We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Camp”
Review of Siana Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Siana Springs
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This friendly tented camp was absolutely brilliant. I had my reservations having read other reviews before travelling, but the paths are fine, there is enough light and the food is lovely (my 1 and only small grumble would be that it wasn't always hot, sometimes just warm). The showers are slightly eccentric, but for goodness sake you're in a tent in the middle of no-where, it's not the Ritz!!! It just added to the fun of the experience and we did all get a hot shower every day. The electricity is limited, however we had plenty of time to charge batteries etc, and the lamps in our tents provided more than enough light until the power came on. We loved the drive to and from the Reserve every day, yes it is bumpy but we saw loads (the biggest herd of elephants we saw was just around the corner from the camp one morning, not in the reserve) and it was not that bumpy as to be uncomfortable. The small pool provided great fun for the kids, who in turn entertained anyone passing with their hippo impressions - they had to be seen to be believed and were hysterical. Junior the onsite Masai conservationist is very knowledgeable and only to keen to share his passion for the local customs and wildlife with anyone who is interested. JJ our driver was fab, as were all the other staff on site. And the hot water bottles in bed after dinner are a really nice touch, and the beds at the camp were much more comfortable than any hotel I think I have ever stayed in. Thoroughly recommend this camp, we had a great time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palm tents (4 and 5) which were close to reception, but not so close as to be distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This review is about our first night stay at Siana Springs in August of 2013.

We booked rooms here months in advance through a Kenyan travel agency. Nonetheless, it seemed that when we arrived to stay at Siana Springs they were overbooked. Instead of putting us into a nice tented structure as they show on their web page, they stuck us way in the back of their compound in a dilapidated, filthy building. This building had clearly had severe water damage recently. The ceilings were stained and sagging and had holes in them, the wicker trash can had rotted through, and the walls and door had water stains. Moreover, everything was visibly dirty, including the bedspread with dried white goo on it. To make matters worse, we had no hot water, and one of the rooms' toilet didn't flush.

We complained immediately and repeatedly about these accommodations and the lack of hot water, to no avail. They did agree to move us the next night, but had no other options for us that first night. When I asked for a partial refund for the night's stay ($580 for this?) they told me that they didn't handle the money and I would need to contact their booking office in Nairobi. When my travel agent did contact their booking office, they denied everything, including the poor lodging and my complaints to the staff.

Attached are some photos of the lovely room Siana Springs provided us with.

Other reasons not to stay here: it is a half-hour drive to the Masai Mara park. Which means 1 hour of every game drive is wasted on going to and fro on unpaved dusty roads flanking depressing landscapes of overgrazed fields and poverty. It would be definitely worth it to stay at one of the 100 hotels located inside the park itself.

Room Tip: Insist on a tented cabin. If they don't have one available, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Siana Springs camp in the Masai Reserve is a great camp with good tented accommodation. The tents are well appointed surrounded by lush vegetation and some wild life. The pool though small is great for kids. Good food and great hospitality. The staff is very courteous. Though the food could do good to guests with a bit more of variety but never the less was good!

Did not even think that there could be running hot water in the showers! Reminded me of the movie Carry on Camping - if any one reading has seen it. It is just the right atmosphere in the jungle!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Siana springs was an amazing stay. The included food was excellent and well prepared the staff was very friendly and very helpful. A Masi was on staff as an interpreter very cool. I was especially happy with the staff who tended the big bonfire and sang songs accompanied by his guitar at night. Very nice touch.
Don't be afraid about staying in a tent, these tents were the most posh things I've ever stayed in. Comfy beds, running water, electricity, etc.
I also met the GM of Siana springs who was also super nice and always around to say hi and be helpful.
Thank you Bonniface and Siana springs for the excellent time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Siana Springs was the most primitive of the places we stayed in Kenya, but it was definitely clean and well-cared for and the staff was wonderful....as everywhere we went there. The tents were very dark and needed more light...especially in the dressing area. Wake up call was a personal visit to our tent by Joseph, the steward for our tent, who was sweet and very attentive. Nice touch was warm water bottles under the covers by our feet when we returned from dinner.
All meals in open-air buffet restaurant. Food was just OK, except for one night they were making *awesome* fried fresh fish. One benefit is that they filter their water so was able to have a much-craved salad for the first time in a week and a half.

No wifi and very limited time on power. Takes a while for the shower water to get hot and the weird thing is that the handles are in the back of the shower so you have to reach through the water to adjust the temp or turn it off. Was tricky doing that without burning myself once it got hot!

A visit to Maasai Mara is a must if you're going to Kenya!

Room Tip: There is outdoors entertainment and singing near the dining hall so if you go to bed early, you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This magnificent "tent camp" on the edge of the Maasai Mara National Reserve has it all! Clean and well kept lodgings on beautiful a beautiful and cool shaded oasis also provided us with some of the best food during our two week long photo safari! Heavily influenced by Kenya's sizable East Indian population, the curry dishes rivaled those of of some of the best restaurants of Mumbai and London!

The local Maasai villages who came each evening to entertain and serenade us during dinner each night must have given the resident Colubas monkeys ideas, as each morning we awoke to another impromptu chorus in the tree tops above our tents!

Don't miss the trip to the nearby Maasai village of "Red Water"!

The "African Bush Experience" at it' very best!

Room Tip: If you can afford the costs of the dawn hot air balloon rides...it is a sight that you will NEVER fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is one of three tent camps we stayed at, and was the worst of the three. Lodgings were primitive and lighting (to get from far-flung tents to the dining area) was not sufficient (the provided flashlights did not illuminate enough to see the rough trails). Many of our tents lost hot water when boilers "blew up," and the staff had to move visitors to other accommodations. We preferred our first tent, which was newer (and had two layers of tenting), but were moved to a second tent which was older, and had working hot water. There is no privacy in the bathroom, as the toilet stall had swinging, canvas doors that did not close completely and short walls in the larger bathroom area. The shower area is dark and you stood on a bamboo, elevated mat that felt weak to stand on. Collette has ended its contract with Siana (we were the last group and felt, if the accommodations did not meet standards, we should not have been put there). The staff was this location's major asset and the reason I give it three stars rather than the two the facility deserves. Other members of our tour would not have been that generous. There are better places to stay in the Maasai Mara.

Room Tip: If staying here, ask for a newer tent, or one in the main area, near the dining tent (so more meddle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
4.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,097 reviews
8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#71 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,082 reviews
32.7 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siana Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siana Springs

Address: 41163 | Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £158 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siana Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Siana Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siana Springs Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Siana Springs Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing