We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 100% five start rating can't be wrong.....”
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a 100% five start rating can't be wrong.....”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Spent two wonderful days as the camp as part of safari & coast trip. It was a wonderful introduction to Safari and Kenya. Jimmy's ability to drive, spot and educate all at the same time is second to none and we were lukcy enough to see the Big 5 by early on our second day. The camp itself was great, food (& Tusker Beer) was wonderful and being woken up by roaring lions in the early morning was (surprisingly) a highlight.
We also went on the Balloon Safari & Bush Breakfast from this camp - not cheap but the sight of wildebeest & zebra's as far as I can see and getting almost eye to eye with a giraffe will stay with me forever!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pog_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
168
50
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

There is not much more that I can add to the previous reviews. However, I can only say you will not be disappointed! While we enjoyed the safari trips, the highlight for us was interacting with the staff who were professional, eager to please, kind and most of all friendly. Take time to talk with the staff and you will enjoy, they have a good sense of humor.

Every single detail was cared for and never did we feel like a request was a burden. In almost every case our needs were met before we even asked.

Just go, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at Porini Camps during our honeymoon in May. Overall we had a great time

Most game drives at other camps are 2 hours long, but Porini Camp provides an option for 7 hour game drives, as well as game drive at dusk. These game drives are conducted by local Masai tribesmen (some know how to drive). This service makes it better than some other game drives since our guides knew the animals and the land so well that we saw a lot more animals than other people. In fact, other safari vehicles were following us!

On our first night, we were taken to a hill just at sunset and our guides set up a small table and chairs and we had cookies/tea and watched the sunset. This was very special because up to that point, other camps’ game drives did not allow us to get out of the vehicle. After the sunset, one of our guides took out an infrared light which allowed us to see animals in the dark without the ‘light’ hurting the animals. This allowed us to see a pride of lions at night – which was very unique.

On our second day, we had the 7 hour game drive in the Mara. We saw so many animals during this time it was amazing. Our guides knew that we had yet to see cheetahs and hippos, so they made it a mission to make sure we saw them, and of course with their expertise we did. We also break for lunch/snack in the Mara, right next to a bunch of zebras and antelops. They parked right next to a tree in the shade. I took a picture 100 meters away and it’s one of my fondest memories – because the picture is exactly what I imagine when I think of a safari.

The only thing that visitors should be wary about is the nature of the camp. As the camp believes in conservancy, they do not have power in the tents (although they do have lights on solar power), showers are ‘safari buckets’ (google it), and at my wife’s dismay, her hair dryer/straightner did not work (too powerful for their system). So if you are willing to give in on a few comforts, this camp is great.

Although my wife did not like the level of amenities provided in the camp, she continuously tells people that the camp was the best overall during our stay in Kenya. I could not agree more.
I will whole heartedly recommend this camp for people looking for a unique safari experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, so no
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We loved our trip with Gamewatchers to Mara and Amboseli. If you can only take or afford one trip a year or so, take this one. Julie at Gamewatchers will arrange everything and within an hour you'll know your itinerary and have some great options to chose from--no hidden or unexpected costs. For us, everything came off just as planned. Both camps were fantastic for seeing plants and wild game. The guides were extremely knowledgeable about every aspect of the wild animals and their habitats--a real education. We loved the whole philosophy behind the Porini approach of setting up a Conservancy with the Masai, hiring them to run the camps and be guides and preserving the area. The tents were great and solar powered. The tent where we could socialize and eat was fun after a full day of exploring. The privacy of the reserve was a real benefit and was a shared experience with like-minded people who wanted a great time, see great wildlife and experience a campsite--not the usual hotel/lodge with a pool and a room. The airport to airport and all things in between accommodations made it easy. We'll be back. Thanks Gamewatchers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

All aspects of our safari with Gamewatchers and stay at the camps exceeded our expectations beyond belief. It was an incredible experience! The service was exceptional down to the very last detail. We stayed at Mara Porini for 3 nights and then Mara Lion Camp for 2 nights. Being the only ones on the conservancy (at Ol Kinyei) meant not having to deal with other trucks and getting a truly unique viewing experience. The guides were excellent, they knew a lot and were very respectful of the animals and the environment - we saw and learned so much with them. And the camps had a nice intimate atmosphere that allowed many great interactions with other guests and the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Our second camp after Selenkay (see review). David, Jimmy and Marama gave us a warm homecoming welcome at Ol Kinyei despite the fact it was our first visit. As at all Porini camps, they couldn’t have done more for us. Our guides gave freely and generously of their knowledge skills and experience, which is why we were blessed with exclusive sightings of a wildebeest crossing, a close-up resting Cheater, a close-up Martial Eagle, a herd of 100 elephant and, our first Leopard (with two cubs) after three trips to Africa. The latter only came about because Jimmy and Marama tried so hard, and in the end it boiled down to Maasai wisdom in responding to a Bush Buck alarm call. There were, of course, many more sights, sounds and experiences in the new conservancy, which is wonderful in terms of varied habitat and richness of wildlife. As always, bush accommodation, food and service excellent. Humbled to be part of the dedicated extended Porini team and to experience the generous sharing of the Maasai knowledge, land and heritage, as well as a great sense of humour all round; David being the head humorist!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinfromsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

THis was the last of the 4 Porini camps we have stayed at and we stayed here before heading off to the Lion Camp for a 2nd time (see my other review).

This camp is set in a conservancy to the north of the main Mara - about 45 minutes to drive if you want to go to the main Mara.

There are just 6 tents and in the private conservancy that means a maximum of 3 vehicles - most of the time we saw nobody else all day.

Very exclusive and very quiet. Wildlife is there but is more natural as it is not so used the the vans but that is not a bad thing. Jimmy and Murema (sorry spelling is probably wrong) were ou driver and spotter and both are fantastic as is Ben the camp manager who could not do enough to keep all his guests happy.

We love Porini and all it stands for. Money goes to help those who need it and the wildlife as well. Just how it should be.

Being honest, we prefer the Lion Camp to the Mara camp but that does not mean it is any less brilliant.

Tell me to go back to Mara Porini tomorrow and I would be there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattyc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
21.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
18.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
189 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
111 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,033 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Property: Porini Mara Camp
Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing