We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome games-BUMPY entrance”
Review of Siana Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Siana Springs
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in seven different hotels/lodges/tented camps in our recent trip to Tanzania and Kenya, but the location of this camp was the least convenient. I guess it goes with the price... The tented camp “bedroom” is fantastic and spacious. The food was also great but the “trip” from the hotel entrance to the games was about 45 minutes total because it was ridiculously bumpy. The hotel could invest in fixing the road a bit (not the main road, of course, just the entrance to the hotel itself).
Service was great and my kids had a BLAST because the place is filled with monkeys and deers. Tons of fun. Lovely playground as well. We liked it but I guess is better to put the Mara at the beginning of the trip, when you’re not too tired for the bumpy roads.
The Masai Mara is AMAZING.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

With the limitations of a tented camp, facilities offered were impressive, but can be improved. Hot water is available only in the morning and evening, for which you got to turn on the tap and wait patiently for quite some time. But, my major worry was that the flush in the toilets had limited water. You also got to close all the canvas windows carefully in case you need some privacy.

The camp was spacious with privacy for each tent and the paths leading to each tent had enough lighting. It was nice to have the bushbucks wandering close to the tents and listening to the chirping of birds.

The evening campfire was good with a gentleman singing some folk tunes and strumming his guitar. The night was pretty cold and it was nice sitting around the nightly fire to unwind with a drink.

Nothing great about the food. Nothing great about the restaurant staff too who looked very unresponsive.

Masai village is on the way to the Park where you can see the Masai people living in their traditional way. They charge $50 per person and one of the men take you through their life and huts, which is followed by dances by their men and women. Dance is only name sake as they don’t look much involved. They have few stalls inside their village where they sell their handicrafts. You get it cheap, but you get better stuff outside. They also try to sell certain other things which you don’t have to buy, unless you feel like helping them with finance.

Overall the hotel was average stay. Given an option, I would advise anyone to stay inside the Masai Mara Park as you can save a lot of time going up and down everyday. Besides, the comforts are also different and definitely there are better places in and around Masai Mara.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

we went to kenya in sept 2013 arranged by 'Imagine africa' of UK and we had a fantastic life time experience; we stayed in siana springs camp for 3 nights for our game drive to Masai mara; it was an amazing feeling of pure tent experience; each tent was individually located in vast area of the lodge about 50 acres; with full of green and deers are roaming around; we got up in the morning by the different sounds of birds .. which a new experience; rooms are good with all standard facility; excellent hospitality from all level of staffs; in the nights when we are coming back from dinner everyday security persons showed the path with torch though there are small street light; they are all very friendly;food was good but the picnic lunch pack during the game drive was not at par; one minus point is about drinking water; they were providing only 2 bottles of water ( 500ml each) per day; extra water you have to buy and it was highly overpriced;the ambience was unique but the location is slightly away from Masai mara main gate, about 15-20 minutes drive ; but overall amazing experince

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayasish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Siana spring gave real meaning to a camping resort. Its was a real authentic feel of natural Africa. The camp was spacious allowing bushbucks to wonder close to the tents. This made the experience of reading on the tents verandar ever more magical whilst the birds chirped away. The food was good and waiters and waitress very friendly. My wife, daughter and i spent 3 nights it was the perfect get away with minimum contact from outside. We enjoyed the guided nature walks within the camp and took up bird spotting even though we have never done it before, in the three days we spent we spotted 50 different bird species, the simple pleasures of life that go unnoticed, thank you Joseph for being a great guide. Best for last Maasai mara reserve was fantastic it was like being in the lion king.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our entire experience at Siana Springs was wonderful in every way
the tent, the game, the service…You thought of every little detail - every single thing! was amazing....Staff were very friendly ...the food was awesome and the nature walk was fantastic...
The evenings were good especially the masaai dancers performance.We were enchanted to do the sundowner activity
We thank the whole team for making our honeymoon memorable and we hope to visit next year for our anniversary.

Room Tip: B12 was out tent and was very clean comfy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This friendly tented camp was absolutely brilliant. I had my reservations having read other reviews before travelling, but the paths are fine, there is enough light and the food is lovely (my 1 and only small grumble would be that it wasn't always hot, sometimes just warm). The showers are slightly eccentric, but for goodness sake you're in a tent in the middle of no-where, it's not the Ritz!!! It just added to the fun of the experience and we did all get a hot shower every day. The electricity is limited, however we had plenty of time to charge batteries etc, and the lamps in our tents provided more than enough light until the power came on. We loved the drive to and from the Reserve every day, yes it is bumpy but we saw loads (the biggest herd of elephants we saw was just around the corner from the camp one morning, not in the reserve) and it was not that bumpy as to be uncomfortable. The small pool provided great fun for the kids, who in turn entertained anyone passing with their hippo impressions - they had to be seen to be believed and were hysterical. Junior the onsite Masai conservationist is very knowledgeable and only to keen to share his passion for the local customs and wildlife with anyone who is interested. JJ our driver was fab, as were all the other staff on site. And the hot water bottles in bed after dinner are a really nice touch, and the beds at the camp were much more comfortable than any hotel I think I have ever stayed in. Thoroughly recommend this camp, we had a great time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palm tents (4 and 5) which were close to reception, but not so close as to be distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This review is about our first night stay at Siana Springs in August of 2013.

We booked rooms here months in advance through a Kenyan travel agency. Nonetheless, it seemed that when we arrived to stay at Siana Springs they were overbooked. Instead of putting us into a nice tented structure as they show on their web page, they stuck us way in the back of their compound in a dilapidated, filthy building. This building had clearly had severe water damage recently. The ceilings were stained and sagging and had holes in them, the wicker trash can had rotted through, and the walls and door had water stains. Moreover, everything was visibly dirty, including the bedspread with dried white goo on it. To make matters worse, we had no hot water, and one of the rooms' toilet didn't flush.

We complained immediately and repeatedly about these accommodations and the lack of hot water, to no avail. They did agree to move us the next night, but had no other options for us that first night. When I asked for a partial refund for the night's stay ($580 for this?) they told me that they didn't handle the money and I would need to contact their booking office in Nairobi. When my travel agent did contact their booking office, they denied everything, including the poor lodging and my complaints to the staff.

Attached are some photos of the lovely room Siana Springs provided us with.

Other reasons not to stay here: it is a half-hour drive to the Masai Mara park. Which means 1 hour of every game drive is wasted on going to and fro on unpaved dusty roads flanking depressing landscapes of overgrazed fields and poverty. It would be definitely worth it to stay at one of the 100 hotels located inside the park itself.

Room Tip: Insist on a tented cabin. If they don't have one available, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
4.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,097 reviews
8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#72 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,083 reviews
32.7 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siana Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siana Springs

Address: 41163 | Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £157 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siana Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Siana Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siana Springs Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Siana Springs Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing