We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astounding”
Review of Siana Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Siana Springs
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Siana Springs is just absolutely wonderful!

The game drives started early in the morning and finished late at night. We felt that after a while everyone would get bored, but in fact the game drives were so unpredictable that most of us became hooked! Our driver, Gerald, was very sociable and good company to my colleagues and myself. The food was really good... lots of variety. The Masai dance given by the local residents was fascinating. Learning about the ways of Masai people and the history of Kenya was really interesting.

The one person that made this experience unforgettable was Ola-JJ; the host Masai. I thoroughly enjoyed his company as did my colleagues.. We really miss him =) I was just wondering whether or not to put up the silly photos of him brushing his teeth... if by any chance he finds them, he'll know exactly who's responsible and then I'm trouble. lol

I will be re-visiting Siana Springs in October 2010... and look forward to it!

I recommend Siana Springs Intrepid to ALL!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SianaSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Siana Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2008

I went to Siana Springs as a lone female and I just loved it! They made me feel very welcome and comfortable.

The accommodation was great, but I chose to move to a tent with a newer canopy, as the orginal one was the old style with less Mosquito netting, so less light. They moved me the next day and so everything was fine (it would be worth checking that you have a tent with a new style canopy).

The food was fantastic!!!!! Not one bad meal and I stayed well throughout my stay. The staff were very helpful, accommodating and sincere. My driver - David - was wonderful and we got the 'big 5' in only 2.5 days!

The only draw back is that it is about 20 mins out of The Mara Reserve itself and the road is bad! The Mara isn't fenced so the animals can move freely, but I never saw anything of interest until we got in to the actual reserve, so the journey was long especially after being out all day. The only thing that compensates are the Maasai Villages along the way, but the novelty does wear off, I have to be honest. Also, the vehicles are basic Land Rovers, so a very hard ride, not great if you have a back condition for example.

I saw another 2 Lodges when there, and Siana was by far the most authentic, as the others were SO! commercialised and too big. Siana is intimate and made me feel like I was truly on Safari.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinycea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tajay214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sward10626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SIMBA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Draavig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ep98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
4.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,050 reviews
21.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
196 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#85 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Ma...
#63 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
184 reviews
14.8 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#17 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
243 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#72 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siana Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siana Springs

Address: 41163 | Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £161 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siana Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Siana Springs Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Siana Springs Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing