We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!!!”
Review of Fig Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fig Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved it!!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spending 4 nights at fig tree camp we can only sing the praises of the camp,its manager and its staff. Our main reason for visiting the mara was to see the animals of the area in their natural environment , this we achieved with the expertise of our fantastic driver and guide, Nicson and Sammi. We cannot praise them enough and have returned home with memories that will last for ever. The camp accommodation is perfect, nestling in the bush, with a varied menu and a our attentive waiter Nelson who was always cheerful and happy to hear how our day had gone! All the staff whether behind the bar or on security were friendly and efficient and the whole fig tree experience was something we shall never forget, thank you!!!

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    122
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
74
142
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Most of reviews are so good. However we did not feel that way. You can stay at Figtree if you are visiting first time to Maasai Mara and want to experience old African bush style. There is a huge beehive (about H 2m x w 1m) near the tent. River is right front of your tent and are able to see hippos. You can hear the sound of river during the night. We found meals were poor. Vegetables were not fresh. Staff had to remove after some guests complained. Many monkeys were entering into the dining restaurant and staff were busy chasing away instead of giving service to the guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Words are not enough to describe the place, the people and service standards - the staff is always eager to help and make your stay memorable. The whole camp design is unique and in sync with nature with the river setting. We will always cherish the wonderful memories of our stay here

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashanttandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed there during the first week of December 2013 and we had a blast. The whole staff ranging from front desk, porters, waiters, guards, bartenders were awesome. Special mention to Mustafa our waiter, This guy is the epitom of great service and i would recommend anyone to request sitting at the table he serves. I will be back again...
PS: Would love to see your maintenance team work on the water pressure to the restrooms:)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpeditionKenyaSafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I think given the fact you are in the middle of nowhere, to have such amenities in 'tents' is just a credit to the Kenyan people and their ability to play hosts to tourists.

the setting of the 'camp' is next to the Talek river and it's simply beautiful. our tent was based facing the river where the monkeys climbed in the trees outside. it was lovely.

there was a restaurant which was always quiet and also a bar. the staff couldn't do enough for you and i repeat myself again... when in the middle of nowhere how they make a cocktail the way they do is beyond me!

the main reason why anyone is here is the safari and i must admit we were more than catered for. my safari experience was simply unforgettable and that is largely down to our guides who seem to know the place like the back of their hand.

the safari was beyond incredible. we were even lucky enough to see pretty much everything there is to see, including the hard to find black rhino.

i'd go again in a heart beat.

can i also make a little side-note here... i am a massive animal lover and prior to going on safari i was TERRIFIED about seeing animals hunt and eat each other but when you're in their domain, their natural habitat i can promise you it's nothing but jaw dropping. you watch nature programmes at home and think 'wow' but when you're there, in the flesh, watching, it's a whole different story. if you want to go on a safari holiday, go to the masai mara. i'm pretty sure not much else can compare.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here 30-Sep-02-Oct-2013 to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived, the staff was at the ready for my husband's "surprise" for his birthday. The hotel manager [forget his name, so sorry] worked diligently to ensure that everything was perfect and the secret was safe. The location of Fig Tree was perfect for game drives. We stayed in an N tent and it was a good 10 minute walk for dinner but we overlooked the Talek river and watched a crocodile bury her eggs one morning. A baboon greeted us on our porch but the security was at the ready and quickly chased him away. The rooms are rustic [but clean] and you definitely felt like you were living in the bush, but what a wonderful way to experience the Masai Mara. The balloon ride with Martin was perfect and easy to arrange. Food was OK but I am very selective about my food - my husband thought everything was good. A very warm thank you to everyone at the Fig Tree Camp and wishing you all the best. Hope to return one day and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patteski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
387 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

What can I say, but this place is unbelievable beautiful, there were wildlife all around us, the staff was so ready and eager to help you, someone was always there, they came and pointed to my husband and I Monkeys, Crocodile, beautiful birds, we went on game drives, saw everything we went to see, what a wonderful experience, word cannot explain how you feel when you are there, the Masai Mara national park is just so hug, we saw lions, Cheaters ,Leopards , hyena, Wildebeest, Zebra, Giraffes, impala,and lots of birds, and lots more, what an experience to have and to be so close to these wildlife, love it, I can go, on, and on. The Fig tree Tented camp was beautiful. Great atmosphere, sat outside in the evenings and had our supper. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 282Juliette282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Manager at Fig Tree Camp, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Juliette

Thanks a lot for taking your time to review Fig Tree Camp, We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here, and hope you will find time to visit one day again!

All the best for you and your family.

Regards

Kerore Lasity

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#18 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#35 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
293 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#41 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
169 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Camp

Property: Fig Tree Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok | Talek river area, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fig Tree Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fig Tree Camp, located in the prestigious Masai Mara National Reserve, is a luxurious lodge with top-class amenities and service. You have a reason to adventure, we give you the hospitality to go with it. This 72 roomed property is ideal for game drives and nature walks. Our rooms comprise of the superior Ngaboli tents, executive standard tents and lodge rooms, all fitted with facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The Talek River also snakes its way around the camp, to give you that serene and tranquil feel from the hustle and bustle of the city. We do hope you enjoy your stay with us. Welcome to Fig Tree Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fig Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fig Tree Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing