a wonderful time and thank you for your kind comments.

Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

In the meantime you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Olonana by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
3.6 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#6 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.3 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#27 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
13.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#14 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#11 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.5 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Olonana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Olonana

Property: Sanctuary Olonana
Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Olonana 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Olonana, our award-winning tented camp situated on a private stretch of the Mara River, recently undergone a significant upgrade to the public areas of the lodge as well as a soft refurbishment to the tented rooms and pool area. The interior decor reflects a contemporary design using a combination of light earthy tones and the local Maasai women played an active part in the refurbishment using the same traditional technique used in their own houses to “mud” the interior walls in all of the main areas and curio shop. From the main viewing deck see and hear the family of noisy hippos who colonise the banks below the camp. Relax with a good book in the library, cool off in the pool or for an extra special treat, experience traditional African remedies and spa treatments in the mini-spa. Oversized Safari Tents – Built on the banks of the Mara River, the twelve canvas tents at Sanctuary Olonana are extremely comfortable and spacious. The ensuite tents all have two four-poster beds with floor to ceiling mosquito netting – making them perfect for families travelling with small children. Each of the private verandas overlook the river and offer the perfect spot where guests can relax and watch the resident hippos wallow in the water. There are also two honeymoon suites with each featuring outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Olonana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Olonana Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sanctuary Olonana Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing